We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott

Save Saved
You added AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale delle Torri 20, 56124 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #13 of 82 hotels in Pisa
Arlington, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is located in a nice and friendly area. Upon arrival, we were given free indoor parking (only outdoor parking is free). No free Wi-Fi in room. Breakfast was typical Italian but we had plenty to choose from. Room were decent size and clean. What I liked about location was that there's a bus stop just down the street that will take you to the main station then transfer to a bus to the Leaning Tower. Also just down the street is a Market that has shopping, restaurants and food store to buy groceries. If you're driving, there's a gas station next door.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    251
    93
    41
    15
See reviews for
79
244
15
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 2 nights on our roadtrip through Italy and had a nice stay at this hotel.

The location is a bit far from the city center and not directly in walking distance if your not a big fan of 40-50minute walks. But if you arrive with car it is very nice as they have free parking to the guests.

The rooms was nice, clean and had a great bathroom with a bath tub.
The hotel says it got a fitness room with a lot of "bodybuilding equipment", but that is not really true. There is a small fitness room with barbells up to 10kg, a bike and a treadmill, but that's it.

The breakfast was tasty and the staff was friendly.
However, in 2014 it is a shame that hotels still charge money for wifi, and at this hotel it was rather pricey aswell. It is however free in the reception.

All in all, it was a good stay and fair value.

Would we stay here again? Maybe.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for three nights over my birthday.
Check in went smoothly & staff were helpful, providing a map of Pisa.

The hotel is located opposite a supermarket which is great for stocking up the mini bar if you do not want to pay the ridiculous prices (€5 for a can of Coke/Lemonade)

Decor is modern, yet minimalistic, I liked it. Our room all ball and white.

Comfortable bed but I found that the pillows were too soft.

Breakfast was great, lots of cereals, cakes, crackers, cooked items and it's of juices, yoghurts and hot tea & coffee.

I had the best food during our stay here, the fillet steak was beautifully cooked and reasonably priced too.

There is a lovely lounge area to side of reception which had a large television and had lots if comfy seats which was nice.

Overall, I was pleased with the hotel.
I would not visit Pisa again as there is not much to see, but found it a good base to get to Florence via train.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am a platinum member at Marriott and stayed first time at AC Hotel chain during my vacation. To me, The hotel category is comparable with Holiday Inn class. This used to be a Spanish chain until Marriott took over. AC Hotels has a great corporate identity. All hotels, at least in Italy, has pretty similar rooms and experience.

The hotel is located outside of the city, (close to airport) probably not so easy to reach with public transport. Not so easy to find by car as well. Hotel has own parking for free, that is safe looking. From most of the room you can see the parking places as well. The district is probably not the best but I feel safe and it was quite.

Rooms are typical 3-4 star level room size not too small or big, clean. I received no upgrade. Beds are a bit soft for me. The air-condition is not working and opening window is also not an option due noise from street and early sun-raise. Reception told us no alternative room as hotel is fully booked (that is generic excuse normally). Checkin experience was also not that nice as we had a Chinese group with a bus in front of us. (Marriott elite members normally has priority at such cases but not here, even you mention explicitly)

No executive lounge at the hotel and Breakfast is not that nice, but acceptable level as it is cheap. Wifi at reception is free and also free for Marriott reward members (all or from Gold onwards). Almost next to the hotel there is a town shopping mall where you can go for supermarket shopping.

I would not recommend as I had a bad experience quite hot room in July. It was very inconvenient.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B, Manager at AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Sir,
we thank you for your comments and please accept our sincere apoligies if your stay was not of your satisfaction and we did not meet your expectations.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for just one night; a stopover so that we could see the Leaning Tower before driving on into Tuscany. An hotel obviously used mainly by air travellers and of course it's ideally situated near to the airport, but that does not mean that it's ideally situated for anything else, although a ten minute taxi drive will take you to 'the sights'. It's set in what looks like a new development of housing with a shopping mall nearby, but with no where else to eat or have a drink close by. However, dinner in the hotel was good and the service was fine. Our room was 'functional' but the bed was very comfortable and there was a really good shower ... the important things! The other plus was a big car park, plenty of safe space to park. I wouldn't have wanted to stay longer than one night as, although the staff were pleasant, the place felt very impersonal.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B, Manager at AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Good morning,
we thank you for your comments and we apoligize if your stay was not of your complete satisfaction.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

That place sells what you pay for, which is a clean bedroom. That's about it.

