We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full package - location, cleanliness, hospitality, comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fabio Apartments San Gimignano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Fabio Apartments San Gimignano to your Saves list
Fabio Apartments San Gimignano
Piazza del Duomo, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Full package - location, cleanliness, hospitality, comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I should have wirtten this review long ago, but I see from the other reviews there isn't much new I can say. Nevertheless - thank you, Fabio, and your beautiful daughter! You have been a fantastic host!
We stayed (4 of us) in one of Fabio's two apartments in September 2012 and I was truly surprised how clean, comfortble, spacious and romantic the apartment is. Fabio and his daughter were absolutely helpful with everything - there really isn't what more to say that was not said before us. We just want to confirm it and reassure everyone looking at this place that it will be a perfect choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    28
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
109
135
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a long overdue review! We stayed here in 2012 on the Tuscan leg of our Italy trip. We had a fantastic time in San Gimignano and really enjoyed the Italian country side. This town is central enough that you could do day trips to Florence, Sienna, Pisa and a bunch of small and medium sized towns/cities in between.

Sarah was fantastic and gave us a ton of information about the area and where to eat. She went above and beyond in helping us get settled. We didn't get the chance to meet Fabio until the end of our stay and like his daughter, he was kind and helpful in getting us back on the road.

The apartment was way bigger than we thought it would be. Very spacious and almost right in the centre of town so we could enter and exit via either main gate. They also had a well equipped kitchen and a parking spot for our rental car. All in all a great option if you want to be able to sample some of the things you can pick up at the weekly farmers' market. Don't miss out on that although some of the vendors can get a bit touchy if you take a photo for some reason...

The only thing I would improve upon to make this a 5 star would be the internet connection and warming up the apartment a bit. It doesn't have direct sun light so can get a bit chilly and the internet connection was very difficult to connect to. Not a huge deal but would be nice to be able to make some Skype calls to family and friends if you are staying there for a while.

Would definitely recommend this place though, it's a perfect base for the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was our third stay. Fabio's apartments, situated in the centre of San Gimignano, a world heritage Tuscan Hill town, are ideally situated for access to all the town has to offer, and believe us there is so much to see and do. The apartments, fully furnished and spacious, provide that home away from home experience. Added to this is Fabio and his family's warmth and helpfulness in getting guests settled and oriented with the town and the attractions and the best places to see around the country side.

Buses link the town to Sienna, Florence, to name the major cities, which are available from the front gates of the city, a seven minute walk from the apartments.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This place was a very pleasant surprise. The service of Fabio and Sarah was way above excellent. The apartment was just perfect for my sister, niece and I we had a great time. We were picked up by Fabio and Sarah at the train station they assisted with our bags then showed us all the services the apartment had to offer which was plenty of room in the apartment it was very clean and just the perfect location. We would go back to this apartment again and again and recommend it to ours.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We booked this on the internet, and we were concerned it would not be good, how wrong we were. From the time we arrived there was help at hand from Fabio & Sara. Sara spent quite a long time explaining what was available and helping with what we wanted to see, she even booked our first evening meal for us. We stayed in La Contessa and it was home from home. San Gimignano is a charming place to stay, and it is very busy through the day, but by staying there we could travel around through the day and then it was quite after around 16.00 and it was easy to see everything without the crowds. We were there in Sept for 6 nights and we would happily go back today. Many thanks Fabio & Sara for all you help.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pori
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had only one night in Fabio Apartments, but we´ll be back. Apartment was nice, clean and perfectly located in the heart of old, beautiful town. Fabio and Sara were very kind and helpfull. Nice palce to eat was found by Sara´s tip. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed in Il Duca for four nights in October as a family with 2 kids, 13 and 9. Fabio and his daughter Sara were truly the best hosts, the apartment itself is very clean, tidy and well appointed. Kitchen small, but we managed a meal in there, though there are so many great local restaurants. Sara's advice to us about things to do, places to go, places to eat was magnificent and very accurate, and Fabio even arranged a doctor for us when we needed it. Truly one of the nicest guys, who cares for his charming apartment so well. Il Duca is right in the heart of the village, but quiet (apart from the church bells) and perfect for the family. It is easy to recommend whole-heartedly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fabio Apartments San Gimignano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fabio Apartments San Gimignano

Address: Piazza del Duomo, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 101 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a central position, but also surrounded by a rare and precious silence, our apartments offer the unique feeling of an ancient building with all the comfort of modern amenities. Car parking is not a problem. On your arrival you will be given a special access permit to reach our apartments. For every apartment a private garage is available few metres far. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Fabio Apartments San Gimignano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fabio Apartments San Gimignano Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fabio Apartments San Gimignano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.