We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible smell in our two rooms!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Novecento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Novecento to your Saves list
Hotel Novecento
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Roma 37, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 75 Hotels in Pisa
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible smell in our two rooms!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We spent two nights in this hotel and we had two rooms in the garden (106 and 107). The smell was horrible although we left the two windows wide open day and night. Once back home realised that my lugguge and all my clothes were impregnated with this horrible smell (something like chemical toilets). The staff was not at all pleasant and never asked how things were going and the chambermaid to which we immediately said there was a very strange smell, said it was because the room had just been cleaned and that it would go away. One morning we had a nice receptionist (a young lady). Breakfast was ok and location is nice but don't stay there, except if you have a terrible cold and can't smell anything!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    84
    37
    11
    12
See reviews for
44
106
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very nice cute and cosy little hotel owned by a very kind Italian family. The house was a former living house but renovated rooms and interior. only a 5 minute walk away from the famous leaning tower. 15minutes by walk to the central station to leave for other spots in the Toscana.
When Pisa, then this Hotel!!

Room Tip: Ask for a lodge in the cute little Garden!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

we'd very good experience with the personnel of the hotel, the building and rooms are exactly as you see in the pics. The hotel is run by a family, who are very nice and helpfull. We'd got 2 rooms, the first days at the top floor very nice and clean and the second type of room was at the garden, even bigger and nicer. I'll be back there for sure if I need to go to Pisa again.

Room Tip: rooms upstairs are lovely and good size. But the rooms at the garden are lovely and more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We chose this hotel for its location and the look of the rooms on Booking.com. We, unfortunately, were given Room 107 in the garden. There are three or four of such rooms which look like lean-to sheds. The room certainly looked nothing like the advertised rooms. However that said we spent very little time in the room and it was cleaned every day with clean towels.

The breakfast was okay with a limited supply of fruit juice and coffee. The staff were very pleasant.

Would not recommend the garden rooms.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a garden room as in the hotter months mozzies would definitely be a big problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We just spent there few days on business trip and I would happily recommend this hotel for everyone that does not seek for luxury, but enjoys quiet spots, well located and with very friendly staff.

High speed Internet and terrace overlooking trees with birds wake up we're additional bonus.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Room 104 was ready for me (ground and to the street) but I asked for a different one (to the garden and in the first floor) and I got 206. Nice clean room. Rather small - missing larger tabel for my stuff. Mosquito net in windows was OK, fridge, bathroom clean, quiet place. Not so huge selection on breakfast, but I stuffed my stomach well. The road in front of the hotel is closed between 00 and 6 for cars.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at the Novocento in Pisa on the last day of a 10 day tour of Tuscany primarily as we were flying out the next day from Pisa but also for its proximity to the Tower complex. The positives were the location (5 mins walk to the Tower and Duomo), clean room, AC, cost, feeling of safety inside the hotel, and the super-helpful female member of staff who could not do enough for us. The negatives were having to park the hire car on the street (if you do this, remember to pay for each hour through the night to the time you intend to leave the next day or you’ll get a ticket), and the overly-officious male member of staff (who would not even let us take our key with us when we left to tour the sights). We did not sample the buffet breakfast but it looked to be mainly packet goods. The garden looked nice for chilling out too (we had a view of it from the room). All things considered this was a great choice for a hotel for one night. It’s not luxurious but it is completely adequate if you just need somewhere to stay when visiting the sites and then flying out the next day.
P.S. We contacted all the hotels we were staying in on this trip to confirm our reservations before flying out. This was the only hotel that did not respond.

Room Tip: Choose one at the back of the hotel away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Novecento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novecento

Address: via Roma 37, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Novecento 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Novecento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novecento Hotel Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Novecento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.