We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms but service quite average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott

Save Saved
You added AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale delle Torri 20, 56124 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #11 of 83 hotels in Pisa
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice rooms but service quite average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Location is quite good being only 10-15 minutes bus ride from the train station. Very easily found. Supermarket near by is quite convenient as well. Room was nice and spacious although there was a massive hole in the bathroom ceiling that hadn't been attended to.
Service unfortunately was a let down for a Marriott hotel but personally I' m going to put the blame on the management rather than the staff themselves who seemed willing to assist but lacked the knowledge or the training. The lowest point was when we asked about how to get to the airport by bus and were were told that it would be very complicated and that it was best to get a cab (15 euros). Well...it was 25 minutes, one bus change, the cost was €1,50 per person and it was a really simple trip. Breakfast was poor. Very small selection, no hot food at all.
Free Wi-Fi in the lobby area was good enough for me but as the hotel main clientele are cooperates, I find it strange not to offer free WiFi in rooms as well like the other 4*hotels we stayed in Rome and Florence.

Would probably recommended it for its location but not for any special occassions

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    255
    78
    32
    17
See reviews for
61
216
15
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mason City, Iowa
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed two nights at the AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott. At first we had a hard time finding the hotel, even though there were signs; however, when you most need them, they are not to be found. Once we found the place (and we were VERY close while searching) we felt it was nicely located. It's a about a mile and a half off the SI FI Pi. We were confused when we could see the hotel but could not get to it due to a one way street. We found if we just went a couple of blocks farther and came around the back way we'd make it to the hotel easily. The rooms were well appointed and the bathroom was spacious. It was very comfortable staying at this hotel. A cold breakfast buffet was served in the morning. As a Platinum Marriott guest I get that complimentary; however, I never did see the staff ask for room numbers from any of the guests, me included, who were down there. We found it was about a half hour walk to the main pedestrian zone, and then another 20 minute walk to the leaning tower. My wife and I don't mind walking, so it was nice to leave the car at the hotel and not hassle with the parking and the ZTL. There is a huge grocery store (and a strip mall) about two blocks away from the hotel, which we found very convenient. All in all, we'll probably stay here again. It's not a resort hotel (no pool), but it is a very comfortable and clean hotel.

Room Tip: Superior rooms were very spacious and nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a week in 2 rooms and had some problems with our reservation. Specificaly asked for a twin bed plus as baby cradle and got 2 seperate bed with no cradle, also had aproblem with the door lock... eventually issues were solved but took a very long time and reception were not always nice... on the other hand breakfast wad good and there is free parking...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nevada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Comfortable and quiet room. Heater did not work, however. Found that most reviews were accurate. Is a nice change of pace from some of the small hotels in Europe. Staff friendly and helpful. If you like chain hotels, this fits the bill. There is no lounge for Marriott Platinums. Breakfast bufffet was good, but no hot items. Had dinner in the resturant, overpriced but decent quality and service.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the elevator and away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Some of the other reviews of this hotel by Marriott Platinum members must have been written before the management got their act together. In May 2013 there is free Wireless Internet for Platinum, a points package, free breakfast, and other rewards of the Marriott brand. Staff were helpful and not overly friendly but welcoming and efficient. Rooms are small by Marriott standards but not as small as the AC in Florence. Hotel is situated just across the street from a main shopping mall with restaurants and a supermarket. The walk to Pisa is significant, but if you take the river route it is quite lovely and takes you past some interesting buildings and places. If all you want is the Leaning Tower and a "If-it's-Tuesday-this-must-be-Belgium" experience then get the bus or a taxi (or drive your own freely-parked car if you are used to driving in Italy). Otherwise the walk is part of the experience of Pisa and the River Arno. We did not experience any of the faults identified by other reviewers, but this is not the Ritz.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The hotel is close to the airport. Pisa is a short bus ride away for 1.50 euro one way. The hotel was clean and tidy just a shame about the wi-fi being 9 Euros a day. Feel that was a bit extreme as most hotels have free wi-fi as standard now.

Was a good base from which to explore Pisa as we hired a car so was better not to have to tackle Pisa town centre every time we drove. The staff were friendly enough but not really inspiring when it came to giving out ideas of places to visit. Think they were used to more business that tourist clients.

Turkish Bath wasn't working and no one around to ask so that was a shame. The breakfast was a good spread, continental breakfast. Overall it was a nice stay and would stay again and recommend.

Room Tip: floors can carry the sound. can hear shoes in the room above and the lift going ping if near the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Location close to the highway. Clean modern but a bit shabby could be maintained better. Staff could also be little bit more helpfull. Basic modern looking furniture, sound insolation could be better. No free wifi. Ok for short business stays. Shower not working, no water pressure so not possible to take a bath, very irritating. Close to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott

Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Pisa
Ac Hotel Pisa
Address: Viale delle Torri 20, 56124 Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#8 Family Hotel in Pisa
#8 Best Value Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.