We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, little things take the edge off the experience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Ranieri

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Ranieri to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Ranieri
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Filippo Mazzei, 2 | Cisanello, 56124 Pisa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 83 hotels in Pisa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel, little things take the edge off the experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

First, good points: The hotel is super modern with excellent styling and appearance both inside and out. Everyone there is very friendly and helpful. The rooms and the hotel interior are kept very clean. I kept the car in the garage which is really very secure and a reasonable price for the peace of mind you get. The restaurant is great for breakfast with excellent choice.
Points for improvement: Little things need improvement to make this hotel experience better. The restaurant menu on the web site is not the one you will be given when you sit down to order. For us this was significant because we selected the hotel partly on the strength, quality and diversity of its menu. Next, the wifi is ok but has a very shaky connection. You need to log in nearly every time you use it. This is just annoying and not what you expect of a super modern hotel like this. Lastly the AC worked well but resets itself every time you leave the room, even if only for a couple of minutes. Again, just irritating and a little unnecessary. Oh, yes, one more thing. The hotel pool is an associated facility 10 minutes shuttle bus away. No quick dips here, you are in for 2 hours (or multiples of) or you're not in at all.

Overall, a good hotel outside of Pisa with easy connections by bus or taxi. Use it for that and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    757
    609
    119
    42
    25
See reviews for
357
485
120
353
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

As others have stated it is a bit away from Pisa, but that along with no swimming pool are the only downsides to this hotel.

We stayed in a junior suite and loved it, very modern, spacious with lots of gadgets like electric windows and curtains. Air conditioning was excellent as was the wifi.

Breakfast was very nice with plenty to choose from. All in all a very nice hotel and wouldn't hesitate in booking again.

Room Tip: Get a corner suite !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It is a bit far from Pisa center, but it is the only downside. However, it was only 15 euro from the center and only 15 euro from the airport by taxi. Bus service is also available.

The ratio quality-price is excellent! Really, it is a steal! The rooms are big (by European standards) and very confortable. The hotel is modern and clean. Close to the hotel, there were a mini-market and a restaurant/fast-food/convenience store (all in one). It is a nice option to the hotel restaurant that is a bit pricey.

We missed the breakfast, because we were leaving too early. However, there was an early breakfast (coffee, pastries) prepared in that case.

I would strongly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed for 3 nights & loved the modern feel to the hotel. We arrived late in the evening so we checked in then ate in the hotel restaurant, food was a little expensive but well worth it. Lovely air conditioned room with wifi connection & lovely good sized clean bathroom. Turning out the lights at night was a game trying to find the right switch for the right light!

It's a good distance from pisa itself but buses were frequent, cheap & only took around 15 minutes. An excellent place for exploring we spent two days exploring Pisa & a day trip to florence was lovely coming back to a freshly cleAned room & cosy supplied slippers!

Breakfast was included & was a very very good selection you could have anything you wanted. I would definitely stay here again, we used it as a base to explore tuscany & it's location is ideal!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just spent 1 night there but everything was so clean and comfortable, good breakfast (my Irish boyfriend didn't like the scrambled eggs though :) ), lovely bar in the gardens.

Only downside is that it is a bit far from the Pisa City Centre. It's only 10 mins by bus. On the way back we got a taxi and it was 15 euro from the Train Station.

Staff extremely friendly and helpful. We got the Executive Room and it was very comfortable and modern, with air conditioning, free wi-fi and usual hotel extras.

Room Tip: Executive suite looks bigger on the website. I was still very happy with it. When you get in, ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taverny, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Sorry seems to be the hardest word!

This is my second stay at San Ranieri hotel. As all the reviews stated, even it can be seen as a sometimes too modern experience (certainly not the kind of hotel for my mother that like more romantic things), such an hotel is refreshing with its nice architectural and trendy feelings (especially regarding the garden or the outside lighting system). Nevertheless, since my last visit, as in all this kind of "design hotel", it seems that some maintenance problems can now be clearly seen (bad smells in the bathrooms, dirty carpet on the corridors, dusty fake flowers...).

But to be honest, that is not a big issue due to the price of the rooms here (we had a fantastic deal on the hotel website: 59€ per night for 2 with a nice breakfast – and wifi, lol - included!).

The main point that leads to this review is the arrogant attitude of the reception staff. Let me explain!

First of all, please notice that the hotel rate now includes free wifi for all the guests (before it was paying) but... beware that it is not working in most of the room!! After unpacking our stuff, we tried to connect the wifi and it was just impossible due to a too low signal. Why ? Because the system is not enough performant (only one box per floor), so only the rooms near the elevators can get a good signal. It is also the case "when there are too much clients in the hotel" (in other words when it is fully booked). This is just unacceptable and unprofessional. The reception proposed us to get another room with a better signal but due to the fact we already unpacked everything, we declined their offer. It was a great problem for me due to the fact that I had bring my laptop to be connected with my office, so I had to work in the space near the elevators during 3 evenings, you can imagine that was not a good things in terms of privacy !!! But that's life ! So we said nothing and accepted it.

