We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a value for money and impressions” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Esperia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Esperia to your Saves list
Hotel Esperia
Via Lungomare Marconi, 27, 57027 Piombino, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Piombino
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Not a value for money and impressions”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Poor hotel with a long history, standing more then 1,5 km from the city centre and near 3 km from the ferry terminal to Elba. Not a value for money and impressions. Smelling rooms, noisy air-conditioner and sleepy staff. And absolutely unreasonable price! The only positive thing is a private 20 meters beach.

Room Tip: Not a reason to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    20
    16
    5
    9
See reviews for
8
31
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The view from the balcony was very nice, but the room smelled like bad men's cologne and the shower had very little pressure. Breakfast did not have a huge assortment and fruit was left from one day to the next. (I saw the same mushy kiwi in the bowl 3 days.) The evening staff woman was nice and helpful and spoke English well. The morning/daytime woman at reception, was not very friendly. Walking into town is 5-10 minutes, so that is not too bad. The "private beach" sells chairs to other people, so it is not so private.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Rooms were nice and clean and overlooked the Mediterranean Sea. Caterina was great!!! She helped us, not only with meal selection, but with helping us get back to the train. The restaurant deck was overlooking the sea and Elba island. Gorgeous views. In their restuarant the food was fantastic! Had the best tuna ever. Good place to have a down day away from the bustle. We had a 20 yr old, 52 yr old and a 73 yr old and we all had a great time.

Room Tip: Take the taxi from the train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verbier, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were met with the smell cigarettes at reception and on a closer look we realised the very rude woman on reception was indeed smoking! The hotel is old and dated and very overpriced when I think of some of the other places we stayed at in Italy for the same price. I should be fair and mention the girl who we came into contact at breakfast who actually seemed to do everything, she was lovely, spoke amazing English and was very helpful. That's all about I can add. If you're staying in Piombino to get the ferry to Elba, don't, just go straight there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornville, AZ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This hotel is situated on a cliff overlooking the sea. You enter at parking (street) level and take the ocean-view glass elevator down to reception/dining where you are greeted by the nicest staff and owner we've found so far. Catarina speaks 3 languages (Italian, excellent English and some German) and she is so helpful and friendly! The room we had is large and comfortable with 2 twin beds, a mini refrigerator and an ocean view balcony. The food in the restaurant is quite good with prices that are very competitive with restaurants in town. It's about a 15-20 minute to the historical center, but you do need a cab or car to get to/from train station or the port. We came for 1 night and stayed 4. I want to come back someday for sure!

Room Tip: We had 2 twins (very comfortable) for me and my daughter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel. The views are BEAUTIFUL!! The staff is great and most of them speak English well. Those that do not, are very helpful trying to figure out what we were trying to say. (We were in another country so of course we do not expect everyone to speak English) Lots of fun using our English-Italian dictionary. Family atmosphere. Breakfast was the typical Italian breakfast at a moderately priced hotel. My only complaint was that we could hear people talking in the room next to us. I would definitely stay at this hotel again! Great value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Lodged at the hotel for three days in the first half of sept 2012, in a double room single use (no. 59). The access to the hotel is froma little park by the mean of a panoramic but terrible hot lift. The location of the hotel is wonderful, on the sea in front of isola d'Elba. Wifi is free. Room big, but cold. Style: old and not curate (however is a three star). The restaurant is at the floor -3, the panorama is really amazing but both the food and the service is slighty poor (i am Italian nationality). The forniture is quite old and full of plastic flowers. Wifi free in all the hotel. The access to the beach is direct from the lift at floor 0. The room was found in order and clean, the room forniture is quite old. Breakfast, fresh croissant ... But generally poor. All the room are serviced by air condition system well working. More than accettable the bathroom arrangement. Hotel summary: positive and not so expensive, food just sufficient, personnel kindness sufficient, location 6 stars. Enjoy!

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Esperia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esperia

Address: Via Lungomare Marconi, 27, 57027 Piombino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Piombino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Piombino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Esperia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Esperia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.