We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good value for business stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott to your Saves list
AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale delle Torri 20, 56124 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off
Ranked #14 of 81 Hotels in Pisa
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Pretty good value for business stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed in November, in one of the smallerr (single) rooms.

I noticed the thermostat only went down to 20C! I turned it down because I think it was slightly warm, but I don't think it really operated. I can understand why folks *might* complain during the hot months, but in November it is enough to simply open the window.

This one was immediately adjacent to the elevator. I had no noise problems from either the elevator or surrounding rooms.

Front desk staff are indeed friendly and solicitous.

Room features are fine everything was working, although the nominal supply of toiletries cam with 3 tissues! Not replaced daily, i might add.

Many people commented about wifi - the price charged is outrageous, so I used the free wifi in the lobby. Not bad if you don't mind hanging in public while doing your email and news. Several people were skyping while on the wifi down in the lobby. This is an important consideration for business people, we have many meetings via skype and while in europe it is convenient to hold these meetings at night back at the hotel.

The breakfast is reasonable but not that good. Lots of sweet breads and rolls, Several containers of fruits but the best one was the mixed fruit salad, which ran out quickly. The food staff were not rapid and efficient at replacing empty dishes, so be sure to arrive before the masses. No hot egg dishes. Instead a bowl full of cold hard boiled eggs??

These are fairly minor complaints but to business travelers they might be important.
The location is outside of the city center and if your business takes you to CNR or a nearby business this hotel makes sense. It does not make too much sense if you are going to be in the city center, commuting will add up if you take taxis both ways.

There actually is a bus line right outside the hotel which runs to the city center but most business people would not bother with that. Several work colleagues on the same trip walked downtown from the hotel and it took them approx 30 minutes. It is walkable and there are no hills, but the main street is not so scenic.

I would say this is an acceptable hotel for business travel, especially considering the reasonable rates. It is a more reliable bet than some of the tourist hotels in the city center, from what I gather.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    258
    102
    47
    16
See reviews for
84
250
17
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed in Pisa for a night on our way from Florence to Volterra. The hotel is typical chain hotel, beautifully appointed, clean, modern. The service is just average. It is way way out of the city center so unless you are driving i would not recommend this hotel. But if you are driving, it is a good place to sightsee, grab a bite to eat in the city and then go over there for sleeping and head onto the highway. There is a small shopping center right next door that has a good supermarket and we got some of our groceries done there. A word of caution: It is difficult to find if you follow the Garmin GPS so make sure you call the hotel and get directions. I followed the Garmin, ended up in a residential neighborhood in a no drive zone and had to drive through another no drive zone to get out and ended up with two hefty ($190 traffic violation tickets)...just something to be aware of.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here on our final night in Italy before flying home. It is extremely convenient for the airport - a 10/12 minute drive (the locals said 5 but we found it quite difficult!)
The hotel is clean, comfortable and the staff efficient - receptionist booked our dinner in a near by Trattoria and arranged a taxi. The breakfast was varied and generous. There was a problem, (over-night) with the water supply - it was turned off - so no shower for me but my husband had one later on.

It is a little way out from the centre of Pisa but it suited our purpose. The small shopping mall 2 minutes walk away was a welcome find.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This hotel is quite nice. Overall quality is excellent and falls well within what you would expect from Marriot AC.

Of course it is no frills and the location isn't prime but, it is a good value.

There is a small shopping mall within a few blocks as well as a bus stop which takes you right into the heart of Pisa

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Although this hotel is a little way from the centre of Pisa, within about a 30 minute walk, there is a regular bus service nearby. The taxis cost around 10 euros. The Leaning Tower is on the opposite side of Pisa to the hotel. The hotel itself is good, but the staff were not that helpful. Good sized, clean rooms and the breakfasts were very good. Wifi was free in the reception and business area. The AC wasn't working but apparently it is turned off in October and we were experiencing a particularly hot October for Pisa. Despite the little niggles, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel is 3-4 km from the city center of Pisa, but it is not a distance. Comparing to the other "local" 4 star hotels, this one is a kind of guarantee due to the name of Marriott. This is definitely NOT the 5 star Marriott standard, but perfect for a night stay, and on the other hand it is more than enough in Pisa. The hotel and the room is "minimal art", modern, clean. The breakfast is also acceptable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little River, South Carolina
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Only one night - and that was too much. The AC Pisa is located about 8 KM out of the city proper. It has easy access to the city if you have a car. Front desk clerk was very friendly and accommodating - however he was there at check in - about 3 pm and still there the next morning at 10 am. The room was small, one towel, limited products, no drinking glasses and a terrible bed and pillow. I am quite surprised Marriott would carry this brand. On the way back to the hotel after going into the city proper, we could not find the road or the hotel. No street sign, no hotel sign and the hotel did not have exterior lights. I certainly could not recommend this location.

Room Tip: THere are no views and all the rooms , I believe are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott

Address: Viale delle Torri 20, 56124 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#7 Best Value Hotel in Pisa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Pisa
Ac Hotel Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.