We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect quiet Mountain getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fornace di Racciano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added La Fornace di Racciano to your Saves list
La Fornace di Racciano
Localita Racciano 6, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
BC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect quiet Mountain getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Tuscany is a great place to hang out if you are a wine lover and a traveler looking for something authentic. La Fornace is quite close to San Gimignano aprox. two km. and is situated in a fairly secluded beautiful area. Cristiano Boldrini the caretaker is kind and always helpful and supplies the best espresso and breakfast I have ever had in a B&B situation. There is a swimming pool and the rooms are solid and quiet. I was travelling with my in-laws and we stayed aprox. five nights and had a great time. Totally five stars and the wine provided for a small fee is extremely good quality. Cheers Clint

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    21
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
47
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Very nice place, nice surroundings. We stayed 1 night at this place ! what a nice place to wake up to. the breakfast was awesome, very nice spread of food ! Christiano was very very nice and friendly. wifi was fast. Room was clean, we even had an iron for us due to our request !

Do remember to key in the GPS coordinates into ur GPS when u are looking for the place. we got lost because we keyed in the postal code. THumbs up to La Fornace !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We spent a couple of days in this typical tuscan house, Nice views. Quite quiet place, owners are a very kind young couple. Not far from S.Gimignano, there is a nearby trattoria where it is possible to have dinner

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed already for the third time in this lovely small hotel. It provides very quiet and friendly atmosphere, breakfasts with local products, very nice swimming pool and spacy appartments. It is surrounded by vineyards and provides excellent view of San Gimignano panorama. There is a beautiful garden restaurant within 300m. We fully recommend it.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The old farmhouse is at 2.5km from San Gimignano. First of all, you need a car in order to arrive here and to visit the area. On the website of the B&B you have a very good map on how to reach the place.
It is situated on a hill in an area full of olive trees and vineyards. Christiano, the owner, told me that they produce their own olive oil and their wine(i bought a bottle, the brand is Cesani). It is a quiet place where you can have a 10+ sleep quality and when you'll wake up you'll hear the birds singing. We had the Pino Apartment with a full equipped kitchen but we also had in some days breakfast in the hall where you have a magnificent view to San Gimignano. Breakfast: salami, home made bread, olive oil, cereals, italian cakes, croissant etc. in case you don't want to go far, at 50m there is the Trattoria "Borgo di Racciano" where you can have lunch or dinner. We tested and it was very ok. We loved to stay in this old farmhouse - nobody to bother you, peace and quiet, a very nice area and the pool(this one we'll do next time, now it was very cold). San Gimignano is situated at 2.5km and in the other direction Volterra(approx 20km). My recommendation is to visit both of them. Christiano the owner can gladly help you with what you need. The main gate is closed at night but you'll have the key if you want to go in and out. A supermarket is in San Gimignano(a COOP) and 15km there is a PAM(in Poggibonsi). Take into account that all of them usually close at 20pm.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pino Studio and it was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at this pretty farmhouse in August 2012. The owner, his family and staff were very friendly. They served a nice continental breakfast and we found the price for our room very reasonable (only about 75 Euros per day) The apartment had a small lounge area, comfortable bed and was very well equiped with air con and a kitchenette which we used for lunch and breakfast on some days.

I'd definitely recommend this accomodation for couples and families for a relaxing, authentic, sight seeing holiday. Great location, only a few minutes drive to the centre of San Gimignano. We went to some great restaurants nearby and really enjoyed the wandering the town in the evening. A great location for visiting Florence and Sienna by car or train.

Lovely swimming pool area with big gazebo, pretty gardens with beautiful views of vine yards and San Gimignano's towers. Very hot in August, approx 30 degrees but so beautiful to drive about and explore the countryside.

Cheap supermarket is about 10 minutes drive near the town of Poggisbonsi. There is one in San Gimignano but its twice the price because of the tourists!

Easy to book this place through their website and good correspondance with the owner via emails. Thank you for a great holiday Cristiano, family and Bridgitte :)

We hope to return soon x

Room Tip: We stayed in the apartment rosa and it was great for two people
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

We loved the farmhouse. It was spacious and clean. It overlooked the hills of Tuscany. Amzaing!!! The pool was nice to unwind. San Gimignano was a nice little middle ages town. Some reviews of the town said it was flooded with tourism. I honestly thought the town was well preserved and not over crowded. It was closed to cars so the kids could run freely through the narrow streets.
The caretaker at the farmhouse was so helpful and hospitable. They served a modest continental breakfast for 7euro pp./a fair price. They sold his own EVOO. He also sold wines from his friends wine orchards. 6euro a bottle was a nice price. All in all this was a lovely stay and good value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Fornace di Racciano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fornace di Racciano

Address: Localita Racciano 6, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 104 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your La Fornace di Racciano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fornace Di Racciano San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fornace di Racciano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.