We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Novecento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Novecento to your Saves list
Hotel Novecento
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Roma 37, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 80 Hotels in Pisa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice and quiet hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Room 104 was ready for me (ground and to the street) but I asked for a different one (to the garden and in the first floor) and I got 206. Nice clean room. Rather small - missing larger tabel for my stuff. Mosquito net in windows was OK, fridge, bathroom clean, quiet place. Not so huge selection on breakfast, but I stuffed my stomach well. The road in front of the hotel is closed between 00 and 6 for cars.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    77
    33
    9
    12
See reviews for
42
96
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at the Novocento in Pisa on the last day of a 10 day tour of Tuscany primarily as we were flying out the next day from Pisa but also for its proximity to the Tower complex. The positives were the location (5 mins walk to the Tower and Duomo), clean room, AC, cost, feeling of safety inside the hotel, and the super-helpful female member of staff who could not do enough for us. The negatives were having to park the hire car on the street (if you do this, remember to pay for each hour through the night to the time you intend to leave the next day or you’ll get a ticket), and the overly-officious male member of staff (who would not even let us take our key with us when we left to tour the sights). We did not sample the buffet breakfast but it looked to be mainly packet goods. The garden looked nice for chilling out too (we had a view of it from the room). All things considered this was a great choice for a hotel for one night. It’s not luxurious but it is completely adequate if you just need somewhere to stay when visiting the sites and then flying out the next day.
P.S. We contacted all the hotels we were staying in on this trip to confirm our reservations before flying out. This was the only hotel that did not respond.

Room Tip: Choose one at the back of the hotel away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinto Euganeo, Italy
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

First of all, I am amazed by some of the positive reviews this hotel has received. I'm afraid I was pretty disappointed. Don't be fooled into thinkimg this is anything like the wonderful Novecento in Venice. Apparently, they have nothing to do with one another. Initially, I was put in room 101. It was a pretty hot day and the air conditioning didn't work properly. The room was absolutely roasting and overlaid with a strong smell of air-freshening products. There was a very weird shower room - a semi circular closet installed in the corner of the room. I returned later that evening to find that the electrics in the room had failed completely, so I was moved (no assistance or apology) to room107 in the garden. It was really dreadful: the roof/ceiling had no insulation and it radiated heat directly onto the bed, which rendered the air-conditioning almost completely useless. The room smelled damp and there was mould in the shower. The smell, as in the previous room was heavy with cleaning/air-freshening products which were nauseating.
There is no bar. The receptionist was pretty surly and would not permit the key card to be taken from the hotel - a first. The mosquitoes were everywhere in a very unkempt garden. I felt that the management had absolutely no interest in our comfort. I hated every moment I stayed there. Sleeping in such a damp-smelling room was difficult for me. For €90 per night for a single room, it was really terrible value. However, on a more positive note, breakfast was fine. Warm croissants. Yoghurt. Good coffee. The hotel is clean and it is obvious that the owners have tried to make it smart with modern furniture - Louis Ghost chairs in the breakfast room - and good sanitaryware. But until they upgrade the air conditioners and do some work to get rid of the serious damp problem and do some insulating, it's all a bit of a waste. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had a couple of rooms (201 and 202) - both were fine. 201 had a nice balcony overlooking the garden. 202 overlooked the road and was probably therefore noisier. The hotel is in easy walking distance of The Tower. Parking is 1.25 euros per hour in the road outside. Watch out though - we got a ticket for 39 Euros for parking in the road when they wanted to clean it (early Monday morning) - although I don't read/speak Italian I didn't see any signs about that so wasn't at all happy. The friendly staff don't speak any significant English by the way - which was a surprise to me and the case everywhere went in Tuscany. We were unable to get in the hotel for 10 minutes one day when the staff had vanished and had locked the doors. NB We couldn't get the wi-fi to work on any of our devices despite them giving us the password.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

This was a lovely small hotel - very friendly and helpful people and close to the main square with the Leaning Tower. Complimentary water. The rooms facing the courtyard are very nice. It is also a short walk from the Europecar pick up point and a short drive from the airport.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We must have been given a free upgrade as our room was fantastic - we had a large roof terrace overlooking their beautiful garden. The room itself was what you'd expect, but the roof terrace really was something special. It's just a shame they don't have wifi in the rooms.

The leaning tower is only a few minutes walk from the hotel, and we found street parking easy right in front of the hotel. In the evening, we went into the town centre which was about 10mins walk along some very quiet streets... We probably wouldn't stay overnight if we returned to Pisa, instead treating it as a day trip from places like Florence or Lucca.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Novecento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novecento

Address: via Roma 37, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Novecento 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Novecento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novecento Hotel Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Novecento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.