We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for an unforgettable holidays!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fabio Apartments San Gimignano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fabio Apartments San Gimignano to your Saves list
Fabio Apartments San Gimignano
Piazza del Duomo, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mieres, Asturias
1 review
“Excellent choice for an unforgettable holidays!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

San Gimignano, the seating plans allows you to easily make a lot of visits to villages and magnificent cities. San Gimignano has a special magic, is a beautiful place that transports you to a place of story, and the apartment Contessa is an excellent choice. In the historic center, very spacious, clean and bright, allows you to enjoy every minute of your stay with all the charm of this unique town.
We are SATISFIED with the election, Thanks for all

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    28
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
112
137
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

My cousin & I stayed 4 nights in the La Duca apartment in May & were impressed by the apartment & the warmth & kindness of Fabio & Daniela. After 30+ hours of travelling time it was wonderful to be personally met off the train at Poggibonsi & driven to San Gimignano in the comfort of Fabio's car. There are several flights of stairs to the apartment which looked a little daunting at first but Fabio grabbed our luggage & literally RAN up the stairs with it. He & Daniela gave us a thorough tour of the apartment, showing us how everything worked & then advised us where to shop for food & even took my cousin to show her where we were to deposit our rubbish! Their English is a little sketchy (but considerably better than my Italian) though their daughter Sara is fluent.
The apartment has 2 generous bedrooms, each with a comfy queen bed, a spacious bathroom (complete with washing machine), a fair sized living area & a small kitchen alcove which is equipped with every utensil you might require for day to day cooking.
We loved the view over the neighbouring rooftops, terraces & gardens and the resident pigeons that enjoy crumbs of bread & biscuit. At 80 Euro per night, this was fantastic value. I met a number of day trippers who were staying elsewhere, thinking that San Gimignano would be too expensive for them & they simply could not believe we had a 2 bedroomed apartment in such a superb location for such a reasonable price.
Fabio's apartments are right off one of the main piazzas with many cafes, restaurants & food outlets nearby. San Gimignano is a fabulous place for some R&R after a long flight & we really enjoyed our stay. It's also a handy base for visiting other towns in Tuscany - we did an afternoon tour of Siena & chianti tasting & also spent a day in Florence, travelling by train from Poggibonsi. A word of warning though, do not wait to take the last train back from Florence as you run a very real risk of missing the last bus to San Gimignano. This happened to us when the train went on a real go-slow & arrived over an hour and a half late in Poggibonsi. It was a wet stormy night & the last bus had well & truly left, but a kind Italian couple we met on the train took pity on us & phoned for a taxi to take us to Poggibonsi. An equally kind taxi driver came out of his warm home to drive us the 12kms to San Gimignano, charging us only 20 Euro for the fare. Next day Fabio was quite offended that we hadn't phoned him as he would gladly have collected us from the train station & though I like to be independent where possible, I did have him in mind as a last resort.
I have no hesitation in recommending Fabio Apartments for a memorable stay in a beautiful part of Italy.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfiled, DErbyshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

Fabio was a fantastic host, meeting us off the train in Poggibonsi. He and Sara gave us all the advice we needed to make the most of our stay. The apartment was ideal, fantastic location just off the piazza Duomo but so peaceful. The small balcony was great for breakfast and lunch. The bus service from San G is excellent, we visted Colle di Val d'Elsa and discovered a tunnel and public lift up to the delightful old town. We visited Volterra by car. San Gimignano and surrounding countryside is beautiful, particularly in the early morning or evening. A great place to stay and we would certainly book again with Fabio on any return visit to San G.
Julia and Deryck, Chesterfield

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

Fabio saved our lives! We had a few emergencies, and he made four trips from the next town to help us with an emergency phone message, retrieving money at Western Union, when we locked ourselves out, etc. The apartment Contessa is gorgeous with every amenity. The photos do not do it justice... it was so comfortable and our welcome was very very special. Fabio showed us great places to eat (even made reservations!) and all the local places of interest on the map. We LOVED San Gimignano, mostly due to Fabio and the Contessa apartment... right off the Duomo Square! He was by far the best of all our hosts in 6 different cities and towns.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Ideal situation for touring Tuscany either by car, on foot, or by train and bus. Fabio was an excellent host with a lot of inside information as to what to do and see. Sara, his daughter, was very helpful too, and an excellent linguist - peace of mind in an emergency. San Gimignano was restful, interesting and a delight to be in - especially in the evening when the cruise ship tourists had left. The apartment provided us with everything we needed in the middle of a touring holiday in Italy. A place to relax in and explore.

We will what to come again to Tuscany and when we do we will look to stay in one of Fabio's apartments again

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

From the start of our stay, when Fabio & his (English speaking) daughter Sara collected us and our bags and gave us an introdution to the flat and surrounding area, to the end, when Fabio took us to the garage to collect our car, everything about Fabio's Apartment was top notch.

A few hints and tips about the flat and San G:
1. Do make use of the garage. San G is very, very busy and parking is a nightmare! The garage was an extra 7 euros per day, and was underground in a private complex, so very safe
2. Go to Vecchie Mura (probably the wrong spelling) and book a table on the outside terrace. I have yet to see a better view from a restaurant table!
3. Take some citronella - there were gnats in abundance when we went (May-June)
4. Eating outdoors is great, but smoking is still permitted on restaurant terraces unfortunately
5. Try Wineland (a wine bar at one end of San G - I think it's at Via Septembre - something like that). Great wine, relaxed atmosphere, and an Italian-Scottish lady behind the bar! Also, try Diavadorum (again, definitely the wrong spelling). The front of the bar is opposite Leon Blanco hotel, but go round the back to one of the four outdoor tables for a quiet drink and great, great view!

Once again, Fabio and his family were fantastic hosts and, although we had no need to call upon them during our stay, one of the guests, who missed the last train from the nearest station 10 km away, had to call Fabio who collected them and took them back to San G! Great stuff!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

San Gimignano is a must when visiting Italy and Fabio Apartments is THE place to stay. Perfect location, very comfortable apartment and with a host like Fabio, you can't ask for more. We have stayed on several occasions and will be back for more.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fabio Apartments San Gimignano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fabio Apartments San Gimignano

Address: Piazza del Duomo, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 102 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a central position, but also surrounded by a rare and precious silence, our apartments offer the unique feeling of an ancient building with all the comfort of modern amenities. Car parking is not a problem. On your arrival you will be given a special access permit to reach our apartments. For every apartment a private garage is available few metres far. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Fabio Apartments San Gimignano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fabio Apartments San Gimignano Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fabio Apartments San Gimignano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.