We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oily and not flavorful.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Mandragola

La Mandragola
Via Berignano, 58, San Gimignano, Italy
39 0577 940377
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 109 Restaurants in San Gimignano
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
2 reviews
“Oily and not flavorful.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

Great service but not great food. We wanted a home cooked meal and it felt forced... I don't suggest it if you want something quaint and homemade.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    123
    46
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manila
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Had a quick lunch at La Mandragola with my wife and kids. We ordered the Pigeon Ravioli, Truffle Ravioli and Wild Boar stew. We all enjoyed it.
They also serve rabbit which we hope to try next time.
Waitstaff was very helpful and gave good suggestions.
Service was very quick.
Food was served in about 5 minutes.
Overall good dining experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Lovely way to pass an afternoon....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Hidden in a quiet Street just off the busy main thoroughfare, this elegant restaurant is a nice haven to enjoy some fabulous local food. We sat outside on the decking under the shady chestnut trees, literally at the foot of the city walls and enjoyed a typical meal of antipasti, pasta, secondi and delectable desserts. The wine list provided an interesting range of local wines. Worth the few minutes to find it.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“what a rip off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

by day four of our intensive tour of Tuscany we were too tired to hunt out a good place to eat so we followed the tenant's advice and headed straight for La Mandragola. Turns out we paid loads for a tough, deep fired frizzled steak (which my daughter couldn't even swallow) and teeny portion of grilled vegetables...like where's the rest of the portion!
In my opinion this place does NOT deserve the ridiculous number of clients that stroll through its door!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Good Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Rather a large ristorante, geared towards locals, who frequent it regularly for special occasions. Great value, when you stay at the owners property "Locanda La Mandragola" or if you have the Tourist Menu. Staff are very obliging and understanding, with nothing too much trouble. Food is well prepared and locally sourced. The wine list seems to be expensive in comparison to some other restaurants, nearby. Would always recommend a visit, whilst staying in San Gimignano, but does lack atmosphere, if you go on a quiet night

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mandragola also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to La Mandragola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mandragola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.