We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth ! We cant wait to return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sovestro in Poggio Winery

Sovestro in Poggio Winery
Localita Sovestro, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
+39 0577 907209
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 23 Activities in San Gimignano
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Welcome in our house! Walking distance from San Gimignano, one of the most important towns of Tuscany, during the wine tour you'll discover a part of Tuscany that few people knows. You'll understand how is the countrylife in this part of the world. I won't say what our tour includes or not.....reviews speaks for us! We wait to welcome you, as private or group. Reservation required to tour the farm.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth ! We cant wait to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was our first trip to San Gimignano. We stayed here on recommendation from our friends, who also came along for a 2nd visit. The accomodation is well priced, hospitality wonderful, wine delicious and views are superb.Its an easy walk into the townsite. Our only regret is that we should have stayed a little longer - 2 days was not enough!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fausto M, Proprietario at Sovestro in Poggio Winery, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Lisa,
I'm so happy you have enjoyed so much our hospitality, although this review should be posted on Agriturismo Guardastelle.
Thanks for your time, I hope you'll come to stay longer and try the wine tasting or the new cooking classe!

Regards,
Fausto & Susanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    15
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
OMAHA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We will be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

What a splendid day. Nestled in the hillside with great views of the Tuscany valley; surrounded by this small vineyard,offering good wine,good food and even better people.
The only shortcoming was the length of our stay ( 2-4 hours ) and I hope to fill in more time there on our next trip. We plan to book 1-3 days at the B&B and can't wait to get back next time in the area.
Ciao
WHF

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susausto, Proprietario at Sovestro in Poggio Winery, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear "Whitney F",
I'm glad that you have enjoyed your short stay and even more happy to know that you are planning to come to stay longer in our accomodation!

We are looking forward to see you again!

All the best for now!
Fausto & Susanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“We didn't buy enough! :(”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Enjoyed an amazing afternoon at the winery! The food was great, but the wine & Olive oil are to die for! Purchased a case of wine and 2 bottles of Olive oil and we're almost out of Olive oil. We'll definitely be purchasing more for them to ship.

If you're in the area, stop by as their hospitality, views and wine are superb!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fausto M, Proprietario at Sovestro in Poggio Winery, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear "Anthony H",
thank you so much for your time. In a few words you said only fantastic things of us. You know that you can order easily sending us an email.
We wish you a merry Christmas and a healthy 2013!

Regards,
Fausto & Susanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
1 review
“Great Place, Great Wine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had an amazing time here. The olive oil and wine were great as were the hosts. We ordered some wine to be shipped and it came very quickly. Very pleasant overall experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fausto M, Proprietario at Sovestro in Poggio Winery, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear "HTB82",
we are glad you enjoyed our wines and oil and we hope you'll have the chance to come back to stay longer.

Regards,
Fausto & Susanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Wine, Great Food, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great Olive Oil too! My wife and I had a couple bottles of oil and 3 different wines sent from Tuscany to NY, they package them securely and everything arrived tasting equally brilliant as it did in Italy. Surprisingly low costs for international shipping!

The visit to the winery was outstanding as well. Owner and tour guide Fausto is incredibly friendly, knowledgeable and passionate about his craft. The stroll around the vineyards gives you perfect views of the rolling hills of San Gimignano. The excellent homemade, fresh food was made by the family members and paired very well with each wine course.

(For any other U.S. drivers renting cars in Italy to reach Sovestro in Poggio who aren't quite proficient in driving manual transmission, take note that the drive off of the main road up to the winery is quite steep. Stalling out and grinding gears can't reduce my overall rating of this establishment!)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sovestro in Poggio Winery also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Sovestro in Poggio Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sovestro in Poggio Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.