We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Spot ITuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tenuta Mormoraia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tenuta Mormoraia to your Saves list
Tenuta Mormoraia
Localita Sant'Andrea, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 63 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. james, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Spot ITuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

We enjoyed our stay for one week in October. The place is lovely. Great views. Immaculate property. The apartment was clean and comfortable. Ten minutes from San Gimignano. Better if you have GPS and maps. Traveled all over Tuscany. We got lost a lot but that was part of the adventure. Road signs and maps do no alway match. This would be a problem no matter where you stayed. So stay in a beautiful place like Mormoraia.. It was very convenient to San Gimignano so we ofter ate there after traveling for the day. It had a very good variety of good restaurants. Laura in the office was helpful .

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    30
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
29
71
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

I wanted to go somewhere special to celebrate my 50th year..and I'm so glad that I chose this most beautiful of spots. With two young children the pool was essential as quite frankly there is only so much culture and beautiful panoramic views that a 12 and 8 yr old can deal with. The view from the pool area to the distant hill town of San Gimignano was quite simply amazing.
The accommodation itself was very good,any criticism would be that for the money (we stayed two weeks) it would benefit from having both a dishwasher and a washing machine in the apartment. Two, I admit maybe non-essential items but both would have made life just a little more luxurious than it was (a washing machine was on site..but was shared by other guests and staff) .
The location is remote, so a car is essential but from this point getting to places of interest such as Sienna,Florence and Pisa was very easy. Be prepared to take longer on your journeys as country roads are long and windy. A 45min. trip in the UK came up as an hour and a half on my sat nav, and was never far out. A sat nav by the way, with obviously European mapping is a god send!
Although one of the furthest places we went to, visit Lucca and historic walled town with the most beautiful of ambience's I adored it. A great place to visit, as we did on a Sunday to see Italians simply enjoy their city, perambulating around the city walls, gathering in the squares...was such a warm atmosphere.
San Gimignano was only a mile or two away and we often went to it late afternoon to walk around..a wonderful place (the kids so enjoyed the award winning ice cream sold from a tiny shop in the main square..)
I cannot really fault my stay here..the owners/staff were very hospitable ..the accommodation was more than adequate ...DO take insect repellent ..they come out at night and are vicious!..all in all HIGHLY recommended..great spot..small kids will need there Nintendo's, however as previously stated the pool is great to keep them occupied for long periods...Go enjoy and live forever with the real beauty and tranquillity of Tuscany.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

We arrived at Mormoraia in the early evening and were shown to our room. Our initial impressions were a little disappointing since there was no welcome pack and no air conditioning in the room. However things improved the next morning when the children found the pool and we were able to take in the location. We enjoyed our stay and found the accomodation ideally situated for exploring the many wonderful sites of Tuscany.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

We stayed for a week in June 2010. The weather was excellent - sunny all week. The apartment buildings and gardens were extremely well kept. The apartmnents and gardens had picture postcard views to San Gimignano and over the local vineyards. Staying arounf the pool and gardens was very peaceful, and the journeys to San Gimignano, Siena, and the local countryside and towns quick and easy (and great veiws thrown in). The housekeeper and gardner were very friendly and helpful. The only downside was the the many things that bite, particularly in the night. Bring plenty of insect repellent and anti itching cream.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snowmass
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

This is a place where Tuscany feels like home. From the minute we drove up the lovely dirt road, we knew we had found a wonderful place. On your left, the estate is towered over by these lovely tall trees, rolling hills, and lovely vines to greet you. As we drove up, we noticed how tidy it was. Not a weed to be found in the perfectly graveled and groomed courtyard. The multiple buildings all settled perfectly overlooking San Gimignano. Something beautiful to wake up to every morning. Our apartment was a lovely 2 bedroom 1 bath upstairs across from the main building overlooking the courtyard, facing San Gimi. Very clean. Very Tuscan. The beds were not top of the line. But having a bad back, I still survived well. The Chianti made by the estate was SUPERB! The host/owner was very hospitable. Even sending me her very own Mormoraia corkscrew when I left my San Gimi one behind. You will find our favorite part outside. The lovely arbor covered and 12' hedge lined patio with a magnificent outdoor oven and grill I have ever been privelaged to use. As a chef, this was a dream. We grilled sausages and rolled pork stuffed with pancetta and herbs over the sage and rosemary and old wine vines we found growing on the property. Lovely tables under the Tuscan sun...THIS was our BEST evening!! You will find everything you need at the market on the round about on the entrance to San GImi. We took many day trips from here. Even one to The Chianti Road. Go to Certaldo to take the train to Florence. Do not forget to stop at the bakery right at the train station and get a Sfagliatelle. A wonderful clam shaped pastry with a ricotta filling. Really, one of the best pastries in the whole of Italy. All and all, I have nothing negative to say about Mormoraia. Only that it was hard to us to find the first time because it was dark. Arrive by light and enjoy!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