4 days ago, we were reading in our room (it was approx 23:00) and suddenly the lights went off (there is a very modern and weird lighting system linked to the room entry card by the way). It happened more than 5 time - every 10/15 min - and each time we had to open the room entry door and remove the entry card from the system and slide it again. At the end we were a little bit angry with this issue and finally go to the reception. The guy there come to our room, telling that it was certainly our fault and, after we argued, finally fixed the problem by opening the fuse box. Cool... But next night, same player shoot again ! (It seems that this electrical problem only happens during the night). The receptionist came again and told us that they will change our room next morning.

So finally, the next day they decided to change our room, going from the 222 to the 216. And, miracle ! The wifi worked in this room (not very fast but at least it worked !) So it solved two problems in the meantime ! Needless to say that each time, we seemed to annoy the reception girls when we go to have the swap (“just wait, we do not know which room are ready”). No apologize, nothing. That's life !

But yesterday night, when we come back at 2:00 from Firenze, imagine our surprise when we discovered that our room hasn't been cleaned at all !!! We go to the reception and get apologizes from the guy there that proposed to give us a cleaned room for the night (nice proposal that we declined).

Going to the reception this morning, we found the arrogant receptionist girl (manager ?) that just told us to tell her when we will leave our room in order to be able to clean it. But what was funny was that without apologizing, she just argued that the problem was probably due to the fact that the housekeeping doesn't work after 15:00 or the sign "do not disturb" that we left at our door. In other words, what happened was OUR fault, not theirs. Regrettably for her, we left our room at 13:30 and did not let the "do not disturb sign" outside. When I just told her that better trying to find excuses, she'd better only say us "we are sorry" and that would have been perfect, she arrogantly and disrespectfully laughed at us and come back to her chair.

What a good customer service example! I just told her that I will make this tripadvisor review to share this experience and that's what I am just doing now! It is not usually my kind of way of acting but for me respect and above all customer respect is a key issue. This does not seem to be the case for the managers of this hotel.

What a pity because otherwise it could really be a perfect place (of course with a really working wifi network).

A smile and a little “sorry” are nothing, but here in San Ranieri hotel, it seems to be “the hardest word” ;)

Room Tip: Near the elevators to manage to have a good wifi signal !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel San Ranieri is a lovely hotel with really nice facilities and great staff 15 mins bus ride from Pisa Centrale Railway / 10 mins Taxi or Hotel Shuttle from Pisa Airport.

First impressions are very good. Hotel is modern, very well maintained and has a bright clean reception area. The Hotel is used as a conference / business hub so it is not uncommon for it to be busy during week.

We got a Junior Suite on the Third Floor which was spacious, immaculately clean and nicely presented. Air conditioning was excellent as was natural and artificial lighting options. Bed was large, firm and always immaculate. We requested a child bed which doubled as an extra sofa.

Bathrooms are excellent with Jacuzzi Style Showers. My fiance particularly loved the free San Ranieri slippers to prevent slippages when leaving shower / bath!

Reception and Service staff were always polite, attentive and very helpful.
Breakfast Buffet is excellent - I thoroughly recommend getting this - especially if you have a busy day sightseeing.

Breakfast options range from Juices, cereals and fruits up to heartier eggs, sausage and bacon. There is a chef on hand to cook whatever you want - note they also make fresh veg/fruit smoothies! Excellent addition to the menu!

It was wonderful to sit out in the Terrace Garden and enjoy a morning coffee ahead of a busy day sight seeing.

The only (minor non issue) negative about San Ranieri is that it is in a suburban neighborhood with limited amenities near by. Large Mall is a few mins away by bus (bus service is EXCELLENT cheap and safe) and Pisa itself is 15 mins day time and a bit longer after 8.30pm.

The San Ranieri did act as a wonderful base for us explore Tuscany. We managed to spend a few days in coastal resort of Viareggio (great for kids) and trip to Sienna and multiple trips to beautiful but sauna hot Florence. After all these busy days trips it was wonderful to return to the relaxing cool of a modern hotel like the San Ranieri. Nothing beats to a fresh, clean air conditioned room!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel San Ranieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Ranieri

Address: Via Filippo Mazzei, 2 | Cisanello, 56124 Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pisa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#2 Family Hotel in Pisa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#8 Best Value Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Ranieri 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel San Ranieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ranieri Hotel
San Ranieri Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Ranieri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.