We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel - Very Convenient Position” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Moderno

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Moderno to your Saves list
Hotel Moderno
Via Filippo Corridoni, 103, 56125 Pisa, Italy (Formerly "Albergo Moderno")   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Pisa
Bournemouth, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Hotel - Very Convenient Position”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

We have used this Hotel many times as we fly to Pisa and then onward to Rome or Tuscany, if the return flight is early morning then we need to stay somewhere near to the Airport. The great convenience of its situation is that the station is only a 5 minute walk away and the Airport about 20 minutes.
The Hotel itself is clean with a good sized en-suite to some bedrooms and very efficient double-glazing (important due to the proximity of the railway lines!) The breakfast is adequate and the staff are welcoming and friendly with very good English spoken.
Our only complaint is the lack of a lift, carrying heavy suitcases up two or three flights isn't very good! (We have suggested that a small lift might be installed just for the luggage.)
To sum up: Excellent for the overnight stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    74
    47
    12
    13
See reviews for
30
82
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

The staff here were very friendly and their english was great, and they were very helpful when we needed something so I can't fault them for that. However, the shared bathroom was quite dirty: there were small hairs all over the floor, even by the toilet (??) which were not cleaned on either of the days when we were there. Its conveniently located for the train station but the tower and duomo are a good 20-30minutes walk away. Breakfast was basic but enough to see you through to the afternoon.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade,Serbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

Stayed just for one night,before catching a plane to Copenhagen the next day.
Location was good,both from train station and the airport.Paid 58 euro for a twin room,on the ground floor,with shared bathroom.Room was quite small,but beds were comfortable.
Was reasonably quiet,having in mind that railway lines run just across the road.
Breakfast was typical Italian and I liked it,the old lady was really nice and welcoming.
Would definitely recommend as a stopover stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gozo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2009

Hotel Moderno is located just about 5 minutes away from the train station. When we arrived at the hotel only one of our two rooms were ready. There are no lifts and since our rooms were in the second floor we had to carry our luggage through the narrow staircase.

Our four bedroom consisted of three single beds adjacent to each other, and the other (folding) bed perpendicular to them. The power button of the tv wasn't working so had to unplug the tv in order to turn it off.

Breakfast was ok for a 2 star hotel, even though would prefer paying a little more for a better service... bread wasn't fresh and most other items were pre-wrapped.

The area near the hotel does not seem too safe at night. Leaning tower of Pisa is about 1.5km (30 minutes) walk away.

Overall, if I were to go to Pisa again, I would defenitely not go to this hotel again.

  • Liked — Cheap
  • Disliked — Noise from train station, especially at night
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aveiro
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

This was a pleasant surprise. The room was spacious and the air-conditioner was working well. The room was tidy and even the hallway bathroom was clean and accessible. The location is good, very close to the train station and midway between the airport and the historical centre. The best nights we spent in Italy were in this hotel. We even returned after 4 nights in Florence and loved it even more (after a bad experience in hotel Boboli). Most of all, we really liked the staff, which looked to be part of a family where everyone was very polite and helpful. At the price range, we really recommend it.

  • Liked — The people
  • Disliked — Too few power sockets
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limburg
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2008

We paid 97 euro for a room with private bathroom, 3 persons.

Hotel is 200 meters walking from railstation, and 1 km from airport. In 20 mitutes walking you can cross the city center. The centre of Pisa is small, I booked this hotel because of its location close to the airport, but another hotel on the other side of the Arno would not be a problem to get easy and fast on the airport.

Not unimportant: good bed with good matras.

Service was correct & room was clean (with airco, which was not necessary anymore at the end of september); isolation of the room not that good (we could hear TV playing on other room); If you sleep bad, be aware that trains pass 100 meters at the backside of the hotel, which causes some additional traffic noise.

People at reception were friendly; the older woman in the dining room for breakfast was also helpfull, but Iitwould be nicer not to smoke during the working hours, even at the door outside.
Breakfast was OK; no fresh bread which I always regret, croissant etc in package;

So in my opinion, this hotel is OK for a short pitstop at Pisa for on night your way through Toscane, but not to stay a longer time.

  • Liked — price/quality
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

Stayed here in Aug '08. Room was basic but clean. Looked out onto street so there was a little bit of noise. Air con unit on roof was exposed and in no way disguised, which lowered the standard of the room. Short walk from the train station, although no trouble, area is not particularly well lit and does not give off the best impression. Breakfast was basic, toast and plastic wrapped pastries. Price compared to other places in Pisa was very reasonable. Staff were friendly and helpful. No reflection on the hotel itself, but unless you have to stay in Pisa, I would day-trip it from Florence or elsewhere in Tuscany.

  • Liked — Value, Location, Friendliness
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Moderno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moderno

Address: Via Filippo Corridoni, 103, 56125 Pisa, Italy (Formerly "Albergo Moderno")
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very close to downtown and Business. 110 meters from the train station and terminal bus . 400 m from the convention building , 1 km from the "G.Galilei" Airport. Reception open 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Budget Places so you can book your Hotel Moderno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderno Hotel Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Moderno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.