We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank goodness it was only one night!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott

Save Saved
You added AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale delle Torri 20, 56124 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #13 of 82 hotels in Pisa
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Thank goodness it was only one night!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Beds we're clean and comfortable, evening meal was good. The room was not clean enough with dust on the desk, a used newspaper left behind and dirty bedside tables. However, this was not the worst aspect; we could not get a hot drink from arrival at midday until 19:30 when the bar opened. There were no coffee making facilities in the room or anything available from reception. After the evening meal we asked for another glass of wine in the lounge only to be told we could only have another drink at the table! Never again, it was appalling!

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B, Manager at AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Good Morning,
We thank you for you feed back and we apologize if your stay in our property was not of your satisfaction in particular regarding the bar service.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    250
    93
    41
    15
See reviews for
79
244
15
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

At first glance, this hotel looks pretty nice. The lobby is pleasant, the rooms seem fresh and modern. It's fairly far from the downtown sights and restaurants, so like me, you're probably only staying here if it's the hotel work chose for you. There is however an easy bus ride downtown (catch it across from the shopping center on the main street Via Cisanello). We couldn't find a tabbacheria to buy tickets near the hotel so we winged it the first time and then bought several in town.
The breakfast was pretty decent, love the self-serve cappuccino machine.

Now to the downside: one of us took a shower after we checked in. The tub completely choked up with water and would not go down. No shower for me! We told the front desk. When we got back 9 hours later, there was still a foot of water in the tub. The night manager kindly fixed it. Next morning, other party took a shower, all was fine. I got up an hour later and... No water. At all. Everyone at breakfast had the same problem. I tried again after breakfast and there was some intermittent rusty (I hope, vs sewage?!) water but nothing I wanted to try to bathe in. In short, I didn't get a shower till day 3, and still the water was occasionally brown. Super gross.

Smaller complaint, for being one of the more expensive hotels in Pisa in spite of being kind of inconvenient, it had a 9 euro charge for wifi in-room. Wifi free in common areas meant a very crowded, noisy lobby at all hours. I think if the fee was more reasonable (or free, as it's already not a cheap hotel at all) people would use it.

Lastly, poor design - outlet only on one side of the bed. Very annoying for two people who both need to charge their phones (which are also their alarm clocks).

Overall, C- / D+.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B, General Manager at AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
We sincerely apologize if you experienced inconveniences during your stay at our property.
Actually we had problem with the water due to interruption in the local area for few hours in the morning and we did our best to resolve this problem soon.
Howeever we thank you for your words of appreciations.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night after arriving in Pisa en route to Tuscany. Was really impressed - lots of (free) car parking space, very welcoming at reception and modern, comfortable rooms.

Enjoyed the good range of continental breakfast on offer and enjoyed a drink or two in the bar. Service was a little bit stretched at the bar, but didn't detract from the overall experience.

Booked this early and paid what I thought was a pretty reasonable cost - some might consider the 10 or so minute drive into Pisa to be a drawback, but for us it worked well for us, especially as there was a supermarket / shopping centre just across the road.

Overall, really impressed and would definitely stay here again

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This hotel has a very modern design and has spacious rooms with high quality beds. The bathroom is furnished with all necessary amenities, including a bidet. There is a shopping centre a few hundred metres away, which is very convenient as it features a grocery store, restaurants and clothing stores. The grocery store came in handy because the hotel's restaurant closes over the Christmas period and hence you need to provide your own meals. The cleaning staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The front desk staff however called a maintenance man to fix our broken shower pipe and did not check that it was actually fixed. This meant that when we returned from a day out the maintenance man had left for the day and the shower was still not fixed. I think the Marriott could improve on the service offered by the front desk staff.
The breakfast was ample but catered more for European continental preferences.
One issue that we had was that there was no coffee/tea making facilities in the rooms.
The location was a 7 minute taxi ride from the Leaning Tower of Pisa but we enjoyed it because it was quiet and family-friendly neighbourhood.
Overall a good hotel but there can be some improvements.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I am frequent business traveler and stayed in AC Hotels in several places. It is a good chain in general with excellent service. It is a unique problem during winter I guess. The room heat is so high after mid night you need to open the window to breath properly (temperature control doesn't work). Opening windows brings in noise and affects the sleep. I reported few times but did not see any action. I decided to open the door even though you could hear ambulance/police and car sound. I hope they fix it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed there. Excellent parking. Excellent service. Prompt and efficient. Obviously a hotel for business travellers. Good place to stay if u are driving in Italy and want to visit the sites. I would recommend them to all my friends.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This was my first time to stay in a hotel in Pisa, and I chose AC Hotel since they are now part of Marriott. I had stayed with them just prior to their changing over to Marriott in Torino, and I enjoyed that hotel except for the bed, which did not hold up to US standards. I had hoped that Marriott would upgrade the mattresses, but that was not the case in Pisa. The room was very nice, modern, and clean, and I would have given them a rating of 4 had it not been for the mattress. The level of service varies by individual, but Frederico is very pleasant and helpful. There are few restaurants nearby, and the walk into the old part of town / Leaning Tower took about 45 minutes. There is a small shopping mall with a grocery store less than a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott

Address: Viale delle Torri 20, 56124 Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Pisa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Pisa
Ac Hotel Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.