We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
restored farmhouse 8 minutes outside San Gimignano
restored farmhouse 8 minutes outside San Gimignano
restored farmhouse 8 minutes outside San Gimignano
large south-facing pool
child-friendly, comfortable and clean - with fireplace, WiFi and TV/DVD
dining area seats 8 people indoors, and another 6 outdoors...
shaded outdoor eating area, overlooking the pool...
San Gimignano
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harriet B
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value, great location for exploring Siena, San Gim, Volterra etc.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

La Fontanelle is extremely low-key establishment, we arrived, signed in with the owners and then didn't really see them for the rest of the week! For us this was absolutely fine, although some information about the area and a map would have been appreciated had they been on offer!

Our apartment was extremely clean, comfortable and spacious. There were 5 of us in a three bedroom apartment and there was plenty of room. The pool is shared amongst all the apartments but we found that we had it to ourselves for the majority of the time. Our apartment had a small private outside area too which was perfect for lunches.

La Fontanelle is situated about a 10 minute drive from San Gimignano, we found a taxi service locally who took us in and picked us up to take us home in the evenings (20 Euro each way, probably over-priced but between 5 we didn't mind!) but also had a rented car for day trips. San Gimignano itself is a great place to be near to, it has enough restaurants, bars and sites to keep you amused for a week or so. We also did day trips to Siena (30/40 mins drive) and Volterra (20 mins drive), which were both fantastic and very easy to look around in a day. It was also great to be only a one hour drive to Pisa airport, making the journey to and from the UK far more pleasant.

Our only concerns about the apartment were that we weren't given very good directions so it took asking a few locals to find it, it would be great if the owners could supply a map as it is easy from San Gimignano once you know where it is! Also, the drive down to the parking area is extremely slippery, our hire car struggled to get out each time, I think they could probably do with addressing this!

All in all it was a great base to explore some beautiful towns and also supplied us with a very relaxing break by the pool with a lovely Tuscan view in the background. I read some reviews previously that claimed the road was a nuisance but I really didn't find this an issue.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
3 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Drive
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
CMJTO
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awonderful base from which to explore Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Our family of two adults and two teenagers loved our 6 week stay at Le Fontanelle. The proximity to San Gigmignano, Florence and Volterra was excellent. Bus and train service from Poggibonzi to Florence and Siena was also great. We enjoyed meeting other families in the other units. The caretaking and managment staff were extremely helpful. Great pool and amenities - lots of sun . Simple and attractive decor.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: location, level of comfort, facilities
Liked least: occasionally the internet access -as in much of Italy- was inconsistant
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
EyeforTra...
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mixed Emotions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived with family with 3 young kids on a Saturday at 4 pm, our appartment was not ready and although these things can happen an additional 1,5 hours to clean with a moderate result was dissappointing . Location at first is beautiful however after the first day of stay we discovered a few negatives; 1)poor kitchen equipement (no bowls, cleaning/drying towels, wine glasses, breadknive, bottle opener etc etc) 2) Terrible noise transmission from adjacent appartments and from street cars, 3) no garden beds (relax chairs) or umbrella, poorly equipped garden seating without cushens. The beds are great though and really comfortable (despite the noise from your neighbours)
Also positive is the internet connection (why is it by the way normal to pay in rental appartments and annoying to have to pay in hotels:-) All in all, kids loved it, great place to discover Toscany but very poorly equipped (and some broken goods).

3 of 5 stars Value 2 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 3 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad your stay was positive overall and that your three children had a wonderful time. I wish you had contacted me during your stay to let me know that you couldn't find wine-glasses and bottle-opener. I would have been more than happy to get whatever items you were missing, probably delivered that same day. There's a photo on the HolidayLettings/TripAdvisor advert of the red Chinese cabinet in the living room, well-stocked with wine-glasses and dish-towels, bowls and a bottle-opener. And I have been able to confirm that guests who arrived in August - the week after you? - found everything they were looking for. My apologies if these were for some reason not there during your stay. You praised the quality of the wireless internet connection. But I'm not sure whether your feedback implies that you had to pay for this WiFi? Our advert clearly says "free Wi-Fi", and again the other guests I've reached have confirmed they were given a username and password for free. If you did pay, possibly the caretakers were not understanding that you were staying in our place - where the WiFi has already been pre-paid annually. If you let me know who you are, I would be happy to refund that 10 euro charge. And again, I'm glad that you enjoyed your holiday overall. Best wishes, Kristina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$87
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Kristina B
44 7508490521
Speaks English, French
Listed since : Feb 2009
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 21 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing