We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sovestro in Poggio Winery

Sovestro in Poggio Winery
Localita Sovestro, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
+39 0577 907209
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 27 Activities in San Gimignano
Type: Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome in our house! Walking distance from San Gimignano, one of the most important towns of Tuscany, during the wine tour you'll discover a part of Tuscany that few people knows. You'll understand how is the countrylife in this part of the world. I won't say what our tour includes or not.....reviews speaks for us! We wait to welcome you, as private or group. Reservation required to tour the farm.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

We forgot to plan ahead and a day before going tomthis winery we looked it up here on Trip Advisor and couldn't have had a better experience. However, we were lucky that it was a fairly slow day, so making a reservation is a good idea. We went over for lunch, which was simple, yet very tasteful. The wines are also good, but the real show stoppers are the view and the friendliness of the people working in the winery. The place is absolutely beautiful: everything you would expect from a Tuscan winery. Definately a 5 star program!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susausto, Proprietario at Sovestro in Poggio Winery, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear "Pedro O",
I'm glad that you are satisfied about your visit, this is probably our best reward!
We are very lucky for our location in this immaculate and well mantained countryside.

Hopefully you'll come back some day to enjoy your stay with us at the house.

Regards,
Fausto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    17
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
404 reviews 404 reviews
204 attraction reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
312 helpful votes 312 helpful votes
“6/5”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

If i could rate it higher i would. The tour of the vineyards and cellar with Fausto was great and he was very patient and answered all of our question. The meal with matching wine was fantastic and i would recommend strongly toanyone staying in Tuscany. The 2008 Chainti is very smooth and we bought a couple of bottles to take home.
This was the cherry on the top of our time in Tuscany.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susausto, Proprietario at Sovestro in Poggio Winery, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear "Albywon",
thanks for your great review, you are too kind!
It was a pleasure to let you know our way of living and work. Own a farmhouse is a way of life more than just a job! And it is important for us that you understood that!

Many thanks for your visit and your review. Please keep in touch with us on facebook, just type our name (Agriturismo Guardastelle) on it!

All the best,
Fausto & Susanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Sovestro in Poggio Winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My partner and I enjoyed a wine tasting at Sovestro as part of a trip from Florence organised by Ciaoflorence, and after visiting Monteriggioni, Siena (where we had lunch) and San Gimignano. By the time we reached Sovestro we had already formed a friendly relationship with others on the tour. In spite of four languages being spoken by the group, our tour guide, Giulio, kept everyone well informed by his use of Spanish, English and German as well as his native Itallian. At the tasting we enjoyed three of their wines which we were able to purchase afterwards (difficult to resist) in comfortable surroundings whilst having the process of wine production explainded to us. It made an enjoyable ending to a wonderful day and we would highly recommend the total experience.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susausto, Proprietario at Sovestro in Poggio Winery, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear "tony K",
I'm glad that you enjoyed your tour and the stop at our wine cellar. I'm glad because you had only a simple wine tasting, imagine how you could be satisfied with the full tour that you can book yourself.......ok, next time! Hope to see you again, maybe to stay at our accomodation!

All the best,
Fausto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Oregon, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Part of a day tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stopped at this winery as part of a day tour and loved our time there. We sampled wine and had a very nice meal. When we got home from our trip, my wife and I ordered additional cases and only wish we would have brought more home with us.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susausto, Proprietario at Sovestro in Poggio Winery, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear "Gregory S",
thank you so much for your review. I hope that next time you'll book directly with us as the private experience is much better!! Anyway I'm so so happy that you like our products and you purchased some. You know that you can order more and more and more.... ;-)

grazie mille!!
Fausto & Susanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great way to end your day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Great time wish we had more. Very lovely place wine explanations were very good. Scenery was amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susausto, Proprietario at Sovestro in Poggio Winery, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear "hoot1572",
very short and very helpful :-)

thanks for your time and visit, I hope you'll have more next time.

Ciao
Fausto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sovestro in Poggio Winery also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Sovestro in Poggio Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sovestro in Poggio Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.