We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good For A Night, Maybe Two” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cecile

Hotel Cecile
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cecile to your Saves list
Hotel Cecile
Via Alessandro Volta, 17, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 80 Hotels in Pisa
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good For A Night, Maybe Two”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Great location from the main sight - the leaning tower! We had been to Pisa before so we were not sight seeing and we purely just needed someone to stay after our flight in and before our train out towards the Cinque Terre region in the morning. This hotel was fine for that! It was a bit better than I had expected after reading some of the reviews. Room was an average size, there was plenty of storage - nice view of a street and a wall, but we did not expect much in regards to views anyway.

The owner doesn't speak a lot of English, and not that you would expect them to but we still managed to understand each other through gestures and the odd word. We were shown how to use the door to get in and then given the key to our room.

I didn't sleep too well, the bed wasn't that comfy and could have done with more pillows. Breakfast wasn't included either! But we saw to that by going to one of the cafes and having a coffee and a pastry next to the leaning tower so that suited us!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    13
    23
    21
    12
See reviews for
9
36
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

On arrival we didn't even receive a 'hello' from the man working on the front desk. We were grunted at and told to go upstairs to our room. You are expected to pay for the use of towels in the hotel and air con is not going to happen here.

Despite this, it is within walking distance to the main areas of Pisa. However, this is unsurprising given the small size of the town itself.

Put simply, don't stay here if you want a pleasant stay and a good night's sleep in Pisa.

Room Tip: There are none!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Pros: The hotel was clean. It is very close to the Leaning Tower.
Cons: Although the information and booking says air conditioned rooms, ours only had a ceiling fan (Room 24) - this meant we had to try and sleep with the windows wide open and constant noise from the street, including a 2am dog fight.
As we'd been in the Tuscan countryside, we had a hire car which we had mentioned in advance when booking. We'd booked this hotel because of its proximity to the tower and it had parking for guests. We found the entrance to the hotel easily enough, and discovered the sign to their parking directs you down a one way street, that should be entered from the other end. We spent two hours trying to access the other end of the street, but no matter what way we tried, we found we couldn't get there due to the TZL in Pisa. After 2 hours of driving around we stopped at the front of the hotel and went into reception to ask how to get to the parking because our Garmin was all out of ideas. The reception staffs' limited English did not include the work 'parking' and when we said Parcheggio the response was "No. Do not try speak Italian". Still, parcheggio did the trick and we were told to check for the presence of police, and drive the wrong way down the one way street until we reached the parking entrance.
At check in we were given a key to an external door which we were told to use between midnight and 7am when reception was not manned. This lead to us being yelled at by a cleaner at 1pm for not using our key to the enter the hotel and pressing the buzzer instead.
There are no lifts so you will have to carry your luggage up flights of stairs to your room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We spend in Cecile amazing 4 days. Hotel is very clean, tidy and quiet! Our room and bathroom were perfectly clean, well set-up, there were clean towels and bathroom cosmetics! Bed and mattress very comfortable. Every day after breakfast we found changed new towels and bed in our room. It really surprised us. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel is about 3-4 minutes by walk from Leaning tower, 15 minutes by walk from train station, about 5 km from airport. Around Cecile hotel we found wide range of cafes, restaurants, clubs and supermarkets. Free wi-fi in all hotel. We had big balcony with table and chairs and lovely view, where we were eating our perfect italian breakfast :) TV in a room had a lot of channels. Please dont expect that in Pisa everybody speak in english. It was really difficult to find a waitress, seller or other service personnel speaking well in english :)

