We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, great location and wonderful hosts.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Guardastelle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Gimignano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agriturismo Guardastelle
Save
You added Agriturismo Guardastelle to your Saves list
Localita Sovestro, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Shoreview, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, great location and wonderful hosts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The location of agriturismo Gaurdastelle is perfect - in the heart of Tuscany within walking distance on San Gimignano - a charming little town. The views are stunning - vineyards and olive trees, quaint farm houses, San Gimignano, and beautiful blue skies. Quiet, comfortable, charming.

We had a little accident, went into the ditch, just down the road from Gaurdastella. Fausto came to the rescue and saved the day. Susanne and Fasuto are delightful.

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susausto, Proprietario at Agriturismo Guardastelle, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear "bwahl",
many thanks for your review. Come on! you didn't have an accident it was just an oversight, sadly under pouring rain!
Unfortunately the weather in those days wasn't nice because was almost winter but I hope you'll have another chance to come to experiment the beautiful Tuscan sunshine!
It's easy to keep in touch with us, just searching a Facebook page with our name!

Best regards,
Fausto & Susanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    18
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
108
271
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at this lovely agriturismo with my parents while they were visiting Italy. My husband and I had been here before for wine tasting and we knew that we had to come back to stay here in order to show my parents the perfect Tuscan experience. We were not disappointed! On arrival we were greeted by an enthusiastic woman (sorry, I can't remember her name) who was very eager to help us and show us around the charming premises. After looking at the two rooms, she gave us coffee and tea and we relaxed in the breakfast room. The rooms were very clean, quiet, comfortable, and were a nice size. We had beautiful views of the countryside as well as San Gimignano. Breakfast was delicious with fruit, yogurt, breads, jams, and eggs on request. It is a great place to relax and unwind, and the hospitality can't be beat... you can tell that they really care about their facilities and their guests. We enjoyed every minute of our stay here and made some fantastic memories that we'll hold onto forever. Thank you... we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fausto M, Proprietario at Agriturismo Guardastelle, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear "cherosu",
thank you so much for your time to share with other travellers your experience. I have to thank you expecially because this was your second visit and you brought your parents!

This year we're planning to do cooking classes...it could be a nice excuse to come back again ;-)

Best regards,
Fausto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 nights in October. The place is beautiful, serene and looks like taken from a postcard. We stayed in the Perseo apartment which was fully equipped and decorated. The location near San Gimignano is a bonuse and its also near Poggibonsi where you can take a train to Florence or anywhere else- very convenient. I fully recommend staying in the Guardastelle.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fausto M, Proprietario at Agriturismo Guardastelle, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Shimon,
we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in the Perseo apartment. It is probably the smaller but nice and confortable. I remember in those days the weather wasn't nice with you, maybe next time will be better!

Best regards,
Fausto & Susanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Petersburg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is how we describe Agriturismo Guardastelle. My wife and I stayed in the villa "Antilla" for a two week vaction of rest and relaxation. It was the last two weeks of October and Fausto ordered up wonderful tempatures of mid 70 degrees. He seems to handle any and all request, so we figured he did the weather. Having been to Italy (Tuscany) four other times, we decided to upack just once and stay put making day trips of easy drives. We would decide over Guardastelle's great breakfast where the day's adventure would take us. Every picture of Tuscany's beautiful landscape with Italian pines, vineyards, olive groves((my wife even went in the fields and helped rake olives out of the trees as it was harvest time), storied walls and ancient towers with rolling morning mist over the fields is Agriturismo Guardastelle! If you are looking for the ultimate vacation of relaxation filled with charm and underlines by a most gracious host---Agriturismo Guardastelle is it. We will return.

Room Tip: Any of the villas is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fausto M, Proprietario at Agriturismo Guardastelle, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Leanes,
we have to thank you a thousand times because you described Guardastelle as we couldn't!!
We're glad that you caught on of the best part of this place, the location. Perfect for day trips to discover the Tuscan cities in its beauty and come back in the afternoon for a refreshing swim.

We also hope to see you again but to don't forget of us follow us on the Facebook fan page!
Thanks for your time.

Best regards,
Fausto & Susanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Fausto was the perfect friendly host in a stunning location. The villa managed to feel both luxurious but also have a rustic charm. Faustian gave excellent recommendations on where to eat in San Gimignano whilst the breakfast on the beautiful terrace set us up perfectly for a day of wandering around the vines and the town. Slightly more expensive than other agruturismos that we stayed in but well worth it,

Can't recommend this enough, only had two nights here but would love to come back to try fausto's wine tasting

Thanks Fausto for letting us stay in your beautiful home,

Natasha and Joe

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fausto M, Proprietario at Agriturismo Guardastelle, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Natasha & Joe,
thanks for your beautiful review and the time you spent to share your experinence.
You are right we are more expensive than other agriturismo but you saw the quality of the rooms and services.
I hope you'll come back in other occasion to try our new cooking classes.

All the best,
Fausto & Susanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We really enjoyed the magnificent location among those amazing hills and St Giminiano village (such a view from the terrace!), the cozy place, the friendly staff and the very lovely welcome of Susanna and Fausto. The facility is pretty comfortable, quiet, clean, well-organized, and ideal to relax and get the real flavor of Tuscany. We will go there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fausto M, Proprietario at Agriturismo Guardastelle, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear "sirmione67",
thanks to take the time to leave this nice review and share your experience with other travellers.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay and are considering to come back!

Regards,
Fausto & SUsanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I ended our 17 day European vacation with a 5 day stay at Guardastelle. We stayed in the Settimio room, which was very comfortable with a small living room area, and our own private patio. Fausto and his staff went out of their way to may sure our stay was enjoyable. And, the location provides an excellent base from which to explore the hill towns (we took day trips to Volterra, Siena, and Lucca.) We had dinner each night in San Gimignano, and found that it was preferable to drive there and back rather than walk in the dark (although we found the walk very enjoyable during the day -- about 25 minutes for us.) Beautiful area and property, which we highly recommend. We hope to return sometime soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fausto M, Proprietario at Agriturismo Guardastelle, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear "RussCaslin",
we are pleased to go out of our way to make our guest holiday a great Tuscan experience...and with guests as you is very easy! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and liked the room, hopefully we'll see you again!
Thanks for the time you spent to review us.

Take care,
Fausto & Susanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agriturismo Guardastelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Guardastelle

Address: Localita Sovestro, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 101 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agriturismo is a working farm with accomodation. A farm stay! You'll be welcome by the owners in a rustic and typical Tuscan style rennovated house. We're at only 1 km away from San Gimignano, Tuscany. Wine tour and taste of our own products. Cooking lessons for guests. Come to visit us, we are waiting you!! Fausto & Susanna ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Guardastelle Hotel San Gimignano
Agriturismo Guardastelle San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Guardastelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.