We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to centre of pisa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Bonanno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Bonanno to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Bonanno
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Carlo Francesco Gabba, 17, 56122 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Pisa
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Close to centre of pisa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Staff nice and helpful. Speak English. Location walking distance to centre and tower. Easy parking.

Not bad overall. 100 m to a railway but we didn't notice the noise. Restaurant was good. Breakfast good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    313
    135
    34
    11
See reviews for
174
282
17
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who is used to a bit of comfort and luxury on the voyage!
The biggest shock was the fact that the bed linen is changed after 3 days! Even when we asked a receptionist to assist us on this matter nothing happened. For 4 star hotel this is completely unacceptable!
Tho room we stayed in had a carpet which didn't seem so clean.
We had a problem with air-conditioning as well since it switched on automatically and was overheating tho room. The ventilator in the bathroom was to loud. The worst thing is the railroad that passes few meters from the hotel and the noise is quite disturbing.
The staff was not friendly at all.

Good location. Near to main roads and not so far away from historic center of Pisa, although the passage under the rail rad seams very scary (we saw few syringes!) so it should be avoided on fut during the night.
Staff left us a bowl of fruit as a welcome gift which was nice.

Room Tip: There is no tip! We've asked for a nicer room since we came to celebrate our anniversary and my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosenza
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The first morning there was no hot water available in the bathroom. Nobody had informed me about this. I asked the reception and they told me that there was some problem and they were going to fix it in a few minutes. After 30 min I inquired again and they told me that they actually did not know if and when the problem coul be solved. I therefore had to take a shower using cold water......regarding the room, it was small and not very clean, I would say rather a 2 stars than a 4 stars room......the receptionists were not very friendly.....all in all the hotel was not worthy the money I spent!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We selected the hotel based on proximity (walking distance to the Leaning Tower - although it seemed quite a bit further than the 10min quoted by other reviewers), availability of parking our rental car, and ability to get our family of 4 in a "room" - although it was actually two adjoining rooms. The rooms were clean, rather cramped, and a bit on the noisy side. Our rooms faced the road and there was both car and train traffic much of the time. The breakfast was very good. Both of our rooms had safes that allowed us to store our valuables while out about town. Unfortunately, while the hotel boasts of the multi-lingual staff, we noticed that they were not particularly friendly when we asked about direction or recommendations for dinner. We were made to feel like we were a nuisance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londo
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have stayed at the Bonanno a few times,it is very well situated for the Piazza Del Miracoli & for the shops, everything is in good walking distance. Don't be put off by the position of the Hotel, you have to go through an underpass to get to the Hotel & there is a lot of graffitti, which could be very off putting on first arrival. The bedrooms are small but very comfortable & warm. There is a good choice of things for breakfast. Overall a very comfortable Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed! Staff were helpful and easy to communicate with. Rooms clean and tastefully furnished. Highlight was service by Mossimo (apologies if spelling is incorrect) during our dinner. Speedy service and he was very polite, also took interest and spoke with our children -which they loved. Especially the special ice cream at the end of their meal. Free parking and Internet a bonus too!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Have just returned from a 3 night stay in the new year period. Hotel is very centrally located, within walking distance to the Leaning Tower and other tourist spots. It is also very close to the Train station which makes travelling to other areas very easy. The waiters & Receptionists are extremely polite and very fluent in English. They really go out of their way to accommodate their guests and always greet you with a smile. They also have great respect for their guests and are not after their money but to genuinely help them. I was extremely impressed with the way they dealt with my problem. Story below: For New Year's eve I foolishly booked dinner without checking the food offered on the set menu. When the first plate arrived it was with squids. My husband ate his and i passed on the plate. I then went to check the menu and saw that that there were plenty of items which include Sea Food. I then went to speak to the receptionist and explained my problem . He completely understood me and told me that it is not a problem. I told him that i will obviously pay them for the first item that my husband took and the glass of wine consumed. Upon checkout they did not charge us any fees for skipping on the booked dinner and for the items consumed on that night. Will surely recommend and visit again. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Bonanno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bonanno

Address: Via Carlo Francesco Gabba, 17, 56122 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Bonanno 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Grand Hotel Bonanno is just 800 mt from the Leaning Tower and the old town center, strategically placed near the main road of access to the town. The Hotel has 89 rooms, all equipped with air conditioning, Sky TV, minibar, hair dryer and safe.Furthermore the hotel has a free private parking area, perfect for your trip in Tuscany. Monuments, university, railway station, motorway, the Galileo Galilei International Airport, and the Congress Hall are not far away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Bonanno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pisa
Hotel Bonanno Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Bonanno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.