We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place for travellers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astor

Save Saved
You added Hotel Astor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Astor
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Alessandro Manzoni, 22, 56125 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 83 hotels in Pisa
Iasi, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best place for travellers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Good value for the money, it is a hotel with one floor, no elevator. The room we stayed in was clean but small, and also the shower was a little too small, but we were traveling a lot so we did not look for the extra comfort.
The real plus is that it is close to the train station, we were allowed to come in late and the receptionist is a great guy. He speaks very good english and also helped us with a map and places to eat.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    48
    17
    24
See reviews for
24
59
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rabat
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The staff member that first checked us in was wonderful. He was really helpful, friendy, and gave us a great restaurant recommendation. Unfotrunately he was not there the next day, and the next staff member was rude and acted as if we were disturbing him when we asked him questions. Our first morning we went downstairs and asked if there was breakfast. He responded with "yes of course" and were brought a coffee and a croissant. We were not given a menu, and continued to believe breakfast was free. Upon checkout, we were charged 20 euros for breakfast for 2 days. We were very upset, because we felt tricked. He knew we thought breakfast was free.
Besides the rude staff member, the hotel was hot and wifi didn't work in the room. The hotel was way too expensive for the quality. I payed less money for a great Hotel in the center of rome.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding, Denmark
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We were there for one night . The air conditioner did not work and the person at reception could not help with fixing it. Though must say he was a nice guy, spoke perfect English and was helpful otherwise. We stayed in Quadruple room but there were towels and toiletries for just 3 persons . Good location but quite noisy if you need to open windows.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annaba, Algeria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I came to this hotel to meet a prospective client in the city for 2 days. My stay was very pleasing. It is a well maintained property located in impressive surroundings. Guys here are very welcoming and friendly; they go out of their way to assist travelers in every way. Our room was smartly decorated and spacious. Incredibly outstanding services of the guys here, made our stay memorable and I will highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night the first week of April and the experience was average. Check in was fast and efficient... One issue that we did encounter was that when we booked it through hotels.com, it stated that we would not be charged until check in/check out however we were charged right away... so not sure if that is a hotel issue or the website issue. Nonetheless, we arrived in Pisa by train and the train station was maybe a 15 minute walk which is not bad at all. We checked in and checked out our rooms. We had booked two rooms, one for my husband and I and one for my parents. Our room was ok. The bed was a double twin, hard to sleep on and not too comfortable but the room, bathroom and bed were clean. My parents room was about the same however, their bathroom light did not work. We informed the staff at the front desk on our way out to sight see and the took note of it. We thought it would be fixed by the time we got back but they didn't do anything about it. The bathroom had no light at all and my parents had to shower in the dark with the door open. Also, the front desk and hotel close at midnight... so if you are out, you need to be back no later otherwise I suppose you are locked out. There was also no breakfast offered. There is also no elevator/lift, so if you have a lot of bags and are on the top floor, you have to carry them up those stairs. The Leaning Tower of Pisa was about a 20 minute walk and the airport is about a 30 minute walk. So the hotel is fairly central. I don't think I would stay here again.. given that it was average.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We booked direct with hotel and took note of our confirmation number and booking reference at time of booking. A week later we had no confirmation email and contacted via email to confirm reservation - no response. On the eve of our stay we called and spoke to a very pleasant gentleman who confirmed that there was no reservation for us (even though they took our card details at time of booking) He also confirmed there were no rooms for 3 available even though they are still showing availability on hotels.com.

Have booked alternative hotel - so glad we called beforehand or would have been stuck in Pisa late evening with a small child and no room!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Astor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astor

Address: Via Alessandro Manzoni, 22, 56125 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 83 hotels in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Astor 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Astor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Hotel Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.