We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nightmare!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Relais dei Fiori

Save Saved
You added Relais dei Fiori to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 10 more sites!
Relais dei Fiori
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Via Carducci 35/37, 56127 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 220 Pisa B&B and Inns
north yorkshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a nightmare!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

we were booked into this hotel as a birthday present from my family, and were looking forward to our stay very much. we arrived at night time, by taxi. the hotel was in darkness, and we really thought what have we come to? we tried all the doors to find they were all locked, there were no lights on in reception, and noticed an intercom on the door that said ring for help, so we rang the button, and eventually someone answered, and quoted another hotel that we had to go to in order to check in. we could hardly hear what he was saying, due to the actual height of the intercom, i am quite tall but i could not hear what he was saying, plus the street name he quoted we could not understand, and also there was quite a lot of noise in the street. so we set off to try and find the other hotel, there was a tiny map pinned to the door but it was difficult to read in the dark, we went up and down every street, which is no fun when you are dragging suitcases around. after about an hour of walkng up and down the streets, we still had no success, we even asked 3 local policemen who also could not help, so we returned to the hotel and asked again over the intercom, and it was clear they really did not want to help us, we stood our ground and eventually they sent a member of staff from the other hotel to escort us there in order to check in, so we thought we must be staying there. but no, after the checking in process and paying city tax which we were not told about, we then got a key for the Relais Dei Flori, which you have to let yourself into via a side door, no reception, just a lift to get you to your room. we eventually got into our room which was tiny to say the least, pretty decor in a Laura Ashley meets Michaelangelo kind of way, pretty roses painted on the ceiling and all that. so i thought i would hang up my clothes, this was 2 hours after the taxi driver had first dropped us off! the wardrobes were locked! nowhere to hang my clothes! so we went out and had a couple of drinks, which really it was only a 5 minutes walk to where it was all happening, we enjoyed a couple of drinks in a lovely street cafe, then made our way back to the hotel, as we were both tired after all the travelling, and the walking! i settled down into really quite a comfy bed, and as my husband got into his side, the bed was so close to the window, he just brushed past the curtains and the whole lot fell on his head! including the heavy metal curtain pole! i have to say we found that hilarious after all the stress of the night! so we settled down to sleep, but the noise in the street was appalling! there must have been about 200 people drinking in the street outside our window, laughing, shouting, singing, this went on til 5.30 in the morning, obviously we got no sleep, and were exhausted in the morning, i tried shutting the shutters but they would not close, we went down for breakfast and it didn't get any better, the service was to put it politely, reluctant, the food was as if it had been there all week and we were told if we wanted another cup of tea we would have to pay for it, luckily i don't drink
tea so my husband had mine. we set off for a walk about, and i have to say the location was very good, in the sense of getting to the leaning tower, and the shops, but it didn't make up for the night before. luckily we were heading off for florence the next day so we couldn't wait to check out and make our way to florence!!!

Room Tip: don't stay in this hotel, unless you are prepared to put up with a hike to check in, a sleepless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    83
    42
    13
    7
See reviews for
8
108
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed in a room on the top floor at the front of the building next to the street.It was extremely noisy, particularly at 3am, 4am and 5am! The room was dirty and the bedroom carpet soiled. The bathroom would also have benefited from being cleaned. We were aware of the rather unusual check in procedures but these were not mentioned on the confirmation e mail when we booked. We only saw two members of staff but both were extremely pleasant and helpful.Breakfast was limited but adequate. We would not stay in this hotel again

Room Tip: Avoid the front of the building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Relais was both clean and comfortable with an exceptionally comfortable bed which gave us unexpectedly good nights. The staff were helpful and friendly, something that was not always the case elsewhere. Breakfast was adequate to good. We would happily stay here again and recommend it to others

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

If you arrive at this little hotel one is sent around a maze to their "mother" hotel to sign in and get your keys. After breakfast, they open only automatic doors so no human is around. Room clean but bathroom weird with an elegant complicated shower which washes the floor. I feel sorry for those people arriving after breakfast with heavy suitcases.Pisa is full of places, watch out when you reserve here!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crazy21girl
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here last week for 3 nights, and it was perfect, i was a bit wary after the reviews but would stay here again! Its not even a 5 minute walk from the tower, has plenty of nice cafe/restaurants all nearby and only a 20 minute walk to the trainstation. The room was clean and cleaned every day, the bath/shower were great.
Checking in at the other hotel was not a problem, it's on your confirmation and also on the hotel website which surely people would check once booked? We got a lift to our hotel after checking in as it was raining, which was nice!
No complaints at all!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Having read the reviews on here I feel the need to stand up for this hidden gem. Yes you do have to check in at another hotel, however, this is made perfectly clear on the website and is only a few streets away. Really no drama as long as you are prepared for a short walk. The hotel itself is excellently located, a stones throw from the tower itself and lots of restaurants close by. It is in walking distance of the river, bars and some very good ice-cream establishments! We found the hotel to be very good indeed, the room was spacious, the en suite was lovely and the general furnishing was incredibly pleasant. Breakfast wasn't bad, we had a selection of ham, cheese, bread, fruit and pastries. Checking out was - it was done when we checked in so just had to leave the key in the door when we left. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants an easy, relatively cheap stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Relais dei Fiori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais dei Fiori

Also Known As:
Relais Dei Fiori Hotel
Relais Dei Fiori Pisa
Relais Dei Fiori Hotel Pisa
Address: Via Carducci 35/37, 56127 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 220 B&Bs / Inns in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais dei Fiori 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Relais dei Fiori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais dei Fiori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.