We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you can find it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Mandragola

La Mandragola
Via Berignano, 58, San Gimignano, Italy
39 0577 940377
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 106 restaurants in San Gimignano
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
finland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great if you can find it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Walk up through the castle gates, left along the alley where you see the Bonsiggiorno hotel. the wild boar stew was memorable and recommendable. They have 2 kinds of tourist menu as well.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    99
    94
    35
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

La Mandragola was one of the very best meals we had in Tuscany. The atmosphere is lovely, highlighted by the veranda on one side giving a beautiful view of the countryside below. Service was also impeccable and probably the best experienced on our vacation. Our primi started with a highly creative pecorino pie, with pears and fresh truffles. The secondi included a traditional boar stew on polenta and rabbit in Vernaccia wine that were also excellent. Very nice wine. Heartily recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Great local resaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is quite a large restaurant in San Gimignano, offering inside and outside seating. the owner and his staff are very friendly and accommodating , plenty of smiling going on here. You definitely feel welcome. The menu is extensive, which can sometimes be a problem with too much to choose from. That said the dishes my wife and I selected were great. Good local food with local produce. The wine list is good and the prices are good to. Worth a visit good value for money and agood quality.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budòio, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Try the pork loin!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Nice location, ate outside which was pleasant. Professional staff.

Delicious pork loin with plums/apples as well as lasagna. Tempura battered chicken and rabbit was underwhelming. Overall, a nice dining experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Superb Tuscan Pastas and Meats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We dined at La Mandragola twice during our 2 week stay in Tuscany at the end of July and early August. The food knocked our socks off, except we weren't wearing any because it was 90+ degrees F. A local recommended the restaurant to us and we weren't disappointed. Both nights we dined with a party of 15+ guests, so it was not an easy task taking all of our orders and getting our food out to us at once. They did a splendid job, but more importantly, it was delicious. For first course, the ravioli with truffles was exceptionally good. My husband had the pork loin with plums/fruit and it was so good he ordered the same thing again the following week when we returned! The tagliatelle with boar sauce was also fantastic. Several of our guests commented that it was one of the best meals they had ever had. We dined al fresco and the patio is lovely and private. Service was excellent.

If you visit San Gim, I highly recommend this restaurant. It is located just off the main road that goes up to the square from Parking Lot 1. It is on the little street that runs parallel to the main road, one block to the west. Don't miss the fabulous ceramic model of the town of San Gim located behind a gated courtyard on the same street, just north.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mandragola also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to La Mandragola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mandragola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.