We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wine, Great Food, Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sovestro in Poggio Winery

Sovestro in Poggio Winery
Localita Sovestro, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
+39 0577 907209
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 23 Activities in San Gimignano
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Welcome in our house! Walking distance from San Gimignano, one of the most important towns of Tuscany, during the wine tour you'll discover a part of Tuscany that few people knows. You'll understand how is the countrylife in this part of the world. I won't say what our tour includes or not.....reviews speaks for us! We wait to welcome you, as private or group. Reservation required to tour the farm.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Wine, Great Food, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great Olive Oil too! My wife and I had a couple bottles of oil and 3 different wines sent from Tuscany to NY, they package them securely and everything arrived tasting equally brilliant as it did in Italy. Surprisingly low costs for international shipping!

The visit to the winery was outstanding as well. Owner and tour guide Fausto is incredibly friendly, knowledgeable and passionate about his craft. The stroll around the vineyards gives you perfect views of the rolling hills of San Gimignano. The excellent homemade, fresh food was made by the family members and paired very well with each wine course.

(For any other U.S. drivers renting cars in Italy to reach Sovestro in Poggio who aren't quite proficient in driving manual transmission, take note that the drive off of the main road up to the winery is quite steep. Stalling out and grinding gears can't reduce my overall rating of this establishment!)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    15
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful people, food, wine and place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My sister, daughter and I took a tour of Tuscany from Artviva, which included lunch at this wonderful winery!!! The hosts were extremely gracious, the food, wine and olive oil were amazing, and we only regretted not being able to spend more time visiting. Our tour had us leaving way too quickly, but we ordered some wine and olive oil before leaving, and I'm soooo glad we did! It arrived soon after we were home, and just tasting everything again brings you back to Italy. Can't wait to go back and would love to stay here! The location is so pretty and peaceful, and we were there on a cloudy/rainy day! Can't imagine how much better it is when the sun is shining!!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We recently enjoyed two weeks in Italy. We spent a lovely lunch hour at the winery with delicious food and wine tasting. We toured the, winery the vineyard and the beautiful bed and breakfast. Fausto and Susanna were wonderful hosts. We ordered the excellent chianti and olive oil which arrived recently and brought back the memory of a beautiful day!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

A fantastic place to visit in Tuscany with beautiful views and a very informal (but informative!) wine tour. The tasting was great with each wine being paired with a typical Tuscan dish.
My only regret was having not booked to stay there! Well recommended.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Italy-Florence-Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I recently had a lovely stay in Florence with a friend of mine. My friend scheduled a full day tour of three of Tuscan towns including a wine tasting at family owned winery. The wine tasting was definitely one of the best highlights of the day. The wine and olive oil tasting was top notch! Everything was perfect including the out of this world view of Tuscany. I enjoyed it so much that I purchased a case of wine to be shipped back home to the United States.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sovestro in Poggio Winery also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Sovestro in Poggio Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sovestro in Poggio Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.