We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hope to go back again...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Guardastelle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Gimignano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agriturismo Guardastelle
Save
You added Agriturismo Guardastelle to your Saves list
Localita Sovestro, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hope to go back again...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We booked 3 B&B rooms and were impressed with the decor in all. Each had it's own characteristics and were very clean and well presented. We were impressed that the rooms were cleaned whilst we were having breakfast which meant that we could then be in the rooms without any interruptions during the day. When we arrived it was a bit difficult to find the office but once we did Fausto took very good care of us. He offered us coffee on our arrival for which we were very grateful as we had just driven up from the Amalfi coast. Breakfast was the best we had during our two week trip to Italy, something to meet everyone's tastes. Sitting on the terrace, eating breakfast and looking up at San Gimignano was a wonderful start to the day.

On our last day we booked to do the wine tour and lunch which was facilitated by Mark. He was as welcoming as Fausto and shared his knowledge enthusiastically.

Thanks to both Fausto and Mark, you made our stay one of the highlights of our trip and we would like to return again some day.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fausto M, Proprietario at Agriturismo Guardastelle, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear "ShazzaNZ22",
when possible we do the room cleaning while the guests is having breakfast. We think it's a good treat have the room cleaned up when you come back from breakfast.
Thank you so much for your compliments and review, it was a pleasure to know the all of you!

Sorry for this late reply but in the meantime we were on holiday :-)
We wish you all a Merry Christmas and a wonderful 2014!!
Fausto, Susanna and the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    19
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
115
279
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I spent 6 nights at Guardastelle the middle of September. We feel in love with Guardastelle right away! It really is a gem! And Fausto and Barbara go out of their way to make your stay the best ever. Fausto made dinner reservations for us and reserved spots for us at the Accademia and Uffizi in Florence. We loved their breakfast on the beautiful porch overlooking the vineyards and San Gimignano! And we really did love San Gimignano! Great small walled town with some of our favorite restaurants, one being Cum Quibus! Hope to come back and enjoy another visit!

Room Tip: We were wanting to stay in their 2 bedroom apartment, but it was already rented out in January for S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fausto M, Proprietario at Agriturismo Guardastelle, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear "dlr1953",
I sincerely hope that you'll come to visit us again! In the meantime I appreciate the time you get to share your experinece online, even more I appreciate your stay at Guardastelle!
It was a pleasure to know you and give you recommendations about local restaurants and museums.

We wish you a Merry Christmas and a wonderful 2014!!
Fausto, Susanna and the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Guardastelle is a gem, as is Fausto, Susanna and their staff (special thanks to Barbara). But you already know that if you've read the other reviews. I'll try to pass along some tips that you may not know.

First of all, my wife and I went to Tuscany to relax, not to try to put as many checkboxes on our "seen it, done it" list as possible. We went for a week and we took it slow. We stayed in Perseo, one of the apartments, and loved it. So our advice will be aimed at vacationers that are looking for a similar experience.

Enjoy the "Little" Things - As beautiful as Florence and Siena are, don't overlook the smaller towns like Volterra and especially Montepulciano (which we loved). And speaking of small Tuscan jewels, you can't do better than San Gimignano, a 20 minute walk up the road. Take the time to ramble and explore, rather than doing the typical dash up the main "Via" to the touristy piazza and then back to hit the next town. Some of the best experiences are just off the beaten path.

Get Lost in the Tuscan Countryside - This ties in with point one - just set out and drive with no particular destination. Stop in the small towns, enjoy a cappuccino or panini at the little cafes, trattorias and osterias. Tour the local wineries (especially Fausto and Susanna's). Have a picnic.

Ask for Recommendations - Fausto, Susanna and Barbara know their area. We had one of the best meals ever at a little taverna (Taverna di Bibbiano) that they recommended. They'll point you to places you'd probably never find otherwise.

Take it Easy - Our best days were the ones where we planned the least. Take an early morning or late afternoon walk to San Gimignano (before the tour buses come or after they depart) and don't be afraid to spend the afternoon by the pool at Guardastelle enjoying the amazing surroundings. It beats fighting crowds and trying to find parking in overloaded lots.

Mille grazie Guardastelle for an amazing week in Tuscany (and Fausto, we hope you got over your cold!)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fausto M, Proprietario at Agriturismo Guardastelle, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear "GordHKelowna",
many many thanks for your great review. Sorry for this late reply but in the meantime we have stayed on holiday!

I think it is very important that you have described your behaviour during your holiday because that point of view could change the all things!

"Enjoy the little things" - "Get lost in Tuscany" - "Take it easy"
These are the best things I have ever read in a review. Mostly of the people go in San Gimignano and walk just on the main road but beautiful views and hidden corners are behind. It is really a small magical town to discover!
Get lost is a big problem......Tuscan roads are winding and sometimes the GPS doesn't work.....well, everybody should consider get lost like part of their holiday in Tuscany! A relaxed behaviour helps for sure :-)

I'm really happy and thankful about your review and the post on your blog!
Grazie mille!!

