We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tuscany holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tenuta Mormoraia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tenuta Mormoraia to your Saves list
Tenuta Mormoraia
Localita Sant'Andrea, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 63 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
St Austell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“tuscany holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

apartment was in beautiful location, fantastic views of San Gimignano, staff excellent, very helpful, also own vineyard with superb wines!!! to be recommended.

Room Tip: ground floor would be better, so you can sit outside for meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    29
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
29
67
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2hounddogs
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We found Mormoraia by accident as we were driving from San Gimignano looking for a place to buy wine and olive oil. We pulled in to ask about the tasting, but when we saw the setting we knew we had to try to get a room there. The place is absolutely gorgeous and Alessandra and the rest of the staff were so friendly and helpful. The night we were there they were offering a wine tasting and it was such a great experience getting to meet the other guests. We had a really fun time. The wines were really good and the food that was included was really very nice as well. The rooms were nice and a good size and our room had a beautiful view over the vineyard. We all wished we would've found this place sooner. I'd definitely go back if I'm lucky enough to visit Tuscany again!

Room Tip: From what we could tell, they have regular rooms and also apartments. We had a regular room and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

A group of seven of us were on a wine tasting trip throughout the Tuscany area in May. With red wine being predominant in the area, we naturally wanted to taste the often overlooked wine Vernaccia di San Gimignano. Mormoraia is a perfect place to do this.

We received a warm reception, fantastic tour and explanation of the wine making process, and the tasting was wonderful. We enjoyed the wine and olive oil so much that we asked if we could purchase more and just relax and enjoy the beautiful views and settings. Although our hostess was not feeling very well (and we were a large and loud group), she said "yes" with a smile and apologized for her not being more gracious. The apology was unnecessary but greatly appreciated none the less.

All of us commented that this would be a great place to stay the next time we visit the area. There was nothing about the property or the staff that we did not enjoy.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We were lucky enough to have our wedding at La Mormoraia in May. It was the most beautiful setting and we found the staff and facilities friendly and very comfortable.

In the leadup to our visit Laura spent a huge amount of time organising our wedding, rooms for guests and catering (wine and food) requirements and did a fabulous job and on arrival the onsite staff, Francesca and Gilberto went out of their way to make sure our guests were well looked after!

No task seemed too hard for Francesca and Gilberto who helped us get the pizza oven ready for our guests after hours, took the time to offer advice on restaurants, wine and places in the area to visit, Gilberto even offered his own flower pots to decorate tables at our wedding. It was a very special family affair and by the end of our two weeks the Mormoraia team had all became part of our family.

We would highly recommend this venue to anyone wanting a relaxed Tuscan experience. We had an unforgettable time and can't wait to go back!

Thanks again Laura, Francesca and Gilberto!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

This place is a really stunning estate. A very authentic and clean upper class location in one of the most beautiful regions in Tuscany. The staff is warm and hearty. Grazie Francesca and Gilberto for the nice BBQ night. To sum it up: very recommendable! And whenever we choose Tuscany again as a holiday destination, we will come back.

(Period of stay: 7 days in August 2011)
(Room: 1st floor in guesthouse)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Mormoraia is a beautiful place, located in the valley of San Gimignano, Italy. They produce their own red-, white wine and olive oil. The location is just fabulous, dreamlike and more then worth the visit. They came highly recommended by GeoSeason 2010, a famous German magazine. The wines they produce and sell are very good and we bought so much we could transport home.
From the breakfast table you have a direct view on San Gimignano, a popular and very touristic town. The breakfast for itself is a bit sad, and could be richer. They have yoghurt, muesli, homemade cake, ready baked baguette and juice. It degraded during our stay there, so we clearly felt that the season is over and they didn't invest in our breakfast as much as they would probably normally do.
The roofs of the wine cellars are covered with solar panels, which I think is great. For the amount of sunlight and sun hours, you see far to little solar powered buildings here in Italy. That Mormoraia embraces this effective and senseful technology is respectable.

