We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a real 4 star. So disappointed.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Ranieri

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Ranieri to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Ranieri
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Filippo Mazzei, 2 | Cisanello, 56124 Pisa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 83 hotels in Pisa
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not a real 4 star. So disappointed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed there for christmas eve because of the restaurant. When we arrived, it was closed. No chrismas eve dinner for us. No apologies.

Internet did not work in the room. When we complained they said "it is not possible". Ok, i´m a moron, can connect my laptop and cell phone only in the reception, not inside the room. Did not fix it till the end of our stay.

Bad neighborhood, works if you have a car.

Staff, in the other hand, were great and really helpful (except for the one that said that it was impossible, and it was my fault that i could not connect to the internet inside the room), and the room really confort.

Breakfast just ok, not so good. 7 o´clock a.m. and eggs were gone, and no more were put there.

In the end, we left one day earlier than we had planned. Disappointed.

So, it´s a confortable 3 star, in my opinion, good for the price if you are on a budget and have a car to explore the region.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,553 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    758
    609
    119
    42
    25
See reviews for
357
485
121
353
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This hotel has a very interesting quality/price ratio and is located at 100 meters from Cisanello Hospital. The room was elegant and functional at the same time. It was possible to have a self service breakfast from 5:00 a.m. The personnel was very helpful. Free wifi (not so common in Italy).
The hotel has a very good restaurant, we got a buffet lunch at 13:00 that was impressive in quality at a good price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffs
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Quirky hotel, quite difficult to find but no missing it when you get close. Looks like and feels like a 1970 futuristic film set but sort of it works (well you'll either love it of loathe it). Bedrooms comfortable with good bathrooms although corridors very dark and doors heavy with baggage in tow. Had adjoining rooms so kids were able to chill out more than normal. Restaurant for evening meals was very pricey for the quality but was just about OK, especially if you take advantage of the menu offer.Breakfast was much better. Free WiFI brilliant.

I'd go back to hotel but Pisa is a once off trip because aside from leaning tower and park around it, there's nothing to recommend the place at all!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

hotel is well located in in Pisa and easy to get from highway. You must have car other way you cannot get out and in.
the hotel staff is warm and nice . room is Ok but the décor is somehow tiring and to 70th style..
some will like it but others will say it is not fit into Tuscany environment.
BTW –regarding cleanness , have found used chewing gum in the clean towel - disgusting
Hotel restaurant is reasonable, nothing to write home about, service was nice but terrible slow.
Breakfast was Ok .
It is ok option but not more than that. Bit expensive.
.

Room Tip: must have car, do not take the ale carat menue in the resturant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed in early November for 2 nights. We really liked the hotel. Very peaceful surroundings, very helpful staff and excellent breakfast. The hotel also provided free pickup and drop off to the train station.

Room Tip: Check out the restaurant near to the hotel. Very good Italian food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempton Park, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 night during our Honeymoon in May. Lovely hotel, great helpful staff, clean ans spacious rooms, very very modern. The bus stop right around the corner from this hotel which is very convenient. Only issue we had was the the food wasn't too great. We only had the Buffet breakfast but it was all ice cold. The bacon was horrible, the eggs cold and the coffee terrible. All and all we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is probably one of the best - value for money places you can stay in Pisa (or even in Tuscany region).

Hotel is near Pisa airport (which can be your cheap gateway to Italy, because of Rinyair) in a nice quite area. Hotel is very modern and clean and rooms are really nice and comfortable.

Pros:
- Nice location
- Clean
- Nice decor
- Big rooms
- Excellent service (reception, restaurant, bar)
- Value for money
- Parking

Cons:
- The only thing missing from this hotel is a pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel San Ranieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Ranieri

Address: Via Filippo Mazzei, 2 | Cisanello, 56124 Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pisa
#1 Business Hotel in Pisa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#2 Family Hotel in Pisa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#8 Best Value Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Ranieri 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel San Ranieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ranieri Hotel
San Ranieri Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Ranieri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.