We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott

Save Saved
You added AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale delle Torri 20, 56124 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #13 of 82 Hotels in Pisa
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at this hotel as it was recommended by The Eurocorr. international Conference my husband was attending. We were told it was within a ten minute walk from the Conference Centre. This proved not to be the case, a fit , younger member of our group took 35mins. to walk there! This meant that taxis were required where ever you wanted to go in Pisa. A contributor mentioned the bus. The bus stop turned out to be some distance away. The hotel was deserted when we arrived , we were greeted by the one person on reception and found to our dismay there was nothing to eat or drink. We were directed to a local restaurant 10mins walk away. That turned out to be excellent and we returned there on a number of occasions. This wasn't a problem for us but we felt really sorry for those members who had travelled from the USA and found there was nothing to eat or drink.
The hotel itself is clean, including the bedrooms. However the bathroom seemed like an accident waiting to happen! The glass (Frosted) door had an intentional a large gap all around it, the shallow glass washbasin had no over flow and a strange plug which did not fit very well ,so that you had to keep the water running while washing, if you looked away for a minute , ie whilst shaving as my husband did the water rapidly cascades over the top. Bath is very slippery. There is a nasty sulphurous smell in the bathroom, wasn't sure if it was the water or the drains Insufficient coat hangers (although some extra were supplied on request) No drawer space at all. Bed linen although spotless had seen better days as had the towels. Also returning from shopping or the conference we normally expect to be able to have tea or coffee and a snack or drinks at the bar. The bar was only opened reluctantly on occasion. The Hotel lost a great deal of money by not providing these services. We were told it was a 4star hotel. in no way did it merit that rating. The biggest problem was that it is very under staffed. Most of the staff were very helpful within obvious prescribed bounds . Originally we were to stay on after the conference; but were very happy to move to an hotel in Florence. Having stayed at the Marriott at Heathrow before flying out, the AC Marriott in Pisa was a huge disappointment in every respect.

Room Tip: Noise wasn't a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    253
    97
    42
    16
See reviews for
80
246
15
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am a platinum member of Marriott so have stayed at many Marriott hotels. The hotel staff spoke only very limited English. The keys to the doors did not work, although it was described as being open was never oven for lunch and most evenings was not open. Breakfast was included in our room rate but was only fair by Itailan standards. Staff was not very helpful and didn't care if you had a problem, it was like it was our fault. Several people from my company came here and at least two others were complaining. Additionally one of the two elevators didn't work to get me to my floor.

When I asked to speak to the Manager he was not on duty.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B, Manager at AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,
we thank you for your comments and please accept our sincere apologies if your stay at our property was not of your complete satisfaction.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel itself was clean, with friendly and helpful staff, and decent sized modern rooms, it was also only 10 mins drive from the airport.
Unfortunately there is absolutely nothing nearby. We got a taxi down to the river, recommended by the receptionist, but it was very local, and when we tried to get back we were very lucky to find one of the 4 taxis in the whole of Pisa on a sat night.
Breakfast included was reasonable.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B, Manager at AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
we thank you for your comments and please accept our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Check-in was swift. The staff were very friendly, and spoke English to us because of our fumbling attempt at Italian.

The room was terrific. 419 was at the very end of the hall, and we did not hear any plane noise. In the morning, we opened the windows and sunbathed in bed. The bed was perfectly acceptable. We did not hear any of our neighbors from our room, which is great. Quiet is a big deal for us.

The bathroom was very modern. The water pressure and temperature were both good. It seems the door stop was placed badly. Whenever we opened the glass door, it banged into the bidet before encountering the door stop. We were afraid we were going to shatter the door on accident!

The lounge is great! The offered one white wine and one red wine. We didn't get to try the white, but the red was phenomenal and only 15EUR a bottle, served with a small bowl of peanuts. When we struggled with the wifi connection, the bartender helped and we were online in no time.

The breakfast was surprisingly delicious. There were mini pastries, pineapple and cantaloupe, cheese, ham, salami, garlic olive oil (yum!!), scrambled eggs, white bread, cereal, and what I believe to be cut up hotdogs. The scrambled eggs were quite possibly the nicest I've ever had. There was both a fancy coffee maker which made espressos, americanos, cappuccinos, etc, etc and also a standard filter coffee machine.

There was plenty of parking, and the supermarket that is about a five minute walk is very handy to stock up on water (or wine!). It's a bit far from the city center, 40-50 minute walk, but we didn't see this being a problem as we were consistently very lucky with parking in Pisa.

We were VERY happy with this hotel and would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 419 was wonderful. Away from plane noise, and got a nice amount of sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Keep: very friendly personnel, convenient location for transportation.
Change: outside looks cold and impersonal, offer more attractive pricing.

We may use this chain again, yet may not visit this one if decides to stay in town.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B, Manager at AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Sir,
we thank you for your attention and for your comments.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is located in a nice and friendly area. Upon arrival, we were given free indoor parking (only outdoor parking is free). No free Wi-Fi in room. Breakfast was typical Italian but we had plenty to choose from. Room were decent size and clean. What I liked about location was that there's a bus stop just down the street that will take you to the main station then transfer to a bus to the Leaning Tower. Also just down the street is a Market that has shopping, restaurants and food store to buy groceries. If you're driving, there's a gas station next door.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 2 nights on our roadtrip through Italy and had a nice stay at this hotel.

The location is a bit far from the city center and not directly in walking distance if your not a big fan of 40-50minute walks. But if you arrive with car it is very nice as they have free parking to the guests.

The rooms was nice, clean and had a great bathroom with a bath tub.
The hotel says it got a fitness room with a lot of "bodybuilding equipment", but that is not really true. There is a small fitness room with barbells up to 10kg, a bike and a treadmill, but that's it.

The breakfast was tasty and the staff was friendly.
However, in 2014 it is a shame that hotels still charge money for wifi, and at this hotel it was rather pricey aswell. It is however free in the reception.

All in all, it was a good stay and fair value.

Would we stay here again? Maybe.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott

Address: Viale delle Torri 20, 56124 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Pisa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Pisa
Ac Hotel Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.