We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent modern hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Ranieri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Ranieri to your Saves list
Hotel San Ranieri
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Filippo Mazzei, 2 | Cisanello, 56124, Pisa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
aberdeen, scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent modern hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Very modern hotel so long as you do not need to be in the city centre. The bus stop at the newsagent 100m away all buses go to city centre,13,14,22 blue LAM, eur1.10 for a single which you buy at machine at bus stop and validate on bus. Hotel food would not rate as highly as others , quite expensive. The 2 resaurants close by are both excellent, in particular the "dalla signora buona"-not a vast menu but food is excellent.
Rooms are very clean though the lighting is too fancy for it'own good!
Hotel is very clean and quiet.
There is not much of a lounge to wait in and sometimes it takes awee while to get the barmans eye.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank n0ggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I travel a lot and this hotel struck me for the quality of the service.

Good place for overnight stays.
Best deals are found at the hotel website, no need to look around.
Excellent customer service.
Convenient free shuttle service.
The restaurant is sophisticated and highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brvn0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Hotel was good value for our weekend in Pisa. The room was spacious and clean.

Only a short cab ride from airport - 10 mins.

Check in - On our arrival Friday night our check in was prompt, BUT when we went to our room and unlocked the door there was another person in that room! We went down to reception to advise the receptionist and we were told that we went in the wrong room. When we challenged her about the fact the door unlocked with our key, she advised this was not so and the lady had left the door unlocked!

Finally getting to our room, the room is very modern. Unfortunately the Air Con is controlled by reception and not in your room - be nice to be told this at check in. TV is difficult to turn off - it kept turning back on, I think they have gone all the mods they could but really need to look into usability.

We had dinner on the first night in the hotel - the dinner staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was excellent and service was excellent, i would recommend eating here. (at night)

Breakfast was good and plentiful choices. The staff however do not clean away dishes and with better management the breakfast could run a lot smoother.

We spent Saturday out for the day, arriving back at our hotel around 7 - we tried to get a drink from the bar and had to ask twice at reception for service and took about 10mins. Once again, better management could make the bar experience that much better. We took our wine to floor 2 and sat on one of the terraces, it was a lovely evening but they were not serving outside because of the possiblity of rain. Such a waste, with such a lovely outdoor area.

All up - the hotel is modern, easy to get to from the airport - a short taxi ride to central Pisa (10 mins), food is excellent. On the downside, staff/management bring this hotel down.

I would also recommend the italian restaurant on the corner as you enter the hotel - great value, great food (the hotel can be a little pricey).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PetaMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Really nice, modern hotel - close to both the airport and to central Pisa. It was super clean, very quiet, and good value for money. Breakfast was excellent, but there was no pool or other leisure facilities on site which would make this hotel good for longer stays (the pool is a short drive away but we didn't visit it). We travelled with our two daughters and my mother and had two adjoining rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night for my girlfriends birthday. Even though it was one night, we were looked after from start to finish. Helpful staff and amazing Junior Suite that we stayed in. Would recommend to any one.
Ps. No problem with the Air Con in our room ...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 7sparky7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hotel Ranieri is a hotel which is probably UK equivalent upper 3* rather than an equivalent UK 4* - but that is purely because there are no Leisure facilities or proper lounge area. But they are the only features which reduce its value. In every other aspect, which arguably are more important, it excels and I would strongly recommend as a base to explore Pisa and Florence.

Situated a ten minute drive from Pisa airport the courtesy hotel shuttle makes it a simple transfer. This must be booked via e mail ahead of travel. Its worth double checking at reception from your return journey. Only because of its popularity.

Upon arrival met with really friendly staff which continued throughout the stay in every part of the hotel. There was only one member of staff who was a bit short in his interaction but not a problem. (maybe just a bad day!) There is a happy hour which seems to go on all night.

The theme of the hotel is futuristic with some real qwerky features. The bedrooms are great with brilliant facilities. There is a strange arrangement with the air con where each room appears to be controlled from reception. So you just ask for the power to be activated and you control from normal pad in the room. There must have been a past problem. Room was spotless.

The buffet breakfast is very good. Hot and cold with omelettes cooked to order and other normal brekkie options in hot buffet. Dinner is cooked to order whether the Meal Deal (3 courses plus wine 29 euros) or Al a Carte. For two we ate to excess for under 60 Euros.

One strong recommendation is the restaurant next to the Hotel. Small family run with eye popping servings and great quality. Average 3 courses including four pre dinner drinks and bottle of house red and liqueurs was 58 Euros for two.

200yds from hotel is a bus service running to Pisa Centre every ten mins for a journey of 10mins. Very easy and convenient. Keep an eye on last bus - hotel give you a timetable.

Train to Florence each hour taking 55mins and costing 14 Euros return ! Very cheap and a great way to check out the area.

So if you are looking for a weekend away this is hard to beat. You stay near the airport and Pisa with Florence close by. You will be in a clean well appointed hotel with great food at a reasonable cost.

The guest comment book says a lot. Not one bad entry - and no they were not written in the same handwriting !!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunbedder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A bit concerned when our 15 Euro taxi started heading into suburbia but then came across the impressive modern exterior and felt relieved.
I've stayed in hundreds of hotels but this one is different with bright red industrial fixtures. Also the method of turning on the TV was simple (if you knew how !) Answer press on and hold the 1 button down for 5 seconds !!
Room and shower functional and clean and continental breakfast choice good with a nice garden to eat it in. Friendly staff.
Free shuttle bus to airport every hour but not after 9pm.
I'd stay again.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor at the same side as reception and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OlePompey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
2.1 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
2.6 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#2 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
2.0 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#7 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott
1.8 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
2.1 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#9 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Ranieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Ranieri

Address: Via Filippo Mazzei, 2 | Cisanello, 56124, Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#1 Business Hotel in Pisa
#2 Family Hotel in Pisa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#5 Best Value Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Ranieri 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel San Ranieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ranieri Hotel
San Ranieri Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing