We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 nights here for city break to Florence and visit to Cinque Terre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Ranieri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Ranieri to your Saves list
Hotel San Ranieri
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Filippo Mazzei, 2 | Cisanello, 56124 Pisa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“2 nights here for city break to Florence and visit to Cinque Terre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

As two 18 year old students with not masses of money to spend we booked this hotel on flight miles but we enjoyed the hotel and trip :)

We were given a superior room which was absolutely spotless, I don't think I have ever been in a room so pristine! (I've been in some Hiltons, Holiday Inns and Marriotts that are dirtier) A big thank you to the maids! The decor is definitely unique and might put some off who are used to more typical decor of 4* hotels but we liked it. Air con was very good as well considering it was 36c outside!

In terms of facilities we used one of the terraces near our room on the first floor and the breakfast was lovely. Only slight hiccup is that the 'hot' food was cold on both days (we went at 7 on one day and at 9 on the other), I've seen other reviews complain of this and I think that could be improved upon as this is a 4*. We also chose not to eat in the restaurant as there was a cheaper place around the corner which does sit in food and take away after 7pm which was nice after long days out.

The location is in fact out the way and some have said you need a car. However we didn't have a car and used the buses which were fine, it is €3.70 for a day pass and you can go on the various lines which helped. However if travelling from airport to hotel via public transport I would suggest the Pisamover bus instead of lam red then changing to lam blu at train station to get to the hotel :) in addition to this there is not much in Pisa itself so staying here was good for just using the train station to get to other places :)

I would really recommend this hotel as a hub for travelling Tuscany and the Cinque Terre :)

Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    696
    136
    52
    26
See reviews for
476
620
138
395
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great hotel, luxurious and spacious rooms. Can't say anything bad about the hotel itself, location could be better in accordance with the city centre but it's really easy to get there within 20-30 minutes in a taxi or bus. Breakfast was very good. Their garden area is beautiful with large sunbeds and an outdoor bar.

Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Arrived late evening from flight for an overnight stay. Staff very helpful and friendly. No problem getting late meal made to order. Hotel very contemporary design but very pleasant, well worth the money. 10 minutes from Pisa centre by taxi or 20 minutes by bus. Great garden area to relax in after flight.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed here a couple of times - great hotel just outside pisa - especially convenient if you want a hotel close to the airport. it's only a 10 minute drive.
Rooms and bathrooms are clean and modern.
Breakfast is pretty good with a wide selection.
Pool area and decking is also very cool. I really enjoyed the vibe of this hotel.
Wifi didn't work too great - but maybe we we just unlucky.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferney-Voltaire, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After seeing the good reviews on trip advisor, I booked this hotel for myself, my husband and our baby. The rooms are quite large and the air-conditioning and beds were good. The hotel provided us with a bed for the baby. The decor is futuristic, perspex everywhere, not really my thing, and is a bit tired-looking in the rooms. There are lights everywhere, behind all the mirrors in the room, but it's impossible to muster enough light to read comfortably. The breakfast was OK. Don't even try the self service coffees or juices, they're disgusting. The waiters will happily bring fresh coffees if you ask. They also do fresh juices, although they don't offer it, I just happened to see them juicing after having finished my breakfast just before checking out.
The hotel is out of the centre, although we were visiting with a car so that was fine for us. Parking was OK but can be difficult when there's a conference at the hotel.

Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed here for one night before travelling on to Florence.
Location - the hotel is only a short taxi from the airport costing around 10 euros. It's a little outside of central Pisa but is only a five to ten minute bus ride on the lam blu bus.
We got the bus into the Pisa centrale station and walked casually up towards the leaning tower. Having read other reviews of Pisa we weren't expecting Mich and were both very pleasantly surprised by the culture and architecture. It really is a womdeful city.
The room - we had the top suite which was pretty fantastic. A seperate living room and bedroom with plenty of space and a quirky if not slightly dark decor.
The electric curtains did jam for a bit but reception quickly sorted the issue.
Food - the food was very nice in the hotel and not overly expensive. The staff are fairly friendly although the table service is pretty slow.
There was a good selection at breakfast although most of the hot food was cold.
Overall - lovely place, good do with a bit more customer friendly service and room for a pool. Pisa is great.

Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and my darling wife were married in Pisa and we chose the San Ranieri to stay along with our 26 guests. The hotel is a wee bit away from the city centre, but there are plenty buses and it only takes about 15 mins. A big thank you to Martina and her staff who went the "extra mile" for us.Lovely clean rooms nice breakfast and very good value for money.An outdoor pool and the hotel would have been perfect. We love Pisa and we certainly be returning to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel San Ranieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Ranieri

Address: Via Filippo Mazzei, 2 | Cisanello, 56124 Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#1 Business Hotel in Pisa
#2 Family Hotel in Pisa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#6 Best Value Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Ranieri 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel San Ranieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ranieri Hotel
San Ranieri Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Ranieri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.