We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst pizza in the world” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante La Griglia SRL

Ristorante La Griglia SRL
Via San Matteo, 34, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 110 Restaurants in San Gimignano
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worst pizza in the world”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Why oh why did I not think to check trip advisor before settling on this restaurant for dinner.. What was a promising looking restaurant from the outside, could not have been more disappointing. As we just wanted a quick meal, we opted to sit in the pizzeria at the front rather than go through to restaurant they proudly display a live camera feed from on a giant plasma tv.

I am struggling to remember the last time I was served by more sour faced staff - they must really hate their jobs. As for the food.. these were quite possibly the worst pizzas I have seen/tasted, ever. They looked like they had been whipped out of the freezer, had toppings liberally scattered over and cooked for as little time as they could get away with. Three of us had the same pizza - ham and mushroom - all three had different toppings. All were disgusting.

This place shows the worst kind of contempt for the tourists who support the San Gimignano economy. Do not give them your money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    40
    32
    28
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Thickest pizza in Italy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

We were in town for one afternoon only and all the inviting restaurants were already fully booked (not that there was much choice, most places seemed very touristic). This one looked clean and had a nice view, but the food and service were quite mediocre. The kids' pizza, for instance, was as thick as a blanket - a strange thing for Italy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst restaurant in Tuscany!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The last few days we ate at several restaurants, this was the worst one!! It was also expensive for what they gave you. I think the pizza was from the freezer, we all ate just a few pieces and it was too bad to eat it all. The pasta was also very poor,, thank God they did'nt put too much on the plate. The waitress was not nice, she looked angry all the time and we first got the main course and much later the first course. Also they forgot one meal for 1 person, so we already had to eat before it gets cold and he had to wait a long time for his meal. It was very, very hot in this restaurant and they do nothing about this. The only good thing I can say about it is the beautiful vieuw, but that is not worth the money for this poor food!!!!!!!!!!!! Advice: don;t go there!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The most disappointing meal in Tuscany”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The dishes were poorly presented, very unimaginative, and all the salad was limp. Grilled meats were flavoursome (even I can grill a steak!) but the poor starters and salads were a big let down. This was our second most expensive meal during a trip to Tuscany in May 2012 and did not represent either good value or match the quality that we had experienced in many other restaurants. On return I emailed the restaurant but did not receive any response.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Worst restaurant of entire trip”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We chose this restaurant because of its great look - you're on a mezzanine under some amazing gabled ceilings, but what a mistake! The service (once we finally got served) was so sullen - I think the staff must hate working there. People at other tables were constantly looking around for someone to serve them too. My gnocchi with tomato and basil sauce was so bland it could have passed for baby food. It was the only restaurant we went to in Italy where they charged for bread (and then they forgot to bring it). For the price they charged there are plenty of better options in San Gimignano.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante La Griglia SRL also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
Castel San Gimignano, San Gimignano
 

Been to Ristorante La Griglia SRL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante La Griglia SRL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.