We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Fornace di Racciano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added La Fornace di Racciano to your Saves list
La Fornace di Racciano
Localita Racciano 6, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Gambier, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

As with all beautiful residences in Tuscany getting there is the challenge .
La Fornace di Racciano is only a short drive on the outskirts of San gimignano with a very peaceful view over the valley.room was just right with lots of space,breakfast typical European with sweets and cold cuts just how like .stayed only one night but would have lingered longer if we had the time. San G.was a great place to explore and soak up the history as you walked through the towns cobble streets.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, CO
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a typical tuscan farmhouse, although it is just a B&B today (not agriturismo). We stayed in the apartment which was in some disrepair. There were windows missing screens or screens that had big holes in them. There was a dishwasher but it did not work which the manager seemed to be aware of already, which isn't that big of a deal but there was nothing to clean dishes with by hand (had to ask for it). Also, was lacking some other basic supplies, no garbage bags for the trash, ran out of toilet paper the first day, no dish soap. Things I would assume to be pretty standard based on stays at other apartments throughout Italy.

That said, the breakfast was quite good (I only ate it one morning) and the manager makes what could possibly be the best cappuccino I've ever had. The staff were friendly and accommodating whenever you needed something.

There is a nice pool although we didn't use it.

The surroundings are fairly quiet, although there were a lot of tractors in the area as it was harvest time (to be expected). There is a nice little restaurant just 100 meters away. Food and service was good there; we went twice.

Location is fantastic. Beautiful views of San Gimignano and the surrounding area and it is only about 3 km from S.G. historic center, not really walkable but a short drive in the car.

This isn't the best place I've stayed in Tuscany, but was adequate for the price which I felt was quite reasonable.

Room Tip: The apartment does not inlcude breakfast, so if you don't plan to make your own breakfast each d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Tuscany is a great place to hang out if you are a wine lover and a traveler looking for something authentic. La Fornace is quite close to San Gimignano aprox. two km. and is situated in a fairly secluded beautiful area. Cristiano Boldrini the caretaker is kind and always helpful and supplies the best espresso and breakfast I have ever had in a B&B situation. There is a swimming pool and the rooms are solid and quiet. I was travelling with my in-laws and we stayed aprox. five nights and had a great time. Totally five stars and the wine provided for a small fee is extremely good quality. Cheers Clint

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Very nice place, nice surroundings. We stayed 1 night at this place ! what a nice place to wake up to. the breakfast was awesome, very nice spread of food ! Christiano was very very nice and friendly. wifi was fast. Room was clean, we even had an iron for us due to our request !

Do remember to key in the GPS coordinates into ur GPS when u are looking for the place. we got lost because we keyed in the postal code. THumbs up to La Fornace !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We spent a couple of days in this typical tuscan house, Nice views. Quite quiet place, owners are a very kind young couple. Not far from S.Gimignano, there is a nearby trattoria where it is possible to have dinner

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed already for the third time in this lovely small hotel. It provides very quiet and friendly atmosphere, breakfasts with local products, very nice swimming pool and spacy appartments. It is surrounded by vineyards and provides excellent view of San Gimignano panorama. There is a beautiful garden restaurant within 300m. We fully recommend it.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The old farmhouse is at 2.5km from San Gimignano. First of all, you need a car in order to arrive here and to visit the area. On the website of the B&B you have a very good map on how to reach the place.
It is situated on a hill in an area full of olive trees and vineyards. Christiano, the owner, told me that they produce their own olive oil and their wine(i bought a bottle, the brand is Cesani). It is a quiet place where you can have a 10+ sleep quality and when you'll wake up you'll hear the birds singing. We had the Pino Apartment with a full equipped kitchen but we also had in some days breakfast in the hall where you have a magnificent view to San Gimignano. Breakfast: salami, home made bread, olive oil, cereals, italian cakes, croissant etc. in case you don't want to go far, at 50m there is the Trattoria "Borgo di Racciano" where you can have lunch or dinner. We tested and it was very ok. We loved to stay in this old farmhouse - nobody to bother you, peace and quiet, a very nice area and the pool(this one we'll do next time, now it was very cold). San Gimignano is situated at 2.5km and in the other direction Volterra(approx 20km). My recommendation is to visit both of them. Christiano the owner can gladly help you with what you need. The main gate is closed at night but you'll have the key if you want to go in and out. A supermarket is in San Gimignano(a COOP) and 15km there is a PAM(in Poggibonsi). Take into account that all of them usually close at 20pm.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pino Studio and it was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Fornace di Racciano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fornace di Racciano

Address: Localita Racciano 6, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 103 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your La Fornace di Racciano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fornace Di Racciano San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fornace di Racciano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.