On the downside, and I'm really sad having to say this, they have some reasonable issues. IMHO they need to change some things fast;
- They have a bad case of humidity in the rooms. The worst case is in the main buildings below at the reception. You see this and most of all, you smell it. This seems to be common in Italy, but it's fixable. We changed our room because of this and are now on the hill, looking down at the main building and the pool. At first we had an unpleasant smell though, but daily ventilating helped.
- The rooms need airco, this also prevents a large part of the humidity. And in some of the hot nights you just want a bit of coolness.
- The bathrooms clearly need to be renovated. I can't tell how old they really are, but they've past the point of no return some time ago.
- For the standard they present they have to much Ikea stuff for my taste. From bathroom furniture, to lamps and wall decoration, this just didn't fit for me.

PS: Thanks a lot to Francesca. She welcomed and took care of us with all her heart. So friendly and helpful, you just gotta love her. ;-)

Room Tip: Rooms on the hill, looking down on the pool. The room to the back has a great view on San Gimignano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

(Firstly, Tenuta is not a hotel. It offers Bed & breakfast in apartments or self-catering.) This was my 2nd visit to Tenuta and we will be returning many times in future. 5 years ago we visited with our kids and had a great weeks holiday. The pool was brand new then and a real hit for all the family. This time just my wife and I for a few days, following a short break visiting Lucca & Florence. Much though we love these beautiful cities, it was the incentive of a return to San Gimignano and Tenuta Mormoraia that we looked forward to most. It was striking to me that there had been absolutely no signs of ageing in the intervening 5 years. The place was in fine order and clearly well managed. From the friendly receptionist Laura, and owner Franca, to the bubbly warmth of Francesca's welcome, we found the staff uniformily helpful. All the people we spoke to were clearly enjoying it just as much. The property has the most wonderful view of San Gimignano and its 5 mins to get to the town for evening meals (it's very busy in the day). I note that some people have given this property one star. That is not only laughable but extremely unfair. Let me say that I am a person who normally never goes back to a place twice. Tenuta Mormoraia is my exception to the rule - it's special, trust me. Go and absorb the wonderful setting and facilities, and let the place relax your mind and body.

Room Tip: write an email to the website. There are 10 rooms to choose from, all sizes
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tenuta Mormoraia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta Mormoraia

Address: Localita Sant'Andrea, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MORMORAIA in San Gimignano, set on the Chianti hills, was in ancient times a convent; nowadays it is an elegant Bed and Breakfast in a panoramic position of rare beauty in front of San Gimignano’s medieval towers. Holidays in Tuscany can be spent on Mormoraia’s farmhouse, the ideal place for a delightful and relaxing stay in one of the most charming and interesting settings as far as history and art concerns.Mormoraia gives hospitality in nice apartments and double rooms with private bathroom on a B&B basis.The vineyards and olive groves surrounding the farmhouse produce high quality wines and extra-virgin olive oil, which are among the most valued and appreciated worldwide.The farmhouse in San Gimignano is equipped with a large swimming-pool with Jacuzzi corner, which lies next to the portico with a panoramic view over San Gimignano’ medieval towers, a special place for an aperitif with the excellent wines produced by Mormoraia at disposal of guests staying in the apartments and rooms. The barbecue and wood oven in the huge garden are perfect for lunches and dinners in the sign of nature.The tasting of Vernaccia of San Gimignano wine, of the other wines and extra-virgin olive oil, accompained by Tuscan culinary specialities, take place in the wine shop, where products are also on sale, or on the lovely terrace which offers a superb view of San Gimignano’s medieval towers.Guests can enjoy unforgettable walks, mountain biking or horseback riding through the woods and trails to reach the lake, where you can fish. Within walking distance are stables for horse riding, tennis courts and golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tenuta Mormoraia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Mormoraia San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenuta Mormoraia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.