We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Ranieri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Ranieri to your Saves list
Hotel San Ranieri
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Filippo Mazzei, 2 | Cisanello, 56124 Pisa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice but..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

hotel is well located in in Pisa and easy to get from highway. You must have car other way you cannot get out and in.
the hotel staff is warm and nice . room is Ok but the décor is somehow tiring and to 70th style..
some will like it but others will say it is not fit into Tuscany environment.
BTW –regarding cleanness , have found used chewing gum in the clean towel - disgusting
Hotel restaurant is reasonable, nothing to write home about, service was nice but terrible slow.
Breakfast was Ok .
It is ok option but not more than that. Bit expensive.
.

Room Tip: must have car, do not take the ale carat menue in the resturant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    935
    696
    136
    52
    26
See reviews for
476
621
138
395
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reigate
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed in early November for 2 nights. We really liked the hotel. Very peaceful surroundings, very helpful staff and excellent breakfast. The hotel also provided free pickup and drop off to the train station.

Room Tip: Check out the restaurant near to the hotel. Very good Italian food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempton Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 night during our Honeymoon in May. Lovely hotel, great helpful staff, clean ans spacious rooms, very very modern. The bus stop right around the corner from this hotel which is very convenient. Only issue we had was the the food wasn't too great. We only had the Buffet breakfast but it was all ice cold. The bacon was horrible, the eggs cold and the coffee terrible. All and all we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is probably one of the best - value for money places you can stay in Pisa (or even in Tuscany region).

Hotel is near Pisa airport (which can be your cheap gateway to Italy, because of Rinyair) in a nice quite area. Hotel is very modern and clean and rooms are really nice and comfortable.

Pros:
- Nice location
- Clean
- Nice decor
- Big rooms
- Excellent service (reception, restaurant, bar)
- Value for money
- Parking

Cons:
- The only thing missing from this hotel is a pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

So I was at the San Ranieri for one week. The hotel is located outside Pisa center, however the busses run frequently, and takes 10-15 min - So that is not a problem.

The hotel is very aesthetically nice, very clean lines and it really looks like at top modern hotel.

In my opinion there is a issue tho - This is not a holliday hotel. The San Ranieri is clearly more suited for conferences and work related seminars and not so much a relax hotel. The reason for this is missing facilities as swimming pool, staffed bar, and other facilities you might wish for.

Lack of Facilities as no pool etc is no problem ofcourse, as you are aware of this, however i found the unstaffed bar. (we had to run around chasing staff whenever we needed coffe, drinks and others.)

We only had one dinner at the hotel. This for two reasons; Our first experience eating at the hotel was not convincing, and there a reeeaally good and cosy restaurant 50m down the street, witch is awsome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed one night here in October after visiting Leaning Tower of Pisa. The hotel was pleasant and served its purposes well. The rooms are colourful and very different to anything else we stayed in during our tour of Italy. There was a function on during our stay which resulted in the hotel bar area feeling untidy and unrelaxing with children running around which was disappointed buy unavoidable. The breakfast was excellent - scrambled eggs were the best I have ever tasted. The location of the hotel is somewhat away from the main sites of Pisa which would mean a car is beneficial although I was not particularly charmed by Pisa so this was not an issue.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed here 3 nights and though the hotel was quite nice, the location is pretty terrible. If you have a car it would be fine, but it's nowhere near the old town or the main tourist attractions. You either have to waste a lot of money on cabs, or lots of time on indirect buses or walking a less-than-scenic suburban route. The room was nice and clean, but hard to figure out the buttons for all the lights. The breakfast was the highlight. It is included with your room, and is served around 7 until 10:30. There are many hot and cold options, from eggs to cold cuts to pastries and fruit. For lunch I would go to the restaurant around the corner which is more like a commissary counter then turns into a proper restaurant at night. Prices are quite reasonable, and you can buy your bus tickets there as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel San Ranieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Ranieri

Address: Via Filippo Mazzei, 2 | Cisanello, 56124 Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#1 Business Hotel in Pisa
#2 Family Hotel in Pisa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#6 Best Value Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Ranieri 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel San Ranieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ranieri Hotel
San Ranieri Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Ranieri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.