Mormoraia exceed expectations for their superb setting and amenities. Unfortunately during our stay, Vivianna, the hostess, was ill and not on the property. The remaining staff although eager to please is not fluent in any language but Italian which left us at a disadvantage. (My problem for not being more fluent in Italian) The owner, Franca, who greeted us but left for Milan shortly after we arrived, gave us her personal phone number and email and assured us she could take care of us if we let her know our needs. Not having Vivianna on site to help us with local knowledge and itineraries, I am certain diminished the potential for this visit however we were not daunted and struck out on our own each day. There is much to see and do from here!

The property is beautiful! Grounds are immaculate and everything is well cared for. The pool is beautiful, although not useful during our stay in October. The outdoor spaces for relaxing, dining and cooking are fantastic and exceeded what we experienced at other Agriturismos. We had impromptu gatherings with other guest on the covered patio outside the reception area, great view of San Gimignano from here, and used the outdoor barbeque and pizza oven, with its own covered dining area, on other occasions.

Our apartment (Castagno) although comfortable, clean and adequate in every way, was cold during the period we were there. Could have benefited from some window treatments and rugs. The radiators just didn't seem to be able to overcome the chill from the typical stone construction during the cold snap that we experienced...

All in all I have to say that this is a very nice property that is particularly well suited for a family or group travelling together. We had the opportunity to see some of the other apartments and all were quite nice, especially the ground floor two bedroom.

I would recommend Mormoraia for whose wishing to enjoy the tranquility of the Tuscan countryside while remaining in close proximity to the many small towns and cultural sites that abound here.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

Stunning Tuscan countryside and vineyards surround Mormoraia. The views from the apartment was breathtaking. We (2 adults and 2 children aged 9 & 12) spent 2 fab weeks at Mormoraia. The large pool area was a big hit with the kids and parents alike - the cleanliness and grounds were immaculate. Vivianna was alway on hand if required and the overall ambience at Mormoraia was refined luxury and efficiency. The outside eating area with the BBQ and Pizza oven was a big hit along with the superb wines direct from the vineyard. As a base for exploring the area including Florence and Sienna it couldn't be better placed. San Gimignano was about 10 minutes in the car and ideal for dinner in the evening, a stroll around the town and ice creams in the square. This was perfect with the sun setting as during the day San Gimignano has its fair share of coached in day trippers. Mormoraia is perfect getaway place whether you want to use it as a base to tour around or simply read trashy books with a glass of wine. Bliss !!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tenuta Mormoraia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta Mormoraia

Address: Localita Sant'Andrea, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MORMORAIA in San Gimignano, set on the Chianti hills, was in ancient times a convent; nowadays it is an elegant Bed and Breakfast in a panoramic position of rare beauty in front of San Gimignano’s medieval towers. Holidays in Tuscany can be spent on Mormoraia’s farmhouse, the ideal place for a delightful and relaxing stay in one of the most charming and interesting settings as far as history and art concerns.Mormoraia gives hospitality in nice apartments and double rooms with private bathroom on a B&B basis.The vineyards and olive groves surrounding the farmhouse produce high quality wines and extra-virgin olive oil, which are among the most valued and appreciated worldwide.The farmhouse in San Gimignano is equipped with a large swimming-pool with Jacuzzi corner, which lies next to the portico with a panoramic view over San Gimignano’ medieval towers, a special place for an aperitif with the excellent wines produced by Mormoraia at disposal of guests staying in the apartments and rooms. The barbecue and wood oven in the huge garden are perfect for lunches and dinners in the sign of nature.The tasting of Vernaccia of San Gimignano wine, of the other wines and extra-virgin olive oil, accompained by Tuscan culinary specialities, take place in the wine shop, where products are also on sale, or on the lovely terrace which offers a superb view of San Gimignano’s medieval towers.Guests can enjoy unforgettable walks, mountain biking or horseback riding through the woods and trails to reach the lake, where you can fish. Within walking distance are stables for horse riding, tennis courts and golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Tenuta Mormoraia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Mormoraia San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenuta Mormoraia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.