We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but glad it was for one night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cecile

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cecile to your Saves list
Hotel Cecile
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cecile
Via Alessandro Volta, 17, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 83 hotels in Pisa
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not bad, but glad it was for one night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Room didn't have air conditioning, but did have a ceiling fan and with windows open was cool enough. No private bathroom but did have a sink in the room and the communal bathroom seemed clean enough and functional though there was a dank smell. Room was clean and comfortable.

Too many steps with heavy bags for there to be no lift. Some of the staff spoke English, which was helpful, but on arrival our receptionist spoke none and with our limited Italian we were not sure if we were missing some valuable information from him.

Close to the tower and Duomo but some distance from train / bus station, though the area was quiet and seemed safe.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    13
    20
    17
    11
See reviews for
9
30
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

For what we paid, Hotel Cecile was absolutely fine but it is very basic. The location is great, we could see the cathedral (the impressive Cathedral of Our Lady situated right next to the tower) from our window and the tower was all of 5 minutes’ walk! There is parking outside the hotel but we arrived at 7 in the morning and the space wasn’t available until noon which meant we had to pay to park on the street and then come back and move the car (although this is probably my fault for not checking in advance!).

I have to say that we spent one day and one night in Pisa and that was more than enough. Once you’ve seen the tower (which costs about 30 Euros to go into) and the cathedral, there isn’t much else to do. There are some botanical gardens around the corner from the hotel which are supposedly quite old but as much as it was nice to walk around in the sun, we weren’t all that impressed. You can do day trips from various surrounding tourist destinations and this might be a better bet than staying there.

In summary, if you’re looking for somewhere clean and basic to sleep then Hotel Cecile is adequate but don’t expect luxury!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

A short bus ride from the airport E1.50. Get off at Femi and short walk down Via Romeo. The Hotel Cecile is within a 5 min walk of the Leaning Tower. Staff friendly, rooms basic but very clean and perfectly adequate for a short stay. You have to stipulate whether you want an en-suite at time of booking as not all rooms have bathrooms, and most rooms have fans but no air conditioning. We checked in at 11:00am and had to be out by the same time the next day but hotel looked after our bags for the day. There are no breakfast facilities but just up the road is a lovely little coffee bar serving coffee and pastries at student prices. Would definitely use it again for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Front rooms face onto main st which can be a bit .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

I stayed here for one night in May 2011, the room is basic but very clean and comfortable. Enough storage for a couple of people and a clean en suite bathroom with everything you need. Excellent value for money.
Really close the the Leaning Tower of Pisa - just down the road. The 2 members of staff we met were really helpful and kind.
I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

I travelled to Pisa for a 4 day break with my girlfriend for her birthday. On arrival we met the nice lady owner, who spoke good english. She gave us a map and marked where we were so we would not get lost and over the course of our stay she gave us more advice regarding train travel and bus travel. The rooms are nice and comfortable and are cleaned daily and for the price you pay, great value to. The hotel is situated about 200 metres from the tower and is a great location for all areas of Pisa.
My only negative is, that if you are a light sleeper, this is not the hotel for you. It can be very noisy at night from the cars and mopeds that constantly go past the hotel.
Overall though I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

I stayed here when in Pisa for a conference, at the recommendation of the organisers.

The hotel is simple, with all the basic essential amenities like a bathroom, and is clean. Pisa is a small place so it is close to everything.

I found the staff spoke little English but having some Italian and French this posed no great problem. They were polite and helpful including marking on a map the various locations I wanted such as the location for the conference and a local supermarket.

It doesn't have an elevator but has only 3 floors so doesn't really need for the average person but may not be suitable for the elderly or disabled.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

The hotel Cecile in Pisa is only about 5-8 minutes on foot from the Leaning Tower, Baptisterium and Church. The hotel was completely renovated in 2008. The hotel’s interior decoration, furniture of the rooms, bathrooms etc. are modern. I did not have breakfast, so I can’t tell about it. The staff was very friendly and helpful, giving advice about restaurants, tips about locations and ordering a taxi. When I and they forgot about my ID-cart, the manager brought it to the airport in person. Six stars for service for that!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cecile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cecile

Address: Via Alessandro Volta, 17, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 83 hotels in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HotelsClick and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Cecile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cecile Hotel Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cecile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.