We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott

Save Saved
You added AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale delle Torri 20, 56124 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #13 of 83 hotels in Pisa
Dallas, TX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Even when considering that this was a bit out of the city center this hotel was a great value at $111/night. The guy who checked us in was both professional and welcoming. We liked the modern decor and the bed was very comfortable for Italian standards. The breakfast was a bit of a zoo but that wasn't the fault of the staff but rather some of the guests who were acting like pigs. They had a good buffet with a large selection of items.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    247
    93
    41
    15
See reviews for
79
242
15
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed for one night, booking the day before we stayed on Agoda for about €70. It was one of the cheaper options so we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of our room.

The room was of decent sized, very new and has a nice bathroom. I enjoyed the slightly larger bathtub. It was also very clean.

We had dinner in the hotel as it was quite late and there's isn't too much option outside since we were tired too. Food was okay for the prices - nothing to shout about but nothing to complain about. Standard hotel mark-up prices for moderate food.

There was only one person in reception. He seemed to be the only person running the lobby with 2 other people in the restaurant. When we called to have our tv fixed, it was the same guy who came up to help us! Compliments to him.

Other than that - its a nice hotel, will be perfect for business.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corralejo, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

perfect location --large supermarket 150 meters away .Beware taking a taxi from the airport min.charge of 25 euros to all hotels near airport.Catch city bus at airport to train station in Pisa 1.50 euro then taxi out to hotel 7.50 euro.good sized rooms modern in style .When catching early flight before breakfast time 7a.m ask reception the night before and a goody bag will be waiting at reception Found all staff to be very helpful with excellent Eng.

Room Tip: rear of hotel can be road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA, USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Let me start by saying I am a Marriott Rewards member and have been for years, it has clearly been my brand of choice, and have been curious about the AC brand. So here we go, hotel was clean and very trendy which was different then the more staid corporate branding that one gets from the Marriott, Cortyard, etc. we actually kind of liked it. Check in was fast and efficient and we had no problems with the attitude of the front staff. If anything Franceso at the front desk was very welcoming. in fact there was s slight item taht needed his attention before we checked out and he took absliteu responsiblity for it. Minor but was refreshing and snce the front desk is the face of the establishment. well you get the idea..... Our room was clean and neat, in fact the bed was extremely comfortable which was a great surprise. If one has traveled in Europe you know they have a different bedding concept. The bathroom was neat and clean (more on this in a moment) and our towels were just fine as were the offered products. Now here is where I had one problem, as indicated earlier, if you are going to have a see-through sink as a feature in your bathroom, then scale or rust and black electrical tape on the drain pipes and j-bend is NOT the thing you want clearly visible when using. Same for the tub, I realize mold is a problem in Italy (I live here) but a little bleach on the tub surround occasionaly or in this case, just remove and replace the silcone sealant. Might take all of 20 minutes maybe, but makes a huge visual difference. Now the bath was clean and we had no problem using it but again the visual impression can make or break an customer opinion. Especially for someone who has not traveled extensively in Europe or outside the US in general.
The breakfast that was included was excellent and we found many items to our liking. we did try the afternoon fixed price lunch buffett. Most of the items were good and tastey the only glaring issue is many of the items would have benefited by being warmed slightly. Most were just cold. A warming table would have made a vast improvement. The young steward was attenttive and helpful and helkpful when needed. Now don't get the impression we did not like the AC, it is fine but needs some subtle touches to excel. the minor things one sees can make a world of difference iin how a csutomer looks at your hotel or brand. Yes, it is next to a shopping mall but again was easy to find and get into and out of while we were in Pisa. And for those complaining about promixity to downtown, stay downtown next time and see what the difference in price is.....

Room Tip: Upper floors are always quieter. Here's a hint in a historical area like Pisa, when traveling to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Being a regular user of IC, Hilton and Sheraton hotels—of all grades and types—we’ve been curious for some time to see how a Marriot would compare. In the event, our opportunity came with my wife’s week-long conference in Pisa, where we stayed at an AC version of the Marriot brand.

The best thing about our stay, by some measure, was the room, which was comfortable, clean and nicely designed. The bathroom was equally slick and clean—they compared well with a top-end Holiday Inn or an average Doubletree Hilton.

A mini-bar stocked with complimentary soft drinks, fruit nectars and mineral waters (still and sparkling) was restocked every day.

The only disappointing thing about the accommodation was the towels, which were thin and often warn.

The public spaces of the hotel looked good and were nicely furnished and reasonably comfortable. A nice touch in the lounge / bar area was—from 5pm onwards—free nibbles and light snacks, which went someway to lessen the pain of the over-priced drinks (in fairness though no worse than comparable establishments).

