We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style (of a sort) and no substance” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Ranieri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel San Ranieri to your Saves list
Hotel San Ranieri
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Filippo Mazzei, 2 | Cisanello, 56124 Pisa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Pisa
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Style (of a sort) and no substance”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband booked this hotel for the last night of our 30th Wedding Anniversary trip to Italy. Having spent a glorious week in Ameglia, this was a dreadful disappointment. The Executive Suite was down a dark corridor reminiscent of a sleazy night club. The rooms were black with incredibly uncomfortable furniture. There were two appalling fake flower arrangements, no tea or coffee, the satellite tv did not have the range of stations promised and the double glazing was ineffectual against the noise from outside.
During the night, staff walked to and fro on the other side of the wall behind the bed head. They might as well have been in the room. Doors slammed, glasses rattled and they were clearly having a great time.
The staff at breakfast failed to acknowledge our presence and to respond to my husband, who being half Italian, speaks the language fluently.
In summary, this was a dreadful ending to a special week. Do not waste your time or money on this place.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    603
    118
    44
    26
See reviews for
391
522
124
361
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We booked Hotel San Ranieri for 1 night as we arrived in Pisa very late in the evening and did not want to spent to much time on the road after landing. Our primary criteria to select our hotel was therefore the location (airport proximity).
When we got there (after approx. 15 min drive), we were positively impressed by the hotel: it is rather smart and offers a great service, considering the price. Plenty of choice for breakfast (even I found something I fancied eating, that's saying something ;) Clean and comfortable room, larger than the average european hotel room. Restaurant menu was appetising and moderately priced, though we did not get a chance to give it a try. The next morning, we walked at a leisurely pace from the hotel to the centre of Pisa (about 40min), so not long at all if you go by car.
For stopovers in Pisa, I would definitely recommend Hotel San Ranieri. If you are looking for a room with a view, then this won't be it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice clean special design
Very nice design like Star Trek ...
Place far from center but close to bus stop you can get direct to center city
Nice restaurant
Service good especially the reception
Good breakfast

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a very modern hotel 10 minutes from the airport by taxi (c20Euros) although the hotel runs a free shuttle bus on the hour (let them know your flight no). The room was very modern with a very firm, very large bed. There is plenty of lighting choice in the room although it's a little complex to work at first. I didn't like the motion sensor light in the lovely bathroom as I don't like to be woken fully in the night. To go to Pisa train station by bus, turn left out of the hotel, left along S. Biagio and walk to the newspaper kiosk (you can buy tickets here) on the corner. Cross over and take the LAN BLUE. Cost 1.10 direct to the station. Bus drivers will take fares on the bus but only if you have the right money. If you're late back from town, the No 22 from the station is a night bus. It takes a little longer but stops outside the hotel. The other buses seem to stop running about 8.30pm. To get to the Tower, go to the station, cross over to the bus stop outside the hotel and take the LAN RED. BTW The pizzeria just along from the hotel is owned by the same people as own the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel is very modern and very nice. Rooms are standard L-shaped with en suite bathroom. Beds in standard double rooms are massive! The bar stocks a tasty local craft beer and good local wine. We didn't dine at the hotel but had some very tasty bar snacks with our drinks. The bar had a piano player in when we were there. The hotel has plenty of terraces to sun yourself on and the garden is lovely.

The hotel is not in the centre of Pisa nor very close to the train station or airport. This isn't a problem for getting into town as the hotel can get you a cab very quickly, but make sure you get a phone number for booking one on the way back as they are very hard to pick up on the street. We had a very long walk back from town!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were looking for a hotel near the airport, following a late flight. San Ranieri fitted the bill. I paid £85 including breakfast.

The hotel is quirky - unusual and almost futuristic! This was a refreshing change to UK premier inns at airports :) The room was clean and comfortable and the reception was extremely welcoming and friendly.

There is an hourly hotel shuttle to the airport which was useful for picking up the hire car the next day. Wish I had known about that on arrival as the taxi cost 17euro (with no tip). They also guarantee your room until midnight - something alot of guest houses in Pisa seemed unable to offer.

We ate in the restaurant which was nice & the breakfast offered a lot of choice.

San Ranieri was value for money, especially when you throw in the airport shuttle

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Excellent, clean and modern hotel. Good service and excellent reception staff. Set price menu was not a success but chef did make amends after a complaint. Signposts to this hotel are few and far between. Advise you get clear directions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Ranieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Ranieri

Address: Via Filippo Mazzei, 2 | Cisanello, 56124 Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pisa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#2 Family Hotel in Pisa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Ranieri 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel San Ranieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ranieri Hotel
San Ranieri Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Ranieri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.