We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning - everything you imagine Tuscany to be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Guardastelle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Gimignano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agriturismo Guardastelle
Save
You added Agriturismo Guardastelle to your Saves list
Localita Sovestro, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Stunning - everything you imagine Tuscany to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Fausto was the perfect friendly host in a stunning location. The villa managed to feel both luxurious but also have a rustic charm. Faustian gave excellent recommendations on where to eat in San Gimignano whilst the breakfast on the beautiful terrace set us up perfectly for a day of wandering around the vines and the town. Slightly more expensive than other agruturismos that we stayed in but well worth it,

Can't recommend this enough, only had two nights here but would love to come back to try fausto's wine tasting

Thanks Fausto for letting us stay in your beautiful home,

Natasha and Joe

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fausto M, Proprietario at Agriturismo Guardastelle, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Natasha & Joe,
thanks for your beautiful review and the time you spent to share your experinence.
You are right we are more expensive than other agriturismo but you saw the quality of the rooms and services.
I hope you'll come back in other occasion to try our new cooking classes.

All the best,
Fausto & Susanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    18
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
108
271
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We really enjoyed the magnificent location among those amazing hills and St Giminiano village (such a view from the terrace!), the cozy place, the friendly staff and the very lovely welcome of Susanna and Fausto. The facility is pretty comfortable, quiet, clean, well-organized, and ideal to relax and get the real flavor of Tuscany. We will go there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fausto M, Proprietario at Agriturismo Guardastelle, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear "sirmione67",
thanks to take the time to leave this nice review and share your experience with other travellers.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay and are considering to come back!

Regards,
Fausto & SUsanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I ended our 17 day European vacation with a 5 day stay at Guardastelle. We stayed in the Settimio room, which was very comfortable with a small living room area, and our own private patio. Fausto and his staff went out of their way to may sure our stay was enjoyable. And, the location provides an excellent base from which to explore the hill towns (we took day trips to Volterra, Siena, and Lucca.) We had dinner each night in San Gimignano, and found that it was preferable to drive there and back rather than walk in the dark (although we found the walk very enjoyable during the day -- about 25 minutes for us.) Beautiful area and property, which we highly recommend. We hope to return sometime soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fausto M, Proprietario at Agriturismo Guardastelle, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear "RussCaslin",
we are pleased to go out of our way to make our guest holiday a great Tuscan experience...and with guests as you is very easy! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and liked the room, hopefully we'll see you again!
Thanks for the time you spent to review us.

Take care,
Fausto & Susanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

On our trip from Rome to Umbria through Tuscany and to Florence, this was my favorite inn. We stayed at other very nice agriturismos and hotels, but this one was outstanding in every way.

The postcard-perfect views of the rolling vineyards and the medieval towers of San Gimignano were spectacular. The service was warm, friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were fresh, delicious and extravagant, with an array of meats, cheeses, decadent pastries and cooked-to-order bacon and eggs. The palatial room was gorgeous and exquisite - it was like staying at a very wealthy relative's house. After enduring several hard beds at other inns and hotels (common in Italy), the bed here was perfect (I have a bad back and am VERY picky about this).

I can't emphasize enough that you must try Fausto's wines and olive oils. We sampled them one sunny afternoon with a spectacular lunch on the terrace overlooking the vineyards. We loved them so much, we had several bottles shipped home.

Even if San Gimignano itself were not that great, I would highly recommend going out of your way to stay here. But it was wonderful! We did the short, pleasant uphill walk into town one day and took the car the next. Parking was relatively easy to find and not too pricey. We loved the shops and restaurants. One day, we went to a meat and cheese shop and brought back wild boar salami, pork salami, three kinds of Pecorino cheese, a mozzarella and tomato panino and chocolate almond bark. We opened a bottle of wine on the beautiful second-floor patio and had a romantic picnic under the stars for dinner. It was absolutely magical!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fausto M, Proprietario at Agriturismo Guardastelle, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear "1wino",
many many thanks for your absolutely fantastic and magical comment.
It was so pleasant enjoy our chat together about our job and your country.

Thank you also your mention about the beds, it help against the bed review we got.
I hope you'll come again in Guardastelle or, at least, we'll come in Phoenix!!

Regards,
Fausto & Susanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We travelled through Germany and Italy, and spent 1 week here. We did not have a car, are not wine afficiandos, and still found this amazing even though it is in the country and isolated from most things. a 20 minute walk to San Gimignano gives you options with the bus to Poggibonzi, and then trains or bus to Florence, Pisa, Venice, etc..Breakfast daily was wonderful, eggs or bacon to order, and lots of fresh fruit and continental options. Our apartment was made up daily first thing in the morning by very quick housekeeping. Scenery is amazing, surrounded by hills of Tuscany, vineyards, and San Gimignano. Have the wine tasting tour, as it also included lunch, education, and is great value. When we arrived Barbara upgraded us per Fausto and Susanna to an apartment which in hindsight was a very good choice. The apartment gave us a fridge, our own privacy to come and go, and a loft with a TV. We will definitely travel back here some day, and next time I will rent a car for our stay here. I should mention the pool was closed for season now but that made no impact on our stay. Taxi ride from here to Florence to catch our 6:30 flight was arranged by Fausto at a great price of $120 euros, and left at 4:00 in the morning. Thank you very much for helping arrange that, we should have booked later flights but didn't realize our location relative to the airport as we travelled by train to Italy from Germany. One thing we enjoyed was our daily walks to San Gimignano, a 2.2 km walk up hill which helped burn off all the pizza and spaghetti calories we had accrued in Venice. Be sure to know hours of ristorantes and stores before walking to them, they run their own hours and close different days. Some restaurants dont even open until 7 PM, which is normal for Italy. Buy groceries at the Coop right outside the front gate of San Gimignano. We also loved watching them pick the olives, and came back with some wine and olive oil purchased right from Fausto. Shop for clothing and jewelry in Poggibonzi, located 5 minute walk from Bus station, immediately WEST across the road and about 1 block more west and to the north. Lots of great stores their, much better selection and pricing compared to San Gimignano which is mostly tourist trap stores but has some good quality stores too. Know some Italian if you go to Poggibonzi, they don't speak english there. Best food I had was the Pollo Vinsanto with Grapes at Hotel Sovestro just down the road from Guardastelle, we ate there several times. If you want agriturismo with authentic Tuscan environment, this is the place. If you are not fit and capable of walking long uphill distances, rent and travel by car.