On the negative side however, there were several issues. The Wi-Fi was not free anywhere within the hotel and was exorbitantly expensive. From what I could gather, the situation wasn’t much better for loyalty scheme members. It’s rare to find a hotel anywhere these days which charges for lobby Wi-Fi and it left a mean impression on the part of the hotel.

The complimentary breakfast was just about okay so far as the food went—better than a Holiday Inn Express but humble in comparison to a paid breakfast at a comparable establishment. The coffee however was just plain poor, and might even have been instant. Unfortunately, even if one asked for a specially made espresso or cappuccino the quality was no better, and this applied to the coffee available in the hotel throughout the day. What puzzled me was that there was a state of the art coffee machine behind the bar which was never turned used. All the dreadful coffee emerged from the kitchen and outside of breakfast time was 4.50 Euros plus for a cup…

On our final evening we tried the hotel restaurant. Our starters were acceptable, but my main course which was advertised as half pound beef burger turned up as two cheap and nasty preformed processed patties (which I presume had started life as quarter-pounders)—of the sort one might expect to get outside a football stadium. Quite dreadful. My wife’s spaghetti with “fish” sauce emanated in fact as a spaghetti with a sea food sauce. This wouldn’t have mattered, especially as the sauce was excellent, but the portion was miniscule with barely a handful of sea food elements.

Finally, the Marriot blurb implies that the hotel is in the heart of an exciting and happening part of modern Pisa. Well, NO, in actual fact, unless one gets excited by the idea of the shopping mall next door. In reality, this is just a typical edge-of-town business hotel for people with cars, a good half an hour walk from the centre of old Pisa. There is a bus which runs about every ten minutes, but it stops running at 8.30pm, which means that the only way one can get back to the hotel after a supper in Pisa is on foot, or by taxi.

Overall, I would say that despite the nice room and even allowing for the complimentary breakfast, one gets more for one’s money at an equivalent standard Doubletree or Holiday Inn, where one is also generally made to feel more welcome and more valued by the staff (the staff at the AC Marriot were mostly gruff and / or uninformative).

Summing up, I would only recommend this hotel to businessmen and women on an expense account that will cover the Wi-Fi and poor value restaurant and the taxi fares—assuming they don’t have a car.

We booked through Trivago and got room for about 90 Euros per night. The meal came to about 80 Euros. Unfortunately, the nightly taxi fares nullified the thrill of getting the room so cheap.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night while transiting through Pisa to Cinque Terre. Our flight arrived late so we wanted somewhere to stay for a night before catching our train the next morning.

This is an excellent business-like hotel with modern furnishings. The bathroom is large and new and the room itself is well-furnished with hardwood floors. The room was very clean.

The location is not that convenient, but this is reflected by the price. For our purposes of requiring a nice room to stay inn for a night, this worked well for us. We took a cab to the Leaning Tower of Pisa (approx. EUR 10) and a taxi to the airport cost around EUR 12.

The quality of food served in the restaurant was poor - too salty! There was, however, not much else open around the time we arrived (10.30pm on a Friday night).

Overall I would recommend this hotel as it represents good value and a good night's sleep. However, be aware of the locations and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Half Decent hotel. But very minimalist, in terms of included services, less than what you would get at a Holiday Inn Express in the U.S.

Safe deposit box in lobby, not rooms ??, and could not fit my laptop in their safe deposit box. Therefore I had to leave laptop in my room unsecured, So I did not allow maids to clean or enter room for entire stay!

Small room, but not sufficient to fit large suitcase on suitcase holder and still be able to walk through the room. Had to put suitcase on floor, which completely blocked access between bed and bathroom.

Pay a lot for Internet, 9 euro/day for iPad, 18 euro/day laptop.

Breakfast buffet, not included, is not good and not recommended.

no ice on the floor, did not want front desk bringing it to my room, so skipped the ice.

Last night there got home at 11 pm. Smelled cigarette smoke in hallway, told front desk. He would not do anything about it, deferred me to morning manager. Fell asleep, woke up to horrible smoking smell INSIDE my room, that person's odor had totally permeated my room by the time I woke up, and I was nauseous and dry heaved from the smell.

Called in morning, manager said he would investigate.

Location is on strip mall like area, cab costs 17 euro at least, after tip to airport. Not close to tower of Pisa or city center. however I did not like the center of Pisa, it felt run down, and this removed location was actually better.

Room Tip: Do not recommend staying in Pisa. Would stay in Chianti region or Florence next time in Tuscany. spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott

Address: Viale delle Torri 20, 56124 Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Pisa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Pisa
Ac Hotel Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.