We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact and central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Novecento

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Novecento to your Saves list
Hotel Novecento
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Roma 37, 56126, Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Compact and central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had a couple of rooms (201 and 202) - both were fine. 201 had a nice balcony overlooking the garden. 202 overlooked the road and was probably therefore noisier. The hotel is in easy walking distance of The Tower. Parking is 1.25 euros per hour in the road outside. Watch out though - we got a ticket for 39 Euros for parking in the road when they wanted to clean it (early Monday morning) - although I don't read/speak Italian I didn't see any signs about that so wasn't at all happy. The friendly staff don't speak any significant English by the way - which was a surprise to me and the case everywhere went in Tuscany. We were unable to get in the hotel for 10 minutes one day when the staff had vanished and had locked the doors. NB We couldn't get the wi-fi to work on any of our devices despite them giving us the password.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil_Jung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

This was a lovely small hotel - very friendly and helpful people and close to the main square with the Leaning Tower. Complimentary water. The rooms facing the courtyard are very nice. It is also a short walk from the Europecar pick up point and a short drive from the airport.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
149 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We must have been given a free upgrade as our room was fantastic - we had a large roof terrace overlooking their beautiful garden. The room itself was what you'd expect, but the roof terrace really was something special. It's just a shame they don't have wifi in the rooms.

The leaning tower is only a few minutes walk from the hotel, and we found street parking easy right in front of the hotel. In the evening, we went into the town centre which was about 10mins walk along some very quiet streets... We probably wouldn't stay overnight if we returned to Pisa, instead treating it as a day trip from places like Florence or Lucca.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jn117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The hotel itself was very inviting -- nice design and comfortable room with a balcony/views. The leaning tower is just up the block, so if you're just going to see that it's somewhat closeby.

It's a little bit on the outskirts from other parts of town and the hotel staff were not helpful at all in helping you discover it. When I asked them where a certain restaurant was, the woman dissuaded me from going there because it wasn't so good and not in the "city center" but when I happened upon it myself, it was in a lovely little square where several young locals where hanging out. (Perhaps by "city center" she meant all the touristy places near the tower, which did not appeal to me, and quite honestly probably wouldn't appeal to any travelers who might stay at such a "hip looking" hotel.) Also, the air conditioning didn't work so well and the person working at night barley spoke English to help fix it. There is an elevator, though, which is rare in Italy, so it was nice not to have to lug your baggage. Oh, and another weird thing: They take your key upon leaving to go out for the day, which made me feel a bit protective of my things. Overall, I thought it was fine quality-wise, but overpriced -- especially without including breakfast. Oh and the advertised WiFi continually "timed out" which was a bit annoying.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank writeon825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Spent 3 nights here to explore Pisa and Florence. The hotel is in a good central location about 7 minutes walk to Miracle square and the Tower.

The hotel seemed to be family owned with a friendly welcome from all.

The room was comfortable, cool and secure. Marble bathroom very clean and modern. Remember this is an old building so there is an element of rough walls/peeling paint. There is a safe (30 euros charge) and a fridge . We drank the water and did not get charged. Air conditioning ( no charge)

We thought breakfast was NOT included. On booking.com it stated 5 euro charge pp. Based on that I was going to say that the breakfast was basic . However, we did not get charged the extra amount so it must have been included in our price. 315 euros for two people for three nights. Breakfast was mostly prepacked crackers/ cake/cheese etc. Cereal & toast available and heated croissants. Fresh coffee made. No eggs/cooked items.

Pisa itself is small and studenty. Lots of people on bikes and mopeds. We enjoyed the atmosphere. The square and tower really are spectacular. Unfortunately Pisa does not seem to build on this to attract tourism . There are many squares ( piazza's ) which have been left to go shabby. The graffitti everywhere is shocking. I come from Glasgow and see plenty of graffitti but you would never see it on historical buildings eg University. Piazza del Cavalieri is undergoing mega euro improvement and you can see it is a magnificent square . Hopefully, the Pisa council will adopt a zero tolerence to this grafitti menace.

We spent a day in Florence . Easy to get to on the train. Get the 11.11 which is an express. In Florence by 12 noon. Worth the trip . Florence is spectacular.

Spent the third day just chilling in Pisa and enjoying coffee/ drinks/food and people watching.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jocla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is a lovely quite hotel within a few minutes walk to the tower. The central courtyard garden was appreciated by the toddler in our group who spent a lot of time walking barefoot on the lush soft grass looking for beetles. Eating breakfast in the sun room overlooking the garden was a delightful way to start the day. The management at Novecento were helpful and informative the language barrier didn't prove to be a problem at all. The hotel is extremely secure with no one getting in or out without the desk person being aware of it, therefore offering a very safe feeling to anyone staying in this property.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SureCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Hotel Novecento is a great little hotel centrally placed in Pisa. It is only a ten minute walk to the Leaning Tower. We were given a lovely room on the ground floor to the rear of the hotel which looked out over the little garden and was very quiet. A little paint was peeling from the bottom of the walls in places, but for such an old building, we felt it was OK. The breakfast in the sunny dining room was very good. The only downside for me was that the bed was a lttile too firm.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie1Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 2,105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
0.7 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#7 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
0.4 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#8 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#2 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Novecento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novecento

Address: via Roma 37, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Novecento 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Novecento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novecento Hotel Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing