We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good & Bad, Depends What You Want” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Ranieri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Ranieri to your Saves list
Hotel San Ranieri
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Filippo Mazzei, 2 | Cisanello, 56124 Pisa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 76 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good & Bad, Depends What You Want”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

Had to go out to Pisa for a week for work, so was looking ideally for an airport hotel. However, as there are no actual airport hotels in Pisa, this was about a 5-6 minute drive away. Booked through lastminute.com, which I would not do again as their room descriptions were misleading... be wary of this.

On arrival I took a taxi from the airport to the hotel, this was however a little expensive. I'm not sure on the average taxi price in Pisa but I thought that 14 euros for a 5 minute drive was a little excessive. It did however seem to vary between 10-14 euros, more expensive on a Sunday.

Initial impression of the hotel was impressive, large glass structure and immaculately clean. Hotel staff were polite and efficient, and I had no problems with check in. However, I was disappointed when I found my room. I had paid an extra supplement on laterooms.com to have a 'superior' room, which was meant to be bigger and more spacious. This was not the case, after two enquiries at reception it appears my extra money guaranteed me a room in a 'quieter' area of the hotel.

The room itself though was very nice. Ultra-modern and spotlessly clean as was the bathroom. I can understand some people being put off by the modernism, however it depends how open minded you are - the room is indeed predominantly concrete - ceilings, floor, walls etc. Walls are covered with lining though so it's not really too much. All the concrete helps keep the room cool too, although the air conditioning was more than sufficient. Space was an issue though, as previously mentioned I was disappointed with the room size.

Appointments in the room were good, WiFi and wired networking, satellite television and minibar. I don't agree that its difficult to find or operate the television or switches though... it was fairly obvious to me.

Outside areas and the restaurant also very well appointed, incredibly relaxing and easy to lose yourself in a book in the summer heat... Food in restaurant was excellent at dinner, not so great at lunch time (although I had the same meal?!) and breakfast was possibly one of the best I have seen in any continental hotel.

Easy to get into Pisa by bus, hotel sells bus tickets over reception and the bus stop is a 2 minute walk behind the hotel. This also links you to the train station in Pisa and the airport if you so wish.

My only issues here are as follows. Firstly, while the staff were attentive and polite, I did feel at times like I was putting them out and service could be slow. Secondly, the airport transfer only operates at certain hours of the day, which resulted in me getting the transfer to the airport every day, but I had to pay for a taxi back. This proved expensive by the end of the week. It also depended who was on reception as to how easy it was to get the transfer. Finally, behind the hotel are private residences. One of these obviously had pet dogs, which barked during the early hours of the morning. This made me question the 'quieter' room that I had paid for, and was an inconvenience to sleep.

Would I go back? Probably. I would like to try the AC Pisa though before I returned here, it looked like it could cater to the 'business' traveller's needs a bit better. The bill was also wrong on check-out, although from what I hear this is not uncommon in Italy and was sorted out without too much fuss.

Not a bad hotel, fairly new so with a few tweaks and better customer service it could be excellent. Please don't take the negatives here too badly though as I was looked after well, and it is convenient for the airport.

  • Liked — Modern, Clean Accommodation
  • Disliked — Dogs Barking At Night
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    646
    130
    48
    26
See reviews for
429
561
130
384
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2008

cool place!

we stayed here just for one night (after returning from Florence).

Pisa itself is...well... not great, and there not much to see (apart from the obvious!).

The hotel is great through - really funky with its outer changing colour, modern & stylish interiors and nice resteraunt and bar.

Was great for staying for one night (and we eat in the resteraunt - which was good!), but if your hear for more than one night you'd probably be climbing the walls as theres not much to do in Pisa itself - GET YOURSELF OFF TO FLORENCE!

  • Liked — great modern design
  • Disliked — location - its a bit out of the city...
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

Thought the area was a bit rough.
The hotel does not look as impressive in real life as it does in the brochures but if you like modern is still very nice.
It is certainly quirky.
It is very clean
Reception staff were friendly (Milly in particular).
Breakfast was excellent.
Very convenient to the airport.

Showed my parents and grand parents the pictures; they hated it!

