We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 stars hotel for sure” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Bonanno

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Bonanno to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Bonanno
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Carlo Francesco Gabba, 17, 56122 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 83 hotels in Pisa
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Not a 4 stars hotel for sure”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Altough there are some positive aspects about this hotel, in general it is overpriced, it's in a bad location considering that there is a railway separating it from the city centre and it's not by any chance a 4 stars hotel.

The breakfast was barely average, dated rooms, tiny TV, and the cherry on top of the cake was the wifi: having to ask for a wifi password at the reception that only works for about 1 hour and in 1 device is ridiculous nowadays.

The sleeping quality was ok, the rooms were clean but just old and small.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    313
    117
    29
    9
See reviews for
146
242
13
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited this hotel October 2013. Hotel/ room was good and the staff were excellent, very helpful, providing maps and information of the local area. I did not think the food provided at the hotel restaurant was very good for the price however.
Outside you only have a short 5/10 min walk to the Leaning Tower which is good, but you have to go under an underpass, right outside the hotel, which stank of urine every time we went through!
I did not have a great experience of Pisa on the whole, but it was nice to come back each evening to a hotel which you could relax and feel welcome in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel last minute....after a last minute baby sitter came through for our 4 year old daughter. We had planned to travel with our daughter and had booked a 2 bedroom apartment in Pisa....giving us more room for the weekend.

The night before departing we changed our accommodations to a hotel since we would be traveling as a couple and not a family. We thought a hotel would give us more service in the way of advice and information about things to do, day trips, bus maps, train routes etc. we forfeited a service charge with the apartment and booked this hotel based off of location.

Several things to point out here:

1) the rooms are tiny. It's ok for 2 people that aren't ever in the room but it's hard to move around when both people are in the room

2) take your own hair dryer. We travel all over Europe and I've never once taken my own hair dryer bc most hotels provide one. The hotel bonanno's dryer is rubbish. It's almost impossible to get your hair dry.

3) it is very clean

4) coffee is not good...and we could never find anyone to inquire about a cappuccino or different coffee

5) perhaps the most annoying factor is the incompetence of the guy that works the desk. He could never give us a straight answer on bus routes or times. He did print out many schedules, including the weekday and summer schedules when we asked about Sunday travel in March....the summer and weekday was, of course, useless to us. And when he did finally give us the Sunday times, he was wrong....and we missed the bus by 5 minutes. We had to walk to the train station....20 minutes...because the otherwise we'd miss our train to Florence

6) this hotel isn't positioned well. Stay at the NH Hotel near the train station...you only need 1/2 day in Pisa and the time and money spent getting from the hotel bonnano to the train station will be a total waste. 4€ each way for two people adds up over a 3 day span when touring all over Tuscany

7) as the website says, it is an easy, 10-15 minute walk to tower

8) beds are really, really, hard...not very comfy

9) the temperature in the room is not controllable despite the thermostat in the room. Leaving the windows open is impossible with the bugs and street noise

10) wifi works great

11) easy to find by car and free parking is nice

12) take plug extenders....only 1 working outlet in room so makes it hard to charge camera batteries, laptop, phones, etc

This hotel is fine for a night if you are touring Pisa but don't make the same mistake as us and use Pisa as your base in Tuscany. Go with a hotel in Florence...you'll have better day trip options and likely a more knowledgeable hotel clerk.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The Grand Hotel Bonanno is on paper, in a great location. It’s a ten minute walk to the Duomo and Pisa’s most photographed destination, but in reality the hotel is accessed via either a un-picturesque walk alongside the train tracks (from the train station) or via the main road and under the much graffiti-ed underpass. Once you reached the hotel, the exterior is more impressive than the interior. The room we were given was clean and comfortable, but pretty basic and not large enough to spend any length of time in – the bathroom was average (but the shower cubicle is possibly the smallest I have ever been in). It was perfect for our needs at the time – we were staying one night on the way to Florence but I would be disappointed if I were to spend a week here. There is also not a huge amount of choice in Pisa!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had an unexpected stop over in Pisa on our way from Monaco to Rome. While the staff were friendly and accommodating with our late night last minute check in, and the lobby of the hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas, this hotel (our room) is certainly not somewhere I would willingly stay again. My partner and I did not feel safe and did not want to stay but had no choice. The hotel was difficult to locate, the bed was hard and no blankets, the shower was tiny and terrible, and I was scared that someone was going to come into our room during the night via the adjoining door that was open when we arrived. Overall it had a real creepy vibe and I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is not a 4 star hotel by any stretch, but it's comfortable enough. 10 minutes walk from the tower and close tone railway station so close in fact that you can hear the trains from your bedroom (well we could). Fine for one night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We arrived here late at night from London to a welcoming smile, perfect spoken English and although the food stops food at 10.30 pm usually, we we're served the most amazing midnight cheeseboard with our night cap. Breakfasts consisted of a varied continental buffet. The convenience to the subsiduary railway station which takes you to Lucca was great although don't expect a picturesque walk along the tracks but 5 mins and you're there. Approx 15 mins away is the beautiful Duoma with Cathedral, Baptisery, cemetery and of course the leaning tower. The hotel is immaculate in presentation from the inside so forget the graffiti of the underpass immediately outside and enjoy this Pisarian hospitality. Courtesy buses at a cost of 10 euros per party also available and at just 10 mins drive from the airport you can't go wrong with this choice of hotel

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Bonanno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bonanno

Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pisa
Hotel Bonanno Pisa
Address: Via Carlo Francesco Gabba, 17, 56122 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#9 Family Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Bonanno 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Grand Hotel Bonanno is just 800 mt from the Leaning Tower and the old town center, strategically placed near the main road of access to the town. The Hotel has 89 rooms, all equipped with air conditioning, Sky TV, minibar, hair dryer and safe.Furthermore the hotel has a free private parking area, perfect for your trip in Tuscany. Monuments, university, railway station, motorway, the Galileo Galilei International Airport, and the Congress Hall are not far away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Grand Hotel Bonanno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Bonanno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.