We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Ranieri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Ranieri to your Saves list
Hotel San Ranieri
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Filippo Mazzei, 2 | Cisanello, 56124 Pisa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Hi. It was wonderful at the hotel. Had to ask something to direct me where it was since we had reached there in the night but it wasn't hard to find. If you're taking the bus, once you get off just head down the road on your right hand where the little restaurant and it's just a 2 minute walk, probably even less. The aesthetics is amazing. The lawn is well kept and the staff is friendly and courteous. We were celebrating our anniversary and they gave us fruits in our room with a note wishing us Happy Anniversary. The breakfast was lovely and again the kitchen staff is very friendly and approachable. The leaning tower is close by but I don't remember which bus takes you directly there. We had taken a bus back to the square / central station and then another one to the leaning tower but I think we realized that there was another bus that could have taken us there (might be wrong but I think so). There is a night bus service as well. So if you happen to be out late just check the schedule and make sure you get on that bus. The room was spacious, very modern design with a lovely bathroom and bright, fun colors used in the room. The bed is comfortable and it's just simply relaxing at the hotel. I would definitely recommend anyone to go there hands down. Definitely worth it! The only slight draw back is the rooms aren't sound proof. Not that it was loud outside but the fact is you could still hear if someone was talking or moving something outside, but it's not so loud for you to hear what they're saying.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    895
    674
    132
    50
    26
See reviews for
455
590
134
390
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We booked this Hotel through British Airways and as we were just looking for a relatively cheap long weekend away we were not expecting too much. This Hotel did therefore take us by surprise, it was modern, clean, lots of outdoor space and walking distance to a lovely restaurant as well as the bus stop. For us the best part however was the use of the free bikes! We took them out as soon as we arrived and cycled into the town centre of Pisa and then all around the touristy and not so touristy places. Fabulous! All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Hotel 6 min from airport and University Hospital Pisa with friendly staff. Rooms look nice but are almost filled with the bed already. No desk to work when you need to and the small chair gets jammed between the bed and the shelf. You can hear every step of your neighbour. Doors clacking loudly - so no alarm-clock needed. Annoying motion sensor in bathroom switches light of when our are under the shower or on the toilet. Breakfast on the second morning started without any coffee or milk nor clean glasses. But after my complaints the manager managed to get coffee and hot bacon. Will try another hotel next time - because this is not a four but rather a 2 star Hotel only.

Room Tip: Upper floor should be a more quite place
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed here at the end of our trip to Italy and wanted somewhere away from the city so we could have a relaxing end to the trip. I paid a little extra for a suite and I have to say it was worth every penny/EURO. What a gorgeous room! The staff at the San Ranieri are also very good: friendly without being overbearing or obtrusive, and willing to go the extra mile/km. This goes for both reception and waiting-on/bar staff... there are some real characters there, which I always like. My only very minor criticisms would be that the restaurant needs to be a little more restauranty-y (I mean it needs to be a little cosier.. the food itself is great!) and that you can, on occasion, hear other guests in other rooms even in the suite. But I am seriously nit-picking here, as we absolutely loved the place. We love Italy full stop, but when you stay at places like this you realise that the UK just doesn't fully understand how to run hotels. A particular mention to the utterly charming reception staff and the Irish chap who works in the restaurant. We will be back!! Steve & Nerine, Nantwich, UK

Room Tip: Book a suite! It's lush.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basingstoke
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Staff were very courteous, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and healthy. Nearness to the shopping malls, restaurants and some of the many tourist attractions are very close-by which is a big advantage to any traveller.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Modern hotel, AWAY from the city center and middle of no where. You would be lost without a car. The rooms are modern and a funky design and so is the entire hotel. I don't like hotels which are dark with strong colours, service was good and breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
349 reviews 349 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We enjoyed our one stay in this modern hotel. Some of the design features are funky, but hte overall experience was very good. The restaurant was good and the set course menu provided good value dining. After a 10 days walking through various parts of Tuscany, this was a good place to unwind.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Ranieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Ranieri

Address: Via Filippo Mazzei, 2 | Cisanello, 56124 Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#1 Business Hotel in Pisa
#2 Family Hotel in Pisa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#6 Best Value Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Ranieri 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel San Ranieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ranieri Hotel
San Ranieri Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Ranieri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.