Making customers pay for access to the wifi in the bedrooms 2014 is just unacceptable.

Service was anything but warm. I don't think it would hurt the person in the reception to try and smile to make customers feel welcome.

People in charge with breakfast were rude on account that we came 10 minutes before it was off.

The so called "fitness room and turkish bath" is a poor excuse for an old Appartment bike and a shower.

Overall not a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B, Manager at AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Sirs,
we thank you for your comments and we apologize if your stay was not of your complete satisfaction.
Please accept our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We just returned from a 2 night stay here. Sadly, the experience wasn't a happy one and we were relieved to be leaving after 2 nights.

The good: The room rate was very cheap and included a buffet breakfast. Free WiFi in lobby area. Situated next to a shopping mall and supermarket with everything you would need (particularly cheap drinking water - just 25 Cents per bottle.)

The not so good: The bathroom had a broken shower and rust stains (which my son found hilariously identical to huge poop stains.) You really need to be comfortable with your fellow guests as a Reviewer mentioned prior...the bathroom only has a glass, non-fully closing panel and therefore your every 'movement' is clearly heard! Great! The room wasn't large or particularly clean, had only CNN News as an English speaking TV channel, expensive Wifi in the room (which we didn't use) and laminate flooring, which carries noise from all surrounding rooms. Lucky us, we were in the room underneath the guy with the clicky shoes, who paced up and down on his phone proclaiming to his significant other "I love you, I love you, I love you, I love you"!! OMG, we get it, now shut up and go to SLEEP!!! We were also unlucky enough to be placed next to the lifts, which obviously led to further noise most of the night and early in the morning. Special thanks must go to the drunk Japanese(?) girls, who returned at 2am each night....
There was a lack of staff, which meant that the Reception staff were too busy to answer any queries or give information/help for our stay. Check-in took a glacial 25 minutes and as not everyone understands that to queue is a fairer method of being served, it became stressful as others pushed in and were helped first! I soon learned that you have to be more aggressive in Italy than at home, as manners don't seem to count for much :-(
The breakfast buffet was on a first come, first served basis, meaning that if you arrived early, you had a choice of food items. Some food items were replaced, but nothing was replaced after 9/9.30am. I would not recommend any hot food, as it looked grim.

The hotel location would have been fine for business travellers, but was far away from the city centre and from the airport. You can walk as we did into the city (this took just under 1 hour), or take a bus, which took about 20/30 minutes. Public transport is incredibly cheap - 2 Euro's per person, for a 70 minutes bus pass and free travel for children.

In summary, it was cheap and you got what you paid for. I dearly wish we had gone for the Hotel San Ranieri for the extra £40 it would have cost. We popped in there whilst lost and looking for the Marriott on the first day. That hotel looked clean and inviting and the staff seemed friendly and attentive. Oh well, you live and learn.
Pisa itself is lovely by the way. Beautiful monuments, great restaurants and food and although touristy, great for "people watching". If you can find time, look out for the Palazzo Blu (Blue Palace), which is a wonderful free of charge museum along the river in Pisa. It houses a collection of Roman coins and fantastic art dating from 16th Century. An absolute gem to look round!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B, Manager at AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
we tahnk you for your comments and please accept our sincerely apologize if your stay at our property was not of your satisfaction.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott

Address: Viale delle Torri 20, 56124 Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#6 Best Value Hotel in Pisa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Pisa
Ac Hotel Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.