We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Tuscany Base” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Ranieri

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Ranieri to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Ranieri
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Filippo Mazzei, 2 | Cisanello, 56124 Pisa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 83 hotels in Pisa
York, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Our Tuscany Base”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at this lovely very modern hotel as a base to visit the many beautiful Tuscan cities and towns within daily train distance of Pisa.
We used the hotel courtesy transfer 15 minutes from the international airport and arrived at the hotel and were greeted with a friendly smile and service by the reception staff, they were great throughout our stay, very helpful and courteous. We were allocated a lovely room on the 1st floor; the room was very spacious which came with a room safe, modern television along with a king size bed with decent pillows to choose from and a grand bathroom with walk in shower, we were also very impressed with the housekeeping staff who went the extra mile to ensure we enjoyed our stay.

On our first night we dined in the hotel restaurant and tried out the taster menu which was just an amazing fine dining experience, the food was superb well presented, the chef, restaurant manager and staff were simple outstanding. Although the hotel has a Pizza Restaurant a short walk from the hotel which we tried out on the second night which was also very good, however the convenience to have the hotel restaurant on the door step after a days sight seeing was the one for us with it’s varied Italian menus and fine wine selection, all reasonable priced. The daily continental buffet breakfast is also served in this restaurant with a great choice of both warm and cold dishes to choose from.

The location of this hotel was ideal for us with a frequent bus service from the hotel to Pisa Central Station was just convenient, bus tickets can be purchased from the machine at the main bus stop or from the tobacco kiosk. Once at the station go to the train information office with your list of places to visit and they will give you the train times and prices for your journeys, at the ticket office ask for an open return ticket and before you board the train make sure you VALIDAT your ticket at one of the station/platform ticket machines other wise you will have to pay a fine on the train if you don’t do this.

Pisa with the leaning tower is a must see, which is easily reached on foot from the station just walk along the Corso Italia across the Ponte di Mezzo and head along the Borgo Stretto to the Piazz Dei Miracoli, these streets also have some nice shops, restaurants and coffee bars. We also visited Lucca which along with San Gimignano were our favourite destinations not forgetting Siena and Florence which were all easily reached by train for a day trip. TIP, when visiting Florence take the No 12 bus just outside the station and stay
on the bus to San Miniato al Monte, the views from this church are amazing, then walk down to the two coffee bars and take in the views from there before walking down to the Ponte Vesshio (20 minute down hill walk) across this famous icon you are near to the Galleria deci Uffizi, pre book your tickets in advance and then head off to Piazza della Signoria. We then walked to the Piazza del Duomo and purchased tickets to walk up the Campanile, 414 steps later, the views from the top are breathtaking. We then continued to the Basilica di Santa Maria Novella before heading back to board our return train to Pisa.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,463 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    722
    571
    108
    39
    23
See reviews for
363
487
121
353
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband booked this hotel for the last night of our 30th Wedding Anniversary trip to Italy. Having spent a glorious week in Ameglia, this was a dreadful disappointment. The Executive Suite was down a dark corridor reminiscent of a sleazy night club. The rooms were black with incredibly uncomfortable furniture. There were two appalling fake flower arrangements, no tea or coffee, the satellite tv did not have the range of stations promised and the double glazing was ineffectual against the noise from outside.
During the night, staff walked to and fro on the other side of the wall behind the bed head. They might as well have been in the room. Doors slammed, glasses rattled and they were clearly having a great time.
The staff at breakfast failed to acknowledge our presence and to respond to my husband, who being half Italian, speaks the language fluently.
In summary, this was a dreadful ending to a special week. Do not waste your time or money on this place.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We booked Hotel San Ranieri for 1 night as we arrived in Pisa very late in the evening and did not want to spent to much time on the road after landing. Our primary criteria to select our hotel was therefore the location (airport proximity).
When we got there (after approx. 15 min drive), we were positively impressed by the hotel: it is rather smart and offers a great service, considering the price. Plenty of choice for breakfast (even I found something I fancied eating, that's saying something ;) Clean and comfortable room, larger than the average european hotel room. Restaurant menu was appetising and moderately priced, though we did not get a chance to give it a try. The next morning, we walked at a leisurely pace from the hotel to the centre of Pisa (about 40min), so not long at all if you go by car.
For stopovers in Pisa, I would definitely recommend Hotel San Ranieri. If you are looking for a room with a view, then this won't be it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice clean special design
Very nice design like Star Trek ...
Place far from center but close to bus stop you can get direct to center city
Nice restaurant
Service good especially the reception
Good breakfast

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a very modern hotel 10 minutes from the airport by taxi (c20Euros) although the hotel runs a free shuttle bus on the hour (let them know your flight no). The room was very modern with a very firm, very large bed. There is plenty of lighting choice in the room although it's a little complex to work at first. I didn't like the motion sensor light in the lovely bathroom as I don't like to be woken fully in the night. To go to Pisa train station by bus, turn left out of the hotel, left along S. Biagio and walk to the newspaper kiosk (you can buy tickets here) on the corner. Cross over and take the LAN BLUE. Cost 1.10 direct to the station. Bus drivers will take fares on the bus but only if you have the right money. If you're late back from town, the No 22 from the station is a night bus. It takes a little longer but stops outside the hotel. The other buses seem to stop running about 8.30pm. To get to the Tower, go to the station, cross over to the bus stop outside the hotel and take the LAN RED. BTW The pizzeria just along from the hotel is owned by the same people as own the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel is very modern and very nice. Rooms are standard L-shaped with en suite bathroom. Beds in standard double rooms are massive! The bar stocks a tasty local craft beer and good local wine. We didn't dine at the hotel but had some very tasty bar snacks with our drinks. The bar had a piano player in when we were there. The hotel has plenty of terraces to sun yourself on and the garden is lovely.

The hotel is not in the centre of Pisa nor very close to the train station or airport. This isn't a problem for getting into town as the hotel can get you a cab very quickly, but make sure you get a phone number for booking one on the way back as they are very hard to pick up on the street. We had a very long walk back from town!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were looking for a hotel near the airport, following a late flight. San Ranieri fitted the bill. I paid £85 including breakfast.

The hotel is quirky - unusual and almost futuristic! This was a refreshing change to UK premier inns at airports :) The room was clean and comfortable and the reception was extremely welcoming and friendly.

There is an hourly hotel shuttle to the airport which was useful for picking up the hire car the next day. Wish I had known about that on arrival as the taxi cost 17euro (with no tip). They also guarantee your room until midnight - something alot of guest houses in Pisa seemed unable to offer.

We ate in the restaurant which was nice & the breakfast offered a lot of choice.

San Ranieri was value for money, especially when you throw in the airport shuttle

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Ranieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Ranieri

Address: Via Filippo Mazzei, 2 | Cisanello, 56124 Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pisa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#2 Family Hotel in Pisa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#7 Best Value Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Ranieri 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel San Ranieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ranieri Hotel
San Ranieri Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Ranieri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.