We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have loved to go back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Pergoletta

La Pergoletta
Via delle Belle Torri 40, 56127 Pisa, Italy
+ 39 050-542458
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #153 of 701 Restaurants in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $22 - $29
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
South East England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Would have loved to go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Great place to eat, good service, great food, great atmosphere. Not touristy at all. Good price.

The only downside is it seemed to open quite late in the evening, so too late for me to go back a second time.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    103
    28
    14
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Sophisticated, but family friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

For our last night in Italy, we were looking for family friendly, vegetarian friendly restaurant with a little flare that also suited fish and meat eaters... I didn't think it could be found, until we stumbled across La PergOletta. We each had a delicious meal, great wine recommendations, had a good selecton of veggie meals and 2 very happy children in a grown up restaurant. Definately recommend to any visitor to Pisa

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The food here was simple but of a high standard, the prices were reasonable and the service was very good.
It was the best meal we had in Pisa, the pasta was particularly good.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Bit pretentious but good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We hadn't realised that nobody in Pisa seems to eat before 8pm, and after wandering around looking at empty restaurants, we found La Pergoletta off the main drag. Many restaurants seemed to be just pasta and not much else, but this had a wider menu.

After we got in, the place filled rapidly. I didn't find it really relaxing, it seems to have a bit of an haute-cuisine image that it's trying to maintain. Fine, but maybe not quite what I was expecting.

Having said that, you can choose reasonably-priced dishes, and similarly wine if you're careful.

You get rather "pushed" into bottled water, and there is a cover charge of 5 euros per couple, but bread seemed to be included.

Food is imaginative, well-cooked and presented.

Some of the customers struck me as rather snooty, but I guess there aren't many places in Pisa at which the upper echelons can dine.

So there's nothing wrong, but possibly not for the average tourist unless it's a bit of a special evening.

I wouldn't mind returning, knowing I would spend more than normal and really get stuck into the interesting food on offer.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“little jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Extremly kind staff, romantic atmosphere in a beautiful garden lit by candles.
Delicious my meat rolls with spring vegetables, do not miss the"Zacapa tiramisu".
Excellent "pappardelle" with white meat and lemon, I ate half of my wife dish!
Very good red wine, "Sangiovese in purezza" Casanovva.
60 € four courses, one tiramisu and the bottle of wine

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pergoletta also viewed

Pisa, Province of Pisa
 
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Been to La Pergoletta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pergoletta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.