We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art deco modern” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Ranieri

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Ranieri to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Ranieri
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Filippo Mazzei, 2 | Cisanello, 56124 Pisa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 83 hotels in Pisa
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Art deco modern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very clean and modern hotel within 10 minute taxi from the Leaning Tower and train station. We only spent one afternoon and night in Pisa on our Italy/Greece adventure and it was all the time you need to do the "big stuff" here. San Ranieri was a modern and clean suprise from the more traditional hotels we have stayed in. The small european rooms feel so much larger with the endless "Ikea-like" mirrors. The hallways are dark with black and white photography as wallpaper. The elevator completely clear windows. Our favourite part of the hotel was the dinner restaurant. They have a large back yard of grass and fancy dining that make you feel as though you are at some Hollywood house. A wonderful "stop by" on our trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,534 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    748
    602
    119
    41
    24
See reviews for
351
478
120
352
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
OC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

If you are a huge fan of 80's Art Deco gone mad, then this hotel is for you. The rooms are nice and roomy but have neons ghats outside the windows which show through the curtains in red. The hallways are very dark. The breakfast was the most impressive, fresh made juices in different flavors (what you ask they will make, pineapple, apple, watermelon was fantastic) although if you want a freshly made omelette there is a steep charge. Whatever you do eat only breakfast here as lunch is horrible and we did not dare try dinner. The hotel is quite a ways from the popular sites, so plan on paying 15 Euro for a taxi each way.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very clean, modern Hotel ...
Areas to relax and have a drink......
Great breakfast!.....
Rooms large......
If had a pool would be 5*! .......
Food good ...
Good location for Pisa ..easily assessable ...
Free WiFi ......

Downside was that Service in Restaurant and Bar was poor

Room Tip: All rooms were spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hotel is impressive on arrival. It is very modern and staff are helpful. The rooms are funky, clean and tidy. The beds are big and the bathroom is excellent. A nice big walk in shower.
Breakfast was fab! The location seems to be abit further out but in fact is only 10 minutes on the bus to pisa Centrale. There are several bus stops outside the hotel and the bus costs €1.20.
Would recommend and stay again. We booked a free shuttle service to the airport on departure. Free wifi for any device.
Saw a couple of guests with dogs so must be dog friendly but they caused no noise or distraction.
Couple of restaurants nearby if you didn't want to go far.
We managed to book with a flash sale so the rooms were half price. £100 for two nights.
They offer free cycle and have a shuttle to swimming pool where you can pay to use.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We arrived late from the airport to this vision of neon and white- wow. The exterior and interior are really imaginatively decorated and our kids loved it. Its a bit like staying in an art inatallation.We had a late night drink in the wave bar attached to the restaurant and lay on the outdoor beds in candle light- it was so atmospheric. The rooms were very comfortable, cool and well equipped with lots of smellies and a mini bar. Breakfast was lavish with cooked breakfast and fresh fruit juice prepared by a chef in front of you and there was a huge selection of continental style breakfasts too including chocolates-again our children were really impressed.We would like to stay again and thought a pool would make it perfect for a prolonged stay but read that the hotel has an arrangement with a pool nearby. It also has bikes to take out for free, and as pisa is so level, this would be great. It definitely ranks in our top five hotels, so much more fun than our choice of chain hotels. Such a memorable start to our holiday and good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We decided to book a trip to pisa last minute & we came up with a really good deal for this hotel with British Airways. The hotel itself is a 1-15 minute drive from the airport, so if your going on a short city break then its perfect as you haven't got to do long airport transfers. When we got to the hotel our room was ready for us and was very easy to check in & very quick.

We went to our room and put our bags in there. The room we had was very clean & modern a long with the bathroom which had a big shower and all very spacious. We then wanted to make our way to Pisa so we asked at reception how to get to the centre and they told us we could get a bus where you buy your tickets from a restaurant just round the corner which costs 2 euros which is very reasonable. We also wanted to go to florence so reception printed of train times for us there and back.

The breakfasts in the hotel were very good. Lots of variety. Fresh fruit, pastries, cereals, sausages eggs ect. & also they have someone making omlettes for you and fruit smoothies and the outside area is very pleasent.

Overall I would deffiniately recomend this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We booked here as we had a late arrival at Pisa. Easy to find only 10 mins drive from the airport, the hotel is great quality. The room is large and well equipped with a large bathroom. Breakfast was included and there was an abundance of choice. We will definitely stay again. No need to pay for parking either, there is plenty of safe parking on the street level right outside.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel San Ranieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Ranieri

Address: Via Filippo Mazzei, 2 | Cisanello, 56124 Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#1 Business Hotel in Pisa
#2 Family Hotel in Pisa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Ranieri 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel San Ranieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ranieri Hotel
San Ranieri Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Ranieri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.