We wish you a Merry Christmas and a wonderful 2014!!
Fausto, Susanna and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Apologies for taking so long to post this review! We stayed at Guardastelle in July and had a fantastic time (3 nights) - stayed in the Settimio room, very spacious and comfortable for family of 4. Loved cooling off in the beautiful pool after sightseeing in San Gimig. The walk to the town was manageable in the evening but not in the heat of the day, hourly parking near town quite reasonable and recommended! Fausto was a very gracious host - many thanks! Sorry not to have met Susannah! Would love to visit again and will definitely recommend your beautiful Agriturismo!

Room Tip: Settimio room was great for the family, nice patio and easy access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fausto M, Proprietario at Agriturismo Guardastelle, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear "Catherine396",
don't worry for delay...my answer is even delayed as usual!
Unfortunately next year the Settimio room it won't be available any more because in a rainy year like this that room have problem of umidity and damp smell. Probably it will be the kitchen for cooking classes!!

Many thanks for your stay and the review. Keep following us on Instagram (guardastelle1) and see you next time, when you'll know Susanna and the children!

Ciao
Fausto & Susanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had some difficulty finding the place, despite GPS (which was totally off) and directions (which were more helpful). Once we did, we stumbled into the wine section and were directed to the b&b entrance nearby. This was the most expensive place in which we stayed (Rome, Florence, Venice, Montefalco), and breakfast was good. The grounds and vistas were beautiful and it was nice to be able to walk to town and enjoy the place without having to catch a bus. That is the reason to stay here. Breakfast was a generous buffet, but nothing was cooked for us. For the price, it would have been nice to have a warm breakfast offering. We loved the pool, outdoor shower (good for rinsing feet - not private) and the comfortable room (sparse but nice) and wished we could stay longer but we had to return the rental car. Wifi was pretty bad and only worked in one place (not in the room).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fausto M, Proprietario at Agriturismo Guardastelle, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear "winkers",
this is a problem that doesn't depend from us, mostly of the gps doesn't work in this area. They work if you are able to type in the coordinate. That's why we provide them together with some directions on the confirmation voucher.

To me it sound strange that who was in charge was breakfast (me, Barbara or Mark) didn't ask you anything regarding the eggs. We are use to prepare the cold buffet you had and ask to everyone regarding cappuccino, espresso and eggs (boiled, scambled, fried, over easy, poach with bacon or not). The only time I personally don't ask is when I understand that the guest doesn't like to have eggs in the morning, it is usually after the 3/4 morning.
I'm sorry anyway if nobody asked you regarding that.

The wifi is actually in the common area of the dining room and terrace, swimming pool and in every apartment. Not in the rooms, as you can see also in the website.

Many thanks for your visit and review.
Fausto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed for a week in the Perseo apartment. This was our first "Agriturismo' experience and was excellent. Guardastelle is a great location for exploring Tuscany. Fausto and the team are there to help as needed and there is plenty of room for everyone staying to move around without being on top of each other.
Take the wine tour with Mark, the best " no[--]" wine explanation you'll get.
Take the cooking class in Certaldo, never buy pasta again. www.cucinagiuseppina.com
I booked based on tripadvisor so just to comment on some of the negatives I read when I was booking .... San Gimignano is about a 15 minute walk up a small country lane from Guardastelle, all uphill, but not a big deal. If you're on the main road you're on the wrong road. The beds are Italian beds, pretty hard. If you like a soft bed you'll be in trouble across Italy.
This is the closest you'll get to having your own place in Tuscany, you feel that at home ...
Mike and Krista, Alberta, Canada

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fausto M, Proprietario at Agriturismo Guardastelle, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear "Mike A",
we can host 25 people so the place is not so big and there are many gardens to enjoy.
Mark is very nice and gives lots of information but perhaps if you'll come back you'll do our cooking class ;-)

Many many many thanks regarding the tips!!! Finally someone who understood that hard beds are not just at Guardastelle! Anyway (as seems to be a little problem) we'll try to solve for next year.
The main road to San Gimignano could be very dangerous if people walk there, so.....don't walk there!!

Thank you so much Mike & Krista for your visit and this helpful review.
Hope to see you again!
Ciao
Fausto & Susanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was a wonderful find on google for our return trip to florence. We stopped for wine tasting and a snack...... which was hardly a snack.The expert advice was very welcome and encouraged us to linger longer. We will definitely visit again. We were assisted with GPS . We only bought 2 bottles of the delicious wines because of traveling restraints.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fausto M, Proprietario at Agriturismo Guardastelle, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear "Alibam",
thanks a lot for your visit, it was nice to know you. Hopefully next time you'll stay in one of our rooms. Keep in touch with us to discover the next offers on the fan page on facebook.

Ciao!
Fausto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agriturismo Guardastelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Guardastelle

Address: Localita Sovestro, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 102 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agriturismo is a working farm with accomodation. A farm stay! You'll be welcome by the owners in a rustic and typical Tuscan style rennovated house. We're at only 1 km away from San Gimignano, Tuscany. Wine tour and taste of our own products. Cooking lessons for guests. Come to visit us, we are waiting you!! Fausto & Susanna ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Guardastelle Hotel San Gimignano
Agriturismo Guardastelle San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Guardastelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.