We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing B & B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fornace di Racciano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Fornace di Racciano to your Saves list
La Fornace di Racciano
San Gimignano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Jamestown
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing B & B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed in this wonderful bed and breakfast for a week while visiting Tuscany. The breakfast and the accommodations are truly 5 star. Loved coming back to La Fornace after a long day of sightseeing to a wonderful pool while being served by the owner Cristiano local wines and cheeses. A real slice of heaven.

If you're looking for a place that is centrally located, close to Pisa, Florence, Volterra, & Sienna, than look no further. You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
41
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We are a young married couple that recently got back from an amazing stay at La Fornace Di Racciano. This quiet and spacious farmhouse sits on a hill overlooking the landscapes of Tuscany and the hill town of San Gimignano. The hosts are the most gracious that we have experienced at any place that we have ever stayed. Our apartment was very clean, comfortable, and offered a kitchen to cook any local foods that we were interested in. One of our favorite experiences there was the breakfast consisting of meats, cheeses, pastries, and much more all from the area of San Gimignano. The olive oil was so fresh that we couldn't get enough of it along with the exceptional cappuccinos offered to us both in the mornings and evenings. The farmhouse is situated in a perfect location to see all of Tuscany. We travel modestly and the price to stay there is so affordable! We felt right at home and will definitely be back someday soon. We highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

stayed here for a week last summer as part of a tour of Tuscany and would have loved to have stayed longer. The accommodation is spotless and there always seemed to be cleaning going on. Breakfast is excellent with coffees loving prepared by the owner. Pool is small but clean and the views are to die for you feel you are in the real Tuscany. the town of San Gimignano is a few minutes drive away where you can find many shops restaurants bars ect it always seemed to be busy with a very calm family atmosphere . Food here was very reasonable and of a high standard The owners will do anything to make your stay memorable even got me some fresh truffles on my last day to take home . book with confidence and recommended as long as you are able to drive as taxis are not readily available and are very expensive.

Room Tip: the rooms behind reception have access to a small private garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

As with all beautiful residences in Tuscany getting there is the challenge .
La Fornace di Racciano is only a short drive on the outskirts of San gimignano with a very peaceful view over the valley.room was just right with lots of space,breakfast typical European with sweets and cold cuts just how like .stayed only one night but would have lingered longer if we had the time. San G.was a great place to explore and soak up the history as you walked through the towns cobble streets.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a typical tuscan farmhouse, although it is just a B&B today (not agriturismo). We stayed in the apartment which was in some disrepair. There were windows missing screens or screens that had big holes in them. There was a dishwasher but it did not work which the manager seemed to be aware of already, which isn't that big of a deal but there was nothing to clean dishes with by hand (had to ask for it). Also, was lacking some other basic supplies, no garbage bags for the trash, ran out of toilet paper the first day, no dish soap. Things I would assume to be pretty standard based on stays at other apartments throughout Italy.

That said, the breakfast was quite good (I only ate it one morning) and the manager makes what could possibly be the best cappuccino I've ever had. The staff were friendly and accommodating whenever you needed something.

There is a nice pool although we didn't use it.

The surroundings are fairly quiet, although there were a lot of tractors in the area as it was harvest time (to be expected). There is a nice little restaurant just 100 meters away. Food and service was good there; we went twice.

Location is fantastic. Beautiful views of San Gimignano and the surrounding area and it is only about 3 km from S.G. historic center, not really walkable but a short drive in the car.

This isn't the best place I've stayed in Tuscany, but was adequate for the price which I felt was quite reasonable.

Room Tip: The apartment does not inlcude breakfast, so if you don't plan to make your own breakfast each d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Tuscany is a great place to hang out if you are a wine lover and a traveler looking for something authentic. La Fornace is quite close to San Gimignano aprox. two km. and is situated in a fairly secluded beautiful area. Cristiano Boldrini the caretaker is kind and always helpful and supplies the best espresso and breakfast I have ever had in a B&B situation. There is a swimming pool and the rooms are solid and quiet. I was travelling with my in-laws and we stayed aprox. five nights and had a great time. Totally five stars and the wine provided for a small fee is extremely good quality. Cheers Clint

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Very nice place, nice surroundings. We stayed 1 night at this place ! what a nice place to wake up to. the breakfast was awesome, very nice spread of food ! Christiano was very very nice and friendly. wifi was fast. Room was clean, we even had an iron for us due to our request !

Do remember to key in the GPS coordinates into ur GPS when u are looking for the place. we got lost because we keyed in the postal code. THumbs up to La Fornace !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fornace di Racciano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fornace di Racciano

Address: San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 101 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Fornace di Racciano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fornace Di Racciano San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fornace di Racciano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.