We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Bonanno

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Bonanno to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Bonanno
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Carlo Francesco Gabba, 17, 56122 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Pisa
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

No problems here, a good selection at breakfast, good clean room, no noise at night, we were at the back overlooking a green square, almost perfect. The only downside was there was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, a minor inconvenience. The walk to the tower attractions took about 10 minutes and if you had the time, you could walk to the airport. Pisa is a lovely city, too much to see in one day so stay here and see it all.

Room Tip: We were at the back and it was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    310
    130
    33
    11
See reviews for
173
277
16
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Not sure about why other reviews are not so good. The hotel is very nice, it's 15 min walk from the tower so well located. Has secure parking which is free so very good in Pisa. It's easy to get to from the airport. The staff are fine, rooms very comfy, and breakfast was better than expected. No problems with the under pass. The road was quiet. So I would recommend as a good value choice.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zermatt, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

It's a good hotel. It isn't located in a central position, the area is a bit busy and noisy. The positive aspect is that there is a free parking.
The room was small, but neat and tidy.
Breakfast was good and plentiful.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is overall good but I would give a lower rating. It's not a 4 stars

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had an awful stay in this hotel. The walls were wafer thin, coud here the couple next door on the phone etc etc- Their alarm clock woke us up! Our room was on the front of the hotel where vehicles drove over a metal grid, which clattered loudly...all nite. Outside the room was a light on the hotel wall which shone into our room and couldnt be switched off. There was no air con or fan. The plug in the shower was blocked. The room was small, disappointing and felt a bit grubby. We travel alot and sleep well normally, so its not us being picky! Location wasnt great, it was in a suburb next to a train track (another source of noise), its fairly close to the tower but not pretty and not a nice walk to it.

Room Tip: Dont bother staying, choose a family run hotel in town
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Booked this hotel as a one night stop over.What value for money,They meet us at airport at 10pm at night took us to hotel, check was good and the room was excellant. It was large and a king size bed and a large bathroom. We ask could we get a cup of tea that late at night no problem. The breakfast was very good, described as a light breakfast but far from it there was hot food and hot doughnuts whoo! service was good always filling the dishes up. They stored our cases while we went to see the leaning tower and then took us back to airport to get our coach to Florence.This is a lovely hotel great leval of service and value for money. Its only downside is the view out front but thats a minor point.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malahide, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at the end of September. The hotel is a bit off the beaten track compared to others nearer the Leaning Tower etc. Mind you, Pisa is fairly small, so everywhere north of the river is within 10 - 15 mins walk of the tower. There were several things I liked about the hotel, we ate both nights in the restaurant and found the food and service excellent and very good value. The waiters were helpful and attentive without hovering. We only had one breakfast as we had to leave very early, but there was a really good selection of croissants, breads, cereals etc and even a hot server with bacon & scrambled eggs. The room was nice, very clean but a bit noisy as it was facing the underpass and there seemed to be a never-ending fleet of scooters hurtling through that into the early hours. The advertised 'wi-fi in every room' only worked in reception area, and for that you had to obtain a log in and password for each phone/device, which you had to fill in each time you used you wanted to use the internet. The connection only lasts while you are actually online, so if you put down your phone during dinner, for example, you have to log in all over again. *Sigh*

I did not really like the location, there really is nothing near the hotel, and while the underpass is not that long, I would not like to chance it at night, more due to the proliferation of beggars and pickpockets and lack of police we encountered in Pisa, than the actual underpass itself.
There was no problem with an early morning call and getting a taxi to the airport. Other reviewers have mentioned the surly male receptionist and we noticed this too. It's a pity as the restaurant staff were very personable and more than made up for any other personality shortcomings.
On our last night we were eaten alive by mosquitoes, despite not opening the windows at all that day. When we returned to the room in the late afternoon, we saw and caught one mosquito, but did not know his/her other half was in hiding and biding their time to avenge the death of their loved one. Or perhaps, the whole clan were hiding, as I got about 15 bites on my legs and my partner got 3 on his face alone, he tends to cover up at night whereas I threw the covers off, little knowing that I was offering myself up as a smorgasbord to those little blighters. I had never been bitten before so it was a bit of a shock as I had, rather smugly, thought I had some kind of inbred immunity. How wrong was I. So I don't know if anyone else shared the mosquito problem, or if the windows had been opened while the room was being cleaned, but I really didn't expect to be attacked in the bed (which was indeed firm, but comfortable!), so to speak.
The 'garden' is really just a strip of tables & chairs, sandwiched between a hedge and the car park so not really very picturesque.

Room Tip: It's noisy in the front. Check around door frames for mosquitoes
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here in September,on our way home to uk and thought it looked a good choice for an overnight stay as it was close to the main sights of Pisa and a short drive from the airport.We were allowed to check in in the morning ,enabling us to leave our bags and walk to the leaning tower and Baptistry etc.Plenty of places to eat nearby,but not a lot on offer for a coeliac ,so had to walk a lot and search hard.Returning to the hotel,we were greatful for the comfortable room with nice hot shower and fluffy towels.Hotel is not in a particularly pleasant area with awkward road access but this really did not matter too much.There was nowhere closeby to eat in the evening ,so we returned to tower area.The morning breakfast buffet was more than adequate with plenty of choice for gluten free option.Staff were pleasant and for 10 euros,3 of us were transported by minibus to Pisa airport in time to catch our flight home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Bonanno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bonanno

Address: Via Carlo Francesco Gabba, 17, 56122 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Bonanno 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Grand Hotel Bonanno is just 800 mt from the Leaning Tower and the old town center, strategically placed near the main road of access to the town. The Hotel has 89 rooms, all equipped with air conditioning, Sky TV, minibar, hair dryer and safe.Furthermore the hotel has a free private parking area, perfect for your trip in Tuscany. Monuments, university, railway station, motorway, the Galileo Galilei International Airport, and the Congress Hall are not far away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Grand Hotel Bonanno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pisa
Hotel Bonanno Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Bonanno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.