We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cecile oh Cecile” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cecile

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cecile to your Saves list
Hotel Cecile
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cecile
Via Alessandro Volta, 17, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 83 hotels in Pisa
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Cecile oh Cecile”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Got caught on a late flight into Pisa that was delayed and had to scrounge for a local hotel on arrival. The first hotel with en-suite facilities available from the airport self-help map interfaced-thing was Hotel Cecile, in the “Old Part” of Pisa.

This facility is located on the corner of Via Roma and Via Alesandro Volta (43°43'6.46"N; 10°23'43.60"E) and not as wrongly indicated on Googlemaps/Earth.

Not much to say about this ‘joint’. It is truly in the old part of town, about two blocks south of The Tower. It is also located on a very, very noisy road - Via Roma - that just does not go to sleep on a Friday night. It seemed as if all the clubbers parked their cars just below my room window.

The hotel is probably as old as the Old Part of Town itself. A wide steep staircase takes you up to a seedy passage from where you enter your room – most of them onto Via Roma.

The rooms are small. A small ceiling fan just-just get some air to circulate in the stifling heat of an Italian Summer. Not much of an audio-difference between an open or closed single pane glass window – except that the smells also get to you, with the noise, when open.

No water in the room, no mini-bar. There is a TV but no remote and no way of switching it on without a remote.

The two single beds with lumpy mattresses and really worn-out pillows have clean sheets and threadbare covers. I managed to find an old blanket in a cupboard drawer. This helped later at night when it eventually cooled down a bit.

The bathroom with a shower, a basin, toilet and bidet is small but functional. The amenities in little plastic sachets served its purpose.

The staff was helpful. Breakfast was not included but with so many options just around the corner it didn’t bother.

This is probably a good choice as a quick stay-over for a person traveling on a budget. Or as a backpacker’s camping site. The fee I had to fork out however made for a grudge payment.

It is really well located and if you know what you are in for, not expecting too much, have a sense of humour and love to stay up really late this can just work.

Will I stay there again – not if I can help it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the "back" of the hotel, away from Via Roma. Also, try to get some h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    13
    21
    17
    11
See reviews for
9
31
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We read the reviews before we went and our expectations weren't high! We stayed here for one night on a weekend break in may 2012.
The hotel is easy to find, and there is loads of on street parking right outside. The parking costs are €1.25 an hour, and you can buy as many hours as you need on a day by day basis. As we arrived on Saturday, we only had to pay up until Saturday 8pm, and Sundays are free, so we only had to buy one ticket. There is a very small car park owned by the hotel, but no idea how you go about reserving a spot, or what the costs are, as the only person who seems to speak Italian on the staff is the lady owner, and if she's not around, it is a bit tricky asking the other guys on reception any questions, especially if like us, you are in the sorry situation of not being able to speak Italian!
Pisa is about a 4 minute walk, and there are cafes and restaurants around there, as you would expect.
We were given a key for the front door, so if you get home after midnight you can let yourself in.
Our room was basic, but clean, we requested an en-suite, which came with fluffy towels and the usual complementary soaps, shampoo etc. Our double bed was huge and comfy.
Sadly for us we got a glimpse of a room opposite ours, and realised that we could have had a balcony adorned with flowers had we only asked in advance, ah well, we'll know for next time.
All in all it was a great hotel, basic and old fashioned but clean and safe. Free wifi helped with the sight seeing, and patient staff helped wi the language barrier.
Our pug also stayed at the hotel with us, and the staff and owners didn't bat an eyelid, other than to give him a stroke on the way past.
All in all, a good little hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to a quiet room, with a balcony, on one of the lower floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights at the beginning of May 2012. Having read reviews on trip advisor, I wasn't expecting a lot. We arrived and an oldish guy greeted us on reception with little English but it wasn't a problem as we bumbled along and got there in the end. We stayed on the second floor, paid extra to have a private bathroom. The room was clean and the bathroom a decent size. The room had air con, a balcony, a tv and even a bug plug. None of which were expected given the rating. The hotel was in the quiet part of Pisa, only 10 minutes walk from the train station and a short walk from the sights. All in all a a decent hotel for the amount we paid. No complaints at all. The hotel is small and how people expect there to be a lift is quite funny when there are only a few rooms and its probably an old building.

Room Tip: Room 26. Had a bathroom, balcony, tv and aircon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

On arival staff shouts at you - you are expected to pay on the evening of arrival - city tax in cash
Room was clean but furnished like a student dormatory and it smelled badly
Location close to the main attractions but at a very busy road - so very loud in the morning
On departure only willing to produce a receipt after insisting on it and staff again shouting at us
Luggage could not be left in a safe place but only the main corridor accessible for everybody
Not even a bargain compared to other hotels

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Stayed here for one night in Nov 2010.
Rooms are reminiscent of Soviet style hostel/hospital.
But on the upside it was good value and was in a good location.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kopervik , Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

The hotel is 200 meters from the leaning tower and shopping streets, that's the biggest + for this hotel.
We ordered a non-smoking room, and the first room we got was smelling of cigarette smoke.... Clearly someone had been smoking there less than an hour ago :(
But we got a new room.... The bathroom was so small that the sink was placed in the actual hotelroom, not the bathroom....
A lot of noice from the city at night, and the beds were extremely hard :(
The people working there could not speak a word english, and that was a bit difficult...
The owner was a bit grumpy, but the rest of the staff were smiling and helpful :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlentini, Italy
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011 via mobile

Is hotel is perfectly acceptable for the price and location. If you are looking for a destination hotel, skip it. If you are looking for clean and comfortable accomidations to sleep in while you explore Pisa and the surrounding area, this hotel is great. It is only about two or three blocks from the tower and duomo.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cecile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cecile

Address: Via Alessandro Volta, 17, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 83 hotels in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Cecile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cecile Hotel Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cecile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.