Room Tip: short stay, rent a room. longer rent apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susausto, Proprietario at Agriturismo Guardastelle, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear "SnorkellingJeff",
I'm so sad because my reply it took so long but now I'm here and I hope you can apologize me :-)

Your review is...WOW!! I think it is so helpful fior other traveller who aim to make an extraordinary experience of Tuscany.
Many many thanks for your stay and this review. I still remember our chat together and I hope to come to your place one day!

Best regards,
Fausto & Susanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Beautiful farmhouse property, surrounded by vineyards and olive groves. We were only able to spend one night there, so we didn't get to enjoy the wine/olive oil tastings, but we felt very welcome. Also, visiting in October, some of the other benefits the property has to offer (like the pool) are not open, so I'm sure it is much more enjoyable in the summer season. The staff was great, the breakfast is one of the better spreads we had in Italy. Overall it was one of the most peaceful places we visited. The WiFi is only available in common areas, and it is a bit of a hassle to login (you must log in using Facebook or other social media).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susausto, Proprietario at Agriturismo Guardastelle, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear "Brandn S",
many thanks for your comment. You are right in the hot Tuscan summer Guardastelle is much enjoyable, swmming pool, long days, dinner on the terrace. I hope you'll come back to stay longer. :-)
Anyway the wi-fi is in the common area, swimming pool area, winery and part of the gardens. We found this nice way to connect to internet, through social media (not only Facebook) because everybody use some of those (Twitter, Google, Yahoo, LinkedIn, Instagram, ecc...) but we can also create ID and password for the one who doesn't have any of those.

Thanks for your time!
Best regards,
Fausto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The property is beautiful with nice views of the Tuscan countryside, and the rooms were quite large and nicely decorated... but, there's a big BUT...

Had we been able to actually sleep, they would have 5 stars in a heartbeat. It felt like a box spring vs. a mattress, and it was so bad that we talked about leaving in the middle of the night (or even sleeping by the pool in lounge chairs). We went so far as to tell the owners the next morning that they are missing a mattress on our bed, but they assured us that everyone is sleeping on the same bed. In looking at the reviews, and no one mentioning this issue, we find it odd. Hmm? Perhaps no one is saying anything about the beds because they all had their fair share of vino!?! :)

Moving on.. it's about a 20 minute walk (up hill!!) to San Gimingnano. Neat place! We decided to walk back in the evening, which we wouldn't advise since there was nothing lighting the road.

All the guests kind of bonded following the wine tour on the property and everyone made it to the pool. Only issue, there were non-hotel guests who came along and that left not enough poolside chairs for everyone - a bit crowded.

Sorry for the brutal honesty, but that was our experience. Wish we could have had a do-over as it was our honeymoon and we paid a nice chunk of change to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susausto, Proprietario at Agriturismo Guardastelle, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Good morning "kris s",
this is very strange for us......if you read with attention the reviews on Tripadvisor you can see that someone else already mentioned the mattress we use. Someone wrote also that found hard beds somewhere else in Italy.....so it is probably a characteristic of our country? Did you come in Italy to experience our living or to live like in the US? We have been in California and also for us was difficult to sleep because there people use to sleep with 2 mattress (very strange for an Italian) and the beds were so soft but not for this reason I made a bad review on the B&B we stayed. You can check yourself! The B&B name we stayed in Napa is Churchill Manro B&B. It is still the first Italian review, 5 stars, also with soft unconfortable bed.
Fortunately just few days ago we had a 5 stars review by Travelmadlver on the 18th October who said how wonderful was her bed. Do you know why? Because we bought for her a new mattress! Just for her. From this I think you can know now what kind of people we are. We like our job and want to make people happy unfortunately often people comes here and think this place like a cold hotel. It is not. This is a house, opened for people because we love to stay with people, warm welcomed and other things that probably you didn't experienced because too focused on your US living style.
Why you didn't say to us about the mattress? Why you didn't ask for an extra one? Why you didn't ask for another room?

The wine tour is not only for our guests. You can read about that in the San Gimignano's attraction, where we are highly rated......it seems that we like to work well......

Probably our fault was only about the chairs/loungebeds around the swimming pool. Something that we are planning to improve for next year.

No problem for the honesty, it is what we need to improve the service but you were not the first couple on honeymoon and I think a 3 star review is not deserve.

Regards,
Fausto & Susanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agriturismo Guardastelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Guardastelle

Address: Localita Sovestro, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 101 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agriturismo is a working farm with accomodation. A farm stay! You'll be welcome by the owners in a rustic and typical Tuscan style rennovated house. We're at only 1 km away from San Gimignano, Tuscany. Wine tour and taste of our own products. Cooking lessons for guests. Come to visit us, we are waiting you!! Fausto & Susanna ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Guardastelle Hotel San Gimignano
Agriturismo Guardastelle San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Guardastelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.