  • Liked — Very modern
  • Disliked — Edging on to a bit too cold/sterile.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

The people working the front desk were nice and helpful but the General Manager of the restaurant within the hotel was one of the rudest people we encountered in Europe. On top of his lack of personality the food was over priced and i would have rather eaten a can of Chef Boyardee Ravioli than pay 20 Euros for 4 pieces of Ravioli. The rooms are decent but there are warning signs asking you not to shower at certain times due to thermal shock. There are no doors on the shower and water leaks all over the floor. When asked if there was an ATM within the building i was told i needed to go to the hospital. When i got to the hospital i was told that there was no ATM and i had to visit the cafe down the street. I went to the cafe and was told to go back to the hospital. At this point i decided i didn't need to spend any more money in Pisa.

I was truly disappointed with Pisa while it was nice to see the tower that is all there really is to do and see other than be pestered by people trying to sell you watches

  • Liked — The 2 women working the front desk.
  • Disliked — The restaurants genral manager and the room makes little clicks all night
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earith, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

We stayed at the San Raniere for one night (2 Aug 08) and thought it was great. The 'dingy' corridors noted in earlier reviews seemed quite stylish to me. The walls/doors are covered in dark, glossy, monochromatic prints and the treatment is typical of many boutique hotels.

The restaurant has limted choice (especially for vegetarians) and is unneccessarily expensive but the food was good.

Breakfast is fantastic - I've never had better in any Italian hotel.
We found teh staff friendly and helpful throughout - they even served us lunch on the day we arrived even though the restaurant had closed about 30 mins before we arrived.

The rooms were on the small side but well equipped - except that we couldn;t find any reading lights for the bed. There were certainly no problems with cleanliness and no odd odours to be found anywhere.

We'd certainly go again.

One piece of advice - if you want a traditionally designed and furnished hotel then avoid the San Ranieri. If you're a little more open then give it a try!

  • Liked — Great style and design
  • Disliked — No reading lights for the bed
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

Our family of 3 adults and 2 children stayed here for 2 nights in Sept 2007. It is a modern hotel with unusual interior decoration, the most unusual of which being the rather odd darkened hallways. However the rooms are light and good quality with very comfortable bedding.

The highlight of this hotel was the breakfast which is included. They had a huge choice of fresh and delicious produce to choose from including hot, well cooked choices as well. A breakfast of such good quality is rare in Italy in our experiences of travelling there annually for the past 18 years.

The reception staff are efficient but not over friendly but that is fine by us. I'm sure they would offer help if requested.

The only drawback is the location, this hotel can be a good choice for Pisa but you need a car. It's not far from the centre, only a 10 minute drive, but could be a hassle with public transport at nights. Taxi would be the only option and they can be hard to find in Pisa after 10pm.

We are returning to PIsa in Sept 2008 and have been researching other hotels but are leaning (scuse the pun) towards staying at San Ranieri again as it is one of the very few hotels with up to date facilities at a reasonable price in Pisa.

  • Liked — Breakfasts and good quality bedding.
  • Disliked — The dark hallways.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray, Maidenhead
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2008

My wife, daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights from 23.07.08. I would not stay here again, even if I was paid to do so!

1. The corridor leading to the room was black and smelly/musty. Perhaps it was the carpet. Whatever it was, the corridor was pitch black with neon lights. The room was truly dreadful. The ceiling and floor were black. The lights, such as they were, were fluorescent. This meant that the room had no proper light in the evening. If you want character and simple charm in your surroundings, this is not the place.

2. Everything is electronically operated, including the curtains and windows. The window does not open far enough.

3. The room smells - again a musty, unclean, dampish sort of smell.

4. You will be charged 3 Euros every time you order any food/drink from room service. The room service is not terribly efficient.

5. The hotel is a bus ride away from the ciry centre. You are far better off getting a hotel that is centrally located. Buses cost 1.5 Euros pp, taxis around 10 Euros to the city.

Pisa is lovely - full of charm and simple character. This hotel was the low point in our holiday. If you want a modern hotel, give this one a miss.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — black decor, smell
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Ranieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Ranieri

Address: Via Filippo Mazzei, 2 | Cisanello, 56124 Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pisa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#2 Family Hotel in Pisa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#5 Best Value Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Ranieri 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel San Ranieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ranieri Hotel
San Ranieri Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Ranieri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.