We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky hotel!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Ranieri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Ranieri to your Saves list
Hotel San Ranieri
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Filippo Mazzei, 2 | Cisanello, 56124 Pisa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quirky hotel!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed one night here in October after visiting Leaning Tower of Pisa. The hotel was pleasant and served its purposes well. The rooms are colourful and very different to anything else we stayed in during our tour of Italy. There was a function on during our stay which resulted in the hotel bar area feeling untidy and unrelaxing with children running around which was disappointed buy unavoidable. The breakfast was excellent - scrambled eggs were the best I have ever tasted. The location of the hotel is somewhat away from the main sites of Pisa which would mean a car is beneficial although I was not particularly charmed by Pisa so this was not an issue.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    980
    727
    145
    57
    28
See reviews for
508
656
142
402
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed here 3 nights and though the hotel was quite nice, the location is pretty terrible. If you have a car it would be fine, but it's nowhere near the old town or the main tourist attractions. You either have to waste a lot of money on cabs, or lots of time on indirect buses or walking a less-than-scenic suburban route. The room was nice and clean, but hard to figure out the buttons for all the lights. The breakfast was the highlight. It is included with your room, and is served around 7 until 10:30. There are many hot and cold options, from eggs to cold cuts to pastries and fruit. For lunch I would go to the restaurant around the corner which is more like a commissary counter then turns into a proper restaurant at night. Prices are quite reasonable, and you can buy your bus tickets there as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen, scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Very modern hotel so long as you do not need to be in the city centre. The bus stop at the newsagent 100m away all buses go to city centre,13,14,22 blue LAM, eur1.10 for a single which you buy at machine at bus stop and validate on bus. Hotel food would not rate as highly as others , quite expensive. The 2 resaurants close by are both excellent, in particular the "dalla signora buona"-not a vast menu but food is excellent.
Rooms are very clean though the lighting is too fancy for it'own good!
Hotel is very clean and quiet.
There is not much of a lounge to wait in and sometimes it takes awee while to get the barmans eye.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I travel a lot and this hotel struck me for the quality of the service.

Good place for overnight stays.
Best deals are found at the hotel website, no need to look around.
Excellent customer service.
Convenient free shuttle service.
The restaurant is sophisticated and highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Hotel was good value for our weekend in Pisa. The room was spacious and clean.

Only a short cab ride from airport - 10 mins.

Check in - On our arrival Friday night our check in was prompt, BUT when we went to our room and unlocked the door there was another person in that room! We went down to reception to advise the receptionist and we were told that we went in the wrong room. When we challenged her about the fact the door unlocked with our key, she advised this was not so and the lady had left the door unlocked!

Finally getting to our room, the room is very modern. Unfortunately the Air Con is controlled by reception and not in your room - be nice to be told this at check in. TV is difficult to turn off - it kept turning back on, I think they have gone all the mods they could but really need to look into usability.

We had dinner on the first night in the hotel - the dinner staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was excellent and service was excellent, i would recommend eating here. (at night)

Breakfast was good and plentiful choices. The staff however do not clean away dishes and with better management the breakfast could run a lot smoother.

We spent Saturday out for the day, arriving back at our hotel around 7 - we tried to get a drink from the bar and had to ask twice at reception for service and took about 10mins. Once again, better management could make the bar experience that much better. We took our wine to floor 2 and sat on one of the terraces, it was a lovely evening but they were not serving outside because of the possiblity of rain. Such a waste, with such a lovely outdoor area.

All up - the hotel is modern, easy to get to from the airport - a short taxi ride to central Pisa (10 mins), food is excellent. On the downside, staff/management bring this hotel down.

I would also recommend the italian restaurant on the corner as you enter the hotel - great value, great food (the hotel can be a little pricey).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Really nice, modern hotel - close to both the airport and to central Pisa. It was super clean, very quiet, and good value for money. Breakfast was excellent, but there was no pool or other leisure facilities on site which would make this hotel good for longer stays (the pool is a short drive away but we didn't visit it). We travelled with our two daughters and my mother and had two adjoining rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night for my girlfriends birthday. Even though it was one night, we were looked after from start to finish. Helpful staff and amazing Junior Suite that we stayed in. Would recommend to any one.
Ps. No problem with the Air Con in our room ...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
2.1 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
2.6 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
0.3 mi away
AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#7 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 stars 978 reviews
3.1 mi away
Abitalia Tower Plaza
Abitalia Tower Plaza
#13 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 942 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Ranieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Ranieri

Address: Via Filippo Mazzei, 2 | Cisanello, 56124 Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pisa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#2 Family Hotel in Pisa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Ranieri 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel San Ranieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ranieri Hotel
San Ranieri Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Ranieri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.