Room Tip: Room with private bathroom is perfect for price and hotel's star rating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We found Hotel Cecile after it was recommended to us by a local. We had planned on staying at a different hotel (Relais Under the Tower) but on arrival there we left straight away!! Hotel Cecile fortunately had a room spare for us and the lady on the front desk spoke a small amount of English and was very helpful. The rooms were simple but very clean and the shared bathroom was very clean also. Free WiFi is available, however it does not reach to the rooms on the second floor where we were so we had to go downstairs to use it. The owners provide an additional key to get in if you are out until after midnight and were happy to recommend somewhere nice to eat locally. Check out is at 11am, however they are happy to look after your bags if you want to go off and sight-see before leaving Pisa. Would recommend this hotel to anyone needing a short stay in Pisa. PS...the famous leaning tower is a 2minute walk from the hotel and for only 50 euros a night per room I would definitely recommend stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Got caught on a late flight into Pisa that was delayed and had to scrounge for a local hotel on arrival. The first hotel with en-suite facilities available from the airport self-help map interfaced-thing was Hotel Cecile, in the “Old Part” of Pisa.

This facility is located on the corner of Via Roma and Via Alesandro Volta (43°43'6.46"N; 10°23'43.60"E) and not as wrongly indicated on Googlemaps/Earth.

Not much to say about this ‘joint’. It is truly in the old part of town, about two blocks south of The Tower. It is also located on a very, very noisy road - Via Roma - that just does not go to sleep on a Friday night. It seemed as if all the clubbers parked their cars just below my room window.

The hotel is probably as old as the Old Part of Town itself. A wide steep staircase takes you up to a seedy passage from where you enter your room – most of them onto Via Roma.

The rooms are small. A small ceiling fan just-just get some air to circulate in the stifling heat of an Italian Summer. Not much of an audio-difference between an open or closed single pane glass window – except that the smells also get to you, with the noise, when open.

No water in the room, no mini-bar. There is a TV but no remote and no way of switching it on without a remote.

The two single beds with lumpy mattresses and really worn-out pillows have clean sheets and threadbare covers. I managed to find an old blanket in a cupboard drawer. This helped later at night when it eventually cooled down a bit.

The bathroom with a shower, a basin, toilet and bidet is small but functional. The amenities in little plastic sachets served its purpose.

The staff was helpful. Breakfast was not included but with so many options just around the corner it didn’t bother.

This is probably a good choice as a quick stay-over for a person traveling on a budget. Or as a backpacker’s camping site. The fee I had to fork out however made for a grudge payment.

It is really well located and if you know what you are in for, not expecting too much, have a sense of humour and love to stay up really late this can just work.

Will I stay there again – not if I can help it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the "back" of the hotel, away from Via Roma. Also, try to get some h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We read the reviews before we went and our expectations weren't high! We stayed here for one night on a weekend break in may 2012.
The hotel is easy to find, and there is loads of on street parking right outside. The parking costs are €1.25 an hour, and you can buy as many hours as you need on a day by day basis. As we arrived on Saturday, we only had to pay up until Saturday 8pm, and Sundays are free, so we only had to buy one ticket. There is a very small car park owned by the hotel, but no idea how you go about reserving a spot, or what the costs are, as the only person who seems to speak Italian on the staff is the lady owner, and if she's not around, it is a bit tricky asking the other guys on reception any questions, especially if like us, you are in the sorry situation of not being able to speak Italian!
Pisa is about a 4 minute walk, and there are cafes and restaurants around there, as you would expect.
We were given a key for the front door, so if you get home after midnight you can let yourself in.
Our room was basic, but clean, we requested an en-suite, which came with fluffy towels and the usual complementary soaps, shampoo etc. Our double bed was huge and comfy.
Sadly for us we got a glimpse of a room opposite ours, and realised that we could have had a balcony adorned with flowers had we only asked in advance, ah well, we'll know for next time.
All in all it was a great hotel, basic and old fashioned but clean and safe. Free wifi helped with the sight seeing, and patient staff helped wi the language barrier.
Our pug also stayed at the hotel with us, and the staff and owners didn't bat an eyelid, other than to give him a stroke on the way past.
All in all, a good little hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to a quiet room, with a balcony, on one of the lower floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cecile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cecile

Address: Via Alessandro Volta, 17, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 80 Hotels in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Cecile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cecile Hotel Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cecile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.