We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil with amazing views and only 2km to San Gimignano” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Il Castagnolino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Agriturismo Il Castagnolino to your Saves list
Agriturismo Il Castagnolino
Loc Pancole 34, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tranquil with amazing views and only 2km to San Gimignano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed for one night during an eight night trip in Tuscany. It was beautiful you relax the moment you drive through the gates and down the drive to this beautiful farmhouse. We were there in late October but had fantastic weather. We had a very nice room, the bathroom was small but perfectly adequate. We had breakfast on the terrace and Carmella had made yoghurt, cakes, jams and marmalades. On the morning we left we had a walk around the grounds there were the most fantastic views of San Gimignano and the Tuscan countryside.
They were just starting to pick the olives from their 600 trees. A memorable stay we would love to go back maybe in the summer to enjoy the pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    39
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
79
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

I was there with my family and we all loved it! Giovanni and her husband are so sweet and friendly, we loved their food. She also help us book a visit and vine tasting at Cesani vineyard. The rooms are beautiful and cosy and the view over Chianti district is stunning.
We also bought their own Oliveoil and Saffron, it tastes wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Views over the Tuscan hills around San Gimingano and the pool make this place excellent value. We initially found the room a bit dark (note: not all of them have air-con, though we were there in early July and the ceiling fan was sufficient), though Carmella was kind enough to switch our room after one night. The hosts were so welcoming, and you MUST eat there for dinner.

Room Tip: Specify that you want air-con if it is essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We just came back from a week's stay in Il Castagnolino. It was hard to leave such a wonderful place. Marcela and Ivan are very kind hosts and did everything possible to make our stay agreeable. We immediately felt at home. The agriturismo is very restful (the noise is mostly from crickets and bees). The views are beautiful and the food is delicious.The rooms offer all you need (no TV but then who needs one).
San Gimignano is about 3 to 4 km away. You do need a car to get around preferably with GPS. Our favourite restaurant in S.G. was "Le Vecchie Mura". San Gimignano itself is a little treasure. Nearby Certaldo and Colle di Val d'Elsa are certainly worth a visit.
Thank you Carmela and Ivan for giving us a taste of the real Tuscany.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed at Castagnolino for 3 nights and absolutely loved it (80e per night for 2persons)! It already starts when you enter the place through a prestigeous gate and you slowly drive down to the agriturosmo between the high Toscan 'cipresses'. It is located just outside san gimignano (5 minute drive) on a hill so you have a wonderful view over the toscany landscape. They have a nice terrace with tables where, with good weather, you can have the wonderfull breakfast they serve. You can choose between cereals, bread, toast, jam, yoghurt, tea, coffee, cappuccino and always two kinds of cakes (sweet and 'salty'). A good delight! The rooms are spacious, clean, nice bathrooms and two windows for enough light and fresh air. You can easily relax for a half or full day along the small swimmingpool in the relaxing chairs or at the table, either in the shadow or in the sun!
The hosts are very kind and helpfull and they also serve a home made 4-courses-dinner when you let them know in the morning (in high speed tempo ;-)) for 25E pp excl wine.
When you are in for wine tasting, place are closeby in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venray, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

This is a nice agriturismo, with kind people who make you feel welcome. Rooms are simple and clean. It's only a short distance to the centre of San Gimignano (but you need to go there by car). You have a very nice view. There's a possibility to have dinner at the agriturismo, which we would like to recommend. We enjoyed the very good Tuscany food and wine!
If we come back in Italy we would love to stay at Il Castagnolino again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, Mississippi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

In October, nine Americans spent four wonderful days here. We ate every dinner with not one complaint. We have never seen two people work harder and with the utmost of care, Carmela and Ivan were true host. This is a true Tuscan experience, not to be confused with some movie form of it. I would not select Castagnolia if you are looking for cheap, even though it is moderately priced....in fact, I think the price is a bit low for the quality of room and attention the guest recieves. yes, bring your own soap or buy some soap made on the grounds.
Take a deep breath, relax, have some wine and enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agriturismo Il Castagnolino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Il Castagnolino

Address: Loc Pancole 34, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 101 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For your holiday in Tuscany, Il Castagnolino farmhouse offers you an unforgettable stay: rooms with fine furniture, outside swimming pool, wellness treatments (shiatsu, plantar reflexology, restoring your energetic balance with Reiki), breakfast &aromatic & medicinal dinner with natural and bio-food from our vegetable garden and Tuscany specialities.Il Castagnolino biological farmhouse is located in the heart of Tuscany, only two km far from San Gimignano, from there you can easily reach the most beautiful cities of art: Florence, Siena, Pisa, Lucca and Volterra. "Il Castagnolino" is also a bio-farm where we produce extra-virgin olive oil and organic saffron from San Gimignano Protected Destination of Origin, we grow aromatic & medicinal plants and the Certaldo Onion, a Slow Food Presidium. We produce Jams and marmalades with our fruits and vegetables ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Agriturismo Il Castagnolino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Il Castagnolino San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Il Castagnolino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.