We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if you don’t speak Italian!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Novecento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Novecento to your Saves list
Hotel Novecento
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Roma 37, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 80 Hotels in Pisa
Wevelgem, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Avoid if you don’t speak Italian!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I am not one that frequently writes very bad/negative reviews or read them for that matter, but you should be warned for this hotel. When I arrived at the hotel, I was greeted by the manager, an old Italian guy who didn't understand/speak English. OK, it has it charms, a ‘real Italian’, but not to run a hotel!
Basically in order to book my breakfast, I had to look up the translation on the internet. In addition, the television and hair dryer were not working (properly), but I did not bother to mention it due to the language issue. However, the worst experience was the sleepless nights due to construction works (during the night!) in the adjacent building. Fair enough, this was not Novecento’s fault. But they did nothing about the problem, just suggested me to use earplugs. Hmm, if only I had thought about that. Really offered no service at all or any financial compensation.
The third day, ready, fully packed to check-out and switch hotels, a younger woman (who spoke English, thank god) was very accommodating and offered me another room in the main building.

To sum up: could have been a great stay if no problems had occurred, cause then you notice the lack of comprehension and lack of service to their guests.

P.S.: There is indeed a distinct smell in the rooms as mentioned by Kathleen283, I think this is due to the products they use to was the towels and sheets.
P.S.S.: If you are still planning to go to this hotel, be prepared to pay in cash.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    77
    33
    9
    12
See reviews for
42
96
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night and it was ideal for our purposes. Close to the tower etc and also near enough to the University area where you can find less touristy places to eat. The Novecento is a modern hotel in an older building. It has been decorated in the style of an older manor house - we even had ceiling paintings in our room. It all feels very calm and relaxing inside and there's a pretty garden to sit in too although as the hotel lacks a bar this was less good in terms of chilling out after a day of tourism.

It all looks freshly decorated and is clean throughout. Our room faced the street but as it was on the second floor we were not that bothered by street noise (although there was some shouting in the small hours). For a longer stay, I would request a room at the back. Comfy bed and modern, if compact, bathroom. The internet connection was reliable in our room unlike any of the other places we stayed on our holiday.

A short taxi ride took us to the airport when we left.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 days - two children and two adults. It is a very nice, quiet hotel with big rooms. The hotel has a wonderful garden and very nice breakfast - you can buy it for 5 euro extra. The staff is very friendly. If you are going to Pisa we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel and rooms have a very nice decor. They have a beautiful inner courtyard. Great location: just a couple of blocks away from the tower. You have a lot of places to eat nearby.
The TV remote in our room didn’t work, so we asked for a new one. We had to ask at least 3 different times.
In the bath you have a towel warmer. We asked to turn it on, but they never did.
The room we had was really big. If you can’t sleep well, request an internal room. The noise from the street wasn’t an issue for us, but it’s a very crowded street.
The breakfast wasn’t bad, and you take it with the view of the garden.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We came across this hotel by accident, and not knowing how good a location we had picked, although the reviews were very good on trip advisor. Doesn't appear much from outside, but step inside and it is a different story. The decor is beautiful and clean, the hotel manager immediately set up a room for us, which was last minute at 12pm and within 10 mins we were unpacking I'm a lovely clean room. Bed was firm but really comfy. Was worried about road outside but the shutters in the room both shut out light ( I had a great nights sleep and usually sleep poorly) and noise was dulled to a minimum. The hotel was really quiet but when we went to explore you are near all the main attractions within 5 mins walk and we went every direction thinking how lucky we were to find such a close hotel but still quiet and relaxed

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Definitely recommend this hotel. The staff was very helpful. Room was nicely decorated and clean. Good breakfast. Lovely Garden. Hotel is only 5 minutes walk from the Pisa Tower. If I go back to Pisa, I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, New York
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Pisa is not cheap and this is a reasonably priced hotel within two blocks of the Campo dei Miracoli. We liked the old-world, unhurried atmosphere of Pisa so much that we spent the whole day after checking out exploring further. The hotel was nice enough to hold our luggage. There is only on-street parking but the hotel also gave us a parking card gratis so we didn't have to keep feeding the meter. We also had rooms 106 and 107 mentioned by another reviewer but our experience was completely different. The rooms were clean, quiet, opening onto a lovely garden--no smell, nice breeze. Shower was good. Breakfast was limited but tastey and coffee good. The breakfast room looked out on the charming garden courtyard as well. Staff friendly and helpful. My only small complaints: bed were hard and wi-fi connection only worked in reception area. I would stay there again for the convenient location.

Room Tip: Rooms on the garden--quiet, lovely courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Novecento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novecento

Address: via Roma 37, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Novecento 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Novecento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novecento Hotel Